PDA

View Full Version : RE: Port number for cvs?



Reckase, Erik Nathan
2003-12-02, 12:50
Touché. In this case, I don't - home connection is so amazingly slow that
it's not worth the $20/mo to get, and nothing faster is available...but I'll
see what I can do. I'd happily use SSH, but I'd need to be a registered
user for that, I believe.

--E

-> -----Original Message-----
-> From: Jack Coates [mailto:jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org]
-> Sent: Tuesday, December 02, 2003 12:42 PM
-> To: SlimDevices Developers
-> Subject: RE: [Developers] Port number for cvs?
->
-> Presumably you own a machine and Internet connection which are not
-> behind a firewall at a national laboratory... maybe you
-> should just ssh
-> or rdesktop to it and use it to do this task.

Jack Coates
2003-12-02, 13:51
On Tue, 2003-12-02 at 11:50, Reckase, Erik Nathan wrote:
> Touché. In this case, I don't - home connection is so amazingly slow that
> it's not worth the $20/mo to get, and nothing faster is available...but I'll
> see what I can do. I'd happily use SSH, but I'd need to be a registered
> user for that, I believe.
>
> --E

Any local mom-n-pop ISPs will probably be glad to hook you up with a
unix shell account at a well-connected colo for pretty cheap -- last I
looked into it that cost around $10 a month.
--
Jack at Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture...

"It doesn't matter if it's good, it only matters if it rocks!"
-- Rock Your Socks By Tenacious D