PDA

View Full Version : Rename the server.



drachen
2005-06-07, 14:30
Hey, I got the software primarily to test out the streaming server before I purched the player, but I had a question:

Is there a way to rename the server as it is displayed in the display of winamp? I know that with shoutcast you can name your "station" but is that an option here?

I've checked the help but I didn't see anything, I may have missed it though.

drachen
2005-06-07, 15:06
I don't know why I always do this but after my last post I did some more digging into the text files that came with the software, and after backing up the strings.txt file I changed it so the english "welcome to Slimcast" had the custom station name I wanted. and after stopping the server, and restarting the program it had the name I wanted. Now I'll have to see when I get my player if the player will work.

So I was going to remove the post but instead decided to leave it so if someone else wanted to know how to do this they could.

mherger
2005-06-07, 15:18
> I don't know why I always do this but after my last post I did some more
> digging into the text files that came with the software, and after
> backing up the strings.txt file I changed it so the english "welcome to
> Slimcast" had the custom station name I wanted. and after stopping the
> server, and restarting the program it had the name I wanted. Now I'll
> have to see when I get my player if the player will work.

And if you want to change texts on the fly (without restarting the
server), download and install my StringEditor plugin.

> So I was going to remove the post but instead decided to leave it so if
> someone else wanted to know how to do this they could.

You can't remove posts from my inbox :-).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

max.spicer
2005-06-08, 04:45
>You can't remove posts from my inbox :-).
At least, you _hope_ we can't. ;-)

Max