PDA

View Full Version : SB2 not powering off when server not present



max.spicer
2005-06-05, 09:02
I noticed the other night that the display on my SB2 was not actually powered down, but was merely not displaying anything. With no lights on in the room, I could see the display glowing slightly, and when I looked closely, I could see small lines of light down the left and right edges of the display. My server was off, so I couldn't turn the SB2 off - it simply said Connecting to SlimServer, then blanked the display if left alone.

Is this the normal behaviour? I really don't want my SB2 on during the night as I imagine it will eat through a fair amount of power in this state, and the glowing screen is annoying. I intend to have my server turn itself off every night, so this would be a problem. This is particularly a problem as the SB2 enters the connecting state even if it was off at the point that the server turns off. This means that there is no way of turning off the SB2 when the server is off!

I'm running R3330 of slimserver. My SB2 is a black wireless model.

Max

max.spicer
2005-06-08, 05:11
I have filed bug 1645 for this issue. Does anyone have any comments?

Max


I noticed the other night that the display on my SB2 was not actually powered down, but was merely not displaying anything. With no lights on in the room, I could see the display glowing slightly, and when I looked closely, I could see small lines of light down the left and right edges of the display. My server was off, so I couldn't turn the SB2 off - it simply said Connecting to SlimServer, then blanked the display if left alone.

Is this the normal behaviour? I really don't want my SB2 on during the night as I imagine it will eat through a fair amount of power in this state, and the glowing screen is annoying. I intend to have my server turn itself off every night, so this would be a problem. This is particularly a problem as the SB2 enters the connecting state even if it was off at the point that the server turns off. This means that there is no way of turning off the SB2 when the server is off!

I'm running R3330 of slimserver. My SB2 is a black wireless model.

Max

radish
2005-06-08, 08:53
My only comment would be that power usage is negligable. According the the specs the SB2 uses 5v @ 1A, which is 5W. Given a power cost of $0.10/KWh it will cost something like $4 a year (corrections to my maths welcome).

Of course, if the screen is disturbing you that's a different matter, I can't suggest anything there.

hunta
2005-06-08, 09:06
I intend to have my server turn itself off every night...Interesting. What's your chosen method? I wonder if there's anything that would allow advanced features such as more play time at weekends than on school nights (or even triggered by the brushing-teeth event ;))...

ceejay
2005-06-08, 09:20
I had toyed with the idea of having my server turn itself off but

(1) whatever time you choose (e.g. 01.00) you just know that one night you'll be up late listening to something and the wretched thing will turn itself off just at the wrong moment

(2) how do you get it to turn itself on again in the morning?

ChrisB
2005-06-08, 09:37
(2) how do you get it to turn itself on again in the morning?

Ages ago, there were several requests for the SB to be able to send Wake
On LAN packets to wake a server. My need for this has now ceased, as my
box is serving a lot more than music these days, but it would still be
the most elegant way of waking a SB-dedicated server, I think.


--
ceejay

kdf
2005-06-08, 09:39
Quoting ceejay <ceejay.1qbfzn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I had toyed with the idea of having my server turn itself off but
>
> (1) whatever time you choose (e.g. 01.00) you just know that one night
> you'll be up late listening to something and the wretched thing will
> turn itself off just at the wrong moment

you could use the Execute plugin to manually trigger a shutdown script on your
server. You'd need to get the plugin working, and be able to create your own
..BAT file to go along with it.

> (2) how do you get it to turn itself on again in the morning?

Some BIOS settings allow for an auto power-up every day. I have this set up on
my home server so that it can come back online after an extended power outage
if I'm away. I have no idea how well it works, since I've had an outage while
I wasn't around.

-kdf

max.spicer
2005-06-08, 10:49
Interesting. What's your chosen method? I wonder if there's anything that would allow advanced features such as more play time at weekends than on school nights (or even triggered by the brushing-teeth event ;))...
I planned to have a cron job to shut down the server every night. As someone's already said, the problem here is working out when to do this. However, I'd just go for midnight on weekdays, and maybe 2am on Saturdays. For the rare exceptions, I'd have to remember to disable the cron.

To turn the server on again, I'd set my bios to power on automatically. Unfortunately, my bios doesn't have separate settings for weekdays, so I'd have to have the server on unecessarily during weekdays when I'm at work. An alternative would be a wake on lan solution, but I've no idea if this would work over wireless and with my server's non-built-in wireless card.

Max

Niek Jongerius
2005-06-08, 11:07
> I planned to have a cron job to shut down the server every night. As
> someone's already said, the problem here is working out when to do
> this. However, I'd just go for midnight on weekdays, and maybe 2am on
> Saturdays. For the rare exceptions, I'd have to remember to disable
> the cron.

Just a tip: alter your cronjob to check for presence of a "flag" (maybe
a specific file). If it isn't there, don't shut down, but only set this
flag (create the file). This way, if you want to prevent the server from
shutting down on an evening, you just clear the flag (remove the file). The
machine won't shut down, but only restores the flag so it will shut down
next night again.

Niek.

Mark.Bennett
2005-06-08, 11:59
On Wed, 2005-06-08 at 20:07 +0200, Niek Jongerius wrote:
> > I planned to have a cron job to shut down the server every night. As
> > someone's already said, the problem here is working out when to do
> > this. However, I'd just go for midnight on weekdays, and maybe 2am on
> > Saturdays. For the rare exceptions, I'd have to remember to disable
> > the cron.
>
> Just a tip: alter your cronjob to check for presence of a "flag" (maybe
> a specific file). If it isn't there, don't shut down, but only set this
> flag (create the file). This way, if you want to prevent the server from
> shutting down on an evening, you just clear the flag (remove the file). The
> machine won't shut down, but only restores the flag so it will shut down
> next night again.

Alternatively, you could use the CLI from your script to interrogate
your players. If any of them are playing then sleep for an hour and
try again.

That way any unusual late night music listening won't get
interrupted, and you won't have to remember to disable the cron
or remove a file etc. - just make sure you stop all your players.

--
"The biggest problem encountered while trying to design a system that
was completely foolproof, was, that people tended to underestimate the
ingenuity of complete fools." (Douglas Adams)

max.spicer
2005-06-08, 12:30
Alternatively, you could use the CLI from your script to interrogate
your players. If any of them are playing then sleep for an hour and
try again.
Now that's a good idea! I might even try it.

Max

max.spicer
2005-06-08, 12:39
I have filed bug 1645 for this issue. Does anyone have any comments?

Max
Thanks to the magic of SlimDevices and Dean, this bug is now fixed! You can't complain about that sort of turnaround, now can you?

Max

PS If anyone wants the fix, you need the latest trunk and to force a firmware update by holding brightness.

danco
2005-06-08, 14:37
On 8/6/05 at 8:53 am -0700, radish wrote
>My only comment would be that power usage is negligable. According the
>the specs the SB2 uses 5v @ 1A, which is 5W. Given a power cost of
>$0.10/KWh it will cost something like $4 a year (corrections to my
>maths welcome).

I just discovered that my own Squeezebox 2 is also not powering off
when my computer is asleep.

And the Squeezebox is noticeably warm after some six hours of the
computer being asleep.

But I haven't checked if it is warm when the computer is on but the
Squeezebox is off.
--
Daniel Cohen

max.spicer
2005-06-09, 04:45
I just discovered that my own Squeezebox 2 is also not powering off
when my computer is asleep.

And the Squeezebox is noticeably warm after some six hours of the
computer being asleep.

But I haven't checked if it is warm when the computer is on but the
Squeezebox is off.
--
Daniel Cohen
The issue isn't entirely fixed. My SB2 now displays the same blank screen when the server is off as it does when the server is on but it is off. However, this screen is still powered and glows visibly if the room is dark. Apparently, you can't turn it off any more than this without pulling the plug. This is actually a bit of a pain. I'm planning to get another SB2 for my bedroom at some point - the glow there would probably be quite disturbing. I'm quite surprised that the screen can't be powered off internally whilst the SB2 still monitors its ir port and network connection for wakeup commands.

Max

radish
2005-06-09, 08:17
I'm planning to get another SB2 for my bedroom at some point - the glow there would probably be quite disturbing.

Your bedroom must be very dark! My bedroom SB runs the RSS ticker 24/7, it's just another light source in addition to the cable box, dvd player, alarm clock etc. I'm sure it would be invisible if I switched it off.

max.spicer
2005-06-09, 14:51
Your bedroom must be very dark! My bedroom SB runs the RSS ticker 24/7, it's just another light source in addition to the cable box, dvd player, alarm clock etc. I'm sure it would be invisible if I switched it off.
Alas, no. My bedroom is far from dark (annoying lights around the back of the house), so I'm obsessive about additional light sources. You're right, I probably wouldn't notice, but it still feels wrong for the SB2 not to be able to turn off it's display. Why keep it powered when it's not in use?

Max

radish
2005-06-09, 15:01
Why keep it powered when it's not in use?


Can't argue with that!

Aaron Zinck
2005-06-09, 15:20
> Why keep it powered when it's
> not in use?
>
> Max


I should mention that I don't really feel strongly about this one way or
another (especially since I don't have a SB2!) but the only reason I can
think of is that perhaps the technical difficulty of achieving what you
desire is not worth it to save the couple of dollars a year it costs to
power the display.