PDA

View Full Version : Multiple slimserver on one SB2



SlimVert
2005-06-03, 13:27
Hi there,

is it possible to control one SB2 unit with multiple slimservers?
I have a deskopt pc with mp3, but also a laptop with music. I' d like to be able to play both libraries to the same SB unit. Of course not on the same time, but can you choose?

maybe can you do a fast-switch between 'available servers' selection?

I installed slimserver on my laptop; but it can't connect
Any ideas?

thx
Slimvert

SlimVert
2005-06-03, 13:56
ah, found it :)

SlimPvC
2005-11-03, 14:06
Don't know WHAT you exactly found, but the only option I can figure out is changing the server by going through the setup process and entering another Ip address..which I would like to see embedded in a more convenient way.

For example: at work we have a squeezebox running music from the local server, but at times I'd like to switch to my home-server.
I don't know how difficult it is to add an option in the SB-menu to change the server IP-address and reconnect to the new server (without changing the DEFAULT startup mode = connecting locally).
I'd very much appreciate this option!

dean
2005-11-03, 15:27
On a Squeezebox2 you can press and hold the LEFT button to disconnect
your player and go back to the setup menu. The servers on your local
network should then appear at the top level menu (along with
SqueezeNetwork), and you should be able to scroll through them and
choose one.


On Nov 3, 2005, at 1:06 PM, SlimPvC wrote:

>
> Don't know WHAT you exactly found, but the only option I can figure
> out
> is changing the server by going through the setup process and entering
> another Ip address..which I would like to see embedded in a more
> convenient way.
>
> For example: at work we have a squeezebox running music from the local
> server, but at times I'd like to switch to my home-server.
> I don't know how difficult it is to add an option in the SB-menu to
> change the server IP-address and reconnect to the new server (without
> changing the DEFAULT startup mode = connecting locally).
> I'd very much appreciate this option!
>
>
> --
> SlimPvC
>

SlimPvC
2005-11-03, 15:43
Thanks Dean, I did not know this. This is an easy way to change the server IP through the menu (view current settings / connect to / <right>. So this is just what I asked for...
(Apart from the fact that I do have a SB2 at home, but the one at work, where I need this option, is and SB1 :-( )

I wonder how many beautiful hidden options there are in the Squeezebox / Slimserver?? I have not found anything in the documentation about this option.

Thanks again

dean
2005-11-03, 15:50
This feature is a newer addition to the firmware than the last
printing of the SB2 manuals. The new Squeezebox v3 manuals do
include a brief description of this feature.

On Nov 3, 2005, at 2:43 PM, SlimPvC wrote:

>
> Thanks Dean, I did not know this. This is an easy way to change the
> server IP through the menu (view current settings / connect to /
> <right>. So this is just what I asked for...
> (Apart from the fact that I do have a SB2 at home, but the one at
> work,
> where I need this option, is and SB1 :-( )
>
> I wonder how many beautiful hidden options there are in the Squeezebox
> / Slimserver?? I have not found anything in the documentation about
> this option.
>
> Thanks again
>
>
> --
> SlimPvC
>