PDA

View Full Version : Want to listen in different room.



ffmedic
2005-06-02, 20:18
I just bought an Apple Airport Express and am bummed out that I can't listen to the same stream in 2 different rooms at the same time. So I found you guys! Now here's the deal. I live in the mountains (i.e. dial-up) and don't have alot of $$, and want to listen in 2 different rooms (outside and living room). I am using iTunes and like it. I haven't bought a SB2 but it looks like I will need to buy 2. Will I need to abandon iTunes? Since I have dial-up will I be able to listen to internet radio any better off the SB2's than on my PC?

Thanks much!

mherger
2005-06-02, 23:38
> haven't bought a SB2 but it looks like I will need to buy 2. Will I

If you want to be able to listen to two different streams, yes. If all you
want is the same sound in two rooms you could also use some multizone amp
(not cheaper than a second SB2).

> need to abandon iTunes?

No. It should integrate smoothly with slimserver.

> Since I have dial-up will I be able to listen
> to internet radio any better off the SB2's than on my PC?

Dial-up might not be able to deliver the bandwith you need for good
quality streaming. Even an excellent player can't improve the bad quality
of low bandwith streams.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

ffmedic
2005-06-03, 07:04
>

Dial-up might not be able to deliver the bandwith you need for good
quality streaming. Even an excellent player can't improve the bad quality
of low bandwith streams.


Do you mean streaming of internet radio or even tunes on my pc?

mherger
2005-06-03, 07:05
>> Dial-up might not be able to deliver the bandwith you need for good
>> quality streaming. Even an excellent player can't improve the bad
>> quality of low bandwith streams.

> Do you mean streaming of internet radio or even tunes on my pc?

Internet radio. You don't need internet access otherwise.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

glmason
2005-06-03, 07:46
I leveraged 4 zones in my house, with one SB2 and two softsqeeze2 on the two computers in my house plus the stereo.

I have a computer in the home office, it is the slimserver and has a softsqueeze instance. (and good surround speakers), my wife's comuter is in the kitchen, she has fairly descent speakers, then the stereo system is in the living room and has a two zone speaker switch for the speakers in the living room and the ones on the deck. I sync it all up and it works great (be sure to read about syncing softsqueeze2 to SB2s).

However if you have two stereo systems one inside and one out side you will need two SB2s...

Larry