PDA

View Full Version : apple lossless



Scott
2005-05-24, 18:49
I have os x 10.3
slimserver 6.1
sb1

I can get AAC to play, but lossless doesnt work at all. Slimserver recognizes the track, tries to play it, then skips over the track.

Any suggestions?

sb

rmassey
2005-09-04, 07:10
I have the same problem. Is there a filetype setting that I need to set to enable playback of Apple lossless files? Reviewing the Server settings/ File Types - I see Apple Lossless is checked for AIFF and FLAC stream Formats, with Apple/MP3 unchecked. Is this correct for lossless playback.

BTW, itunes and my iPod play my Apple lossless files just fine on my PC. Also, SB plays Mp3 and wav files fine.

FYI - I have both a wired SB1 and SB2 using a Raid5 W2003 server. SlimServer Version: 6.1.1 - 3774 - Windows Server 2003 - EN

dean
2005-09-04, 07:35
On Sep 4, 2005, at 7:10 AM, rmassey wrote:
> I have the same problem. Is there a filetype setting that I need
> to set
> to enable playback of Apple lossless files?
No, it should work by default. Note that Apple Lossless playback
requires QuickTime to be installed on the computer running SlimServer.

rmassey
2005-09-04, 07:46
Ahh-ha. OK, that's prob it then. I know I do not have QT installed on the server.

thanks for the tip.

rmassey
2005-09-04, 08:04
OK, that fixed the playback problem, well kind of....

I now get audio drop outs every 20-30 seconds during playback of Apple Lossless. This is on my wired SB1 (have not tried my SB2 yet) running cat5 to my router with a W2003 server (P4 2.4 Celeron, 1.25 GB RAM, Promise Raid5 card w/ 4x250GB hard drives) holding the lossless files. No problems with MP3s or wav.

Any ideas how to elimnate this new problem? It sounds like a bandwidth issue, but I cannot imagine why with the hardware I have alloocated towards this platform. Perhaps it's a decoding problem, given that wav plays fine - this tells me I have sufficient bandwidth.