PDA

View Full Version : Trouble installing 6.0.2 slimserver on Debian Linux 2.2.20

meatWAD
2005-05-24, 16:08
Hello,
I installed slimserver 6.0.2 and it would not start. The error message suggested I run a script to build additional modules that were required by slimserver. The script is build-perl-modules.pl.

The script failed on the second package, DBI-1.46.
The error told me that it could not find Test/More.pm.
I am not a perl expert by any means, in fact I do not use perl much at all.
Here is what I did to fix this, first I downloaded the packages to install them manually. I got them from http://svn.slimdevices.com/vendor/src which is the same place the script gets the packages from.

Next I ran the Makefile.PL that comes with the DBI package and got the same error. What I did was go into the SlimServer_v6.0.2 directory, then into CPAN/Test. I then copied More.pm, Builder.pm and Simple.pm into a Test directory that was in my '@INC'. In my case this was /usr/share/perl/5.6.1/Test. Once I did this the DBI module installed successfully.

Not sure if this is the "correct" way to resolve this issue but it seems to have worked as Slimserver 6.0.2 comes up and runs just fine.

Maybe this will help someone else and if some of the perl experts out there care to comment on a better way to resolve this issue I am all ears.....

Peace
meatWAD

street_samurai
2005-06-03, 11:44
Hi Meatwad,

I'm by no means a Linux guru but I have successfully installed SlimServer on my Debian boxes. I originally installed it on a 2.2 box (then realized that its 400mhz celeron processor really didn't have the power to be a web, ftp, ssh and slimserver all at the same time), so i've installed it on my 2.4 Sarge box also.

I too got errors when running the setup scripts.

What I ended up doing was downloading the latest stable maintenace release cpan-arch: 6.0.3 build from here:

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/6.0.3/