PDA

View Full Version : Too loud



Alan Walls
2005-05-23, 17:57
I have just bought my first SB2, it's wonderful!!

Its setup in my bedroom using the SB2 as the preamp for a Rotel power amp.

The problem is that I can't set the volume low enough.

Any suggestions?

Ben Sandee
2005-05-23, 18:09
On 5/23/05, Alan Walls <Alan.Walls.1pih5z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> Its setup in my bedroom using the SB2 as the preamp for a Rotel power
> amp.
>
> The problem is that I can't set the volume low enough.

So your volume on the device is at 1 of 40 and it's too loud?

Alan Walls
2005-05-23, 21:24
On 5/23/05, Alan Walls <Alan.Walls.1pih5z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> Its setup in my bedroom using the SB2 as the preamp for a Rotel power
> amp.
>
> The problem is that I can't set the volume low enough.

So your volume on the device is at 1 of 40 and it's too loud?

Yip, thats right. Its not extremely loud but I would like it quieter.

Mark Bennett
2005-05-24, 00:31
I think you need some in-line attenuators. These devices
are basically tubes with a phone socket on one end, a
plug on the other and an attenuator in the middle. They're
designed for exactly what you're trying to do.

You can get then from:
http://www.rothwellaudioproducts.co.uk/html/attenuators.html



On Mon, 2005-05-23 at 21:24 -0700, Alan Walls wrote:
> Ben Sandee Wrote:
> > On 5/23/05, Alan Walls <Alan.Walls.1pih5z (AT) no-mx (DOT)
> > forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> > > Its setup in my bedroom using the SB2 as the preamp for a Rotel
> > power
> > > amp.
> > >
> > > The problem is that I can't set the volume low enough.
> >
> > So your volume on the device is at 1 of 40 and it's too loud?
>
> Yip, thats right. Its not extremely loud but I would like it quieter.
>
>
--
"The biggest problem encountered while trying to design a system that
was completely foolproof, was, that people tended to underestimate the
ingenuity of complete fools." (Douglas Adams)

seanadams
2005-05-24, 08:05
I have just bought my first SB2, it's wonderful!!

Its setup in my bedroom using the SB2 as the preamp for a Rotel power amp.

The problem is that I can't set the volume low enough.

Any suggestions?

Alan,

The best solution would be either the attenuators suggested by Mark Bennet or a preamp unit. However, it is also something that we could do in software. I've filed a feature request for you with some more details. Please add your name to this bug entry so that you can be notified if/when the feature is added:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1601

Sean