PDA

View Full Version : No 'Primary Sound Driver' option in SoftSqueeze



Andy Hawkins
2005-05-23, 06:40
Hi,

I'm sure I've seen recommended to use the 'Primary Sound Driver' or similar
for SoftSqueeze. However, in mine (2.0b8), the only options I get on the
audio tab are:

Audio Mixer: Java Sound Audio Engine
Audio Buffer Size: (set to 128000)
MP3 Decoder: either Jave MP3 Plugin or JLayer

Am I wrong, or am I missing an option?

Thanks

Andy

rtitmuss
2005-05-23, 12:00
Andy Hawkins wrote:

>I'm sure I've seen recommended to use the 'Primary Sound Driver' or similar
>for SoftSqueeze. However, in mine (2.0b8), the only options I get on the
>audio tab are:
>
>
The Primary Sound Driver is only available when you are using Java 1.5.
It will appear under the Audio Mixer setting.

Regards,
Richard

adhawkins
2005-05-24, 08:02
Hi,

In article <4292283D.3050909 (AT) gmail (DOT) com>,
Richard Titmuss<richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> The Primary Sound Driver is only available when you are using Java 1.5.
> It will appear under the Audio Mixer setting.

Ok, thanks.

On one of my PCs, I've got the 'Silent SoftSqueeze' problem. Is there any
diagnostics I can capture to find out why this happens?

I select a track in the web interface, the SoftSqueeze interface updates to
say it's playing, but there's no audio and the counter doesn't change. Same
SlimServer and audio works fine on other SoftSqueezes.

Thanks

Andy

rtitmuss
2005-05-27, 13:19
Andy Hawkins wrote:

>On one of my PCs, I've got the 'Silent SoftSqueeze' problem. Is there any
>diagnostics I can capture to find out why this happens?
>
>
>
Check the console tab in the Softsqueeze preferences, do you see any
errors? If not try changing the Audio mixer to Java Sound Driver, or
reseting the preferences. Failing that to start with enable Player and
Java sound debug and post the output.

Regards,
Richard

rtitmuss
2005-05-27, 13:20
Andy Hawkins wrote:

>On one of my PCs, I've got the 'Silent SoftSqueeze' problem. Is there any
>diagnostics I can capture to find out why this happens?
>
>
>
Check the console tab in the Softsqueeze preferences, do you see any
errors? If not try changing the Audio mixer to Java Sound Driver, or
reseting the preferences. Failing that to start with enable Player and
Java sound debug and post the output.

Regards,
Richard