PDA

View Full Version : Multiple servers



Howard
2005-05-18, 14:08
Is it at all possible to run two SlimServers on one machine?

We have two seperate music collections and don't particularly want to mix the two (One is stored on our server which is the machine that stays on 24/7 and one is stored on one of my workstations which we dont' really want to leave switched on overnight), so would it be possible to run two servers on our server, one for each Squeezebox?

Thanks for any insight.

HMSeattle
2005-05-18, 15:54
Why not run Slimserver on each machine? You can point your clients to the appropriate IP based on which song set you want to listen from.

http://IP_Server1:9000/stream.mp3

and

http://IP_Server2:9000/stream.mp3

Howard
2005-05-19, 00:33
Already doing that :)

But as I said we don't want more than one machine switched on 24/7. That's what our server is for


(One is stored on our server which is the machine that stays on 24/7 and one is stored on one of my workstations which we dont' really want to leave switched on overnight)

mherger
2005-05-19, 00:46
> Is it at all possible to run two SlimServers on one machine?

Yes I think so. I never did this myself, though. You'll have to set
different parameters for the ports on which it is listening. Run
"slimserver.pl --help" to get the possible parameters. Then go to the
server settings to change the ports on which the player should connect.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Howard
2005-05-19, 07:19
Bearing in mind I know nothing about Perl and it's running on Windows Server 2003, how do I do that? :P

mherger
2005-05-19, 07:24
> Bearing in mind I know nothing about Perl and it's running on Windows
> Server 2003, how do I do that? :P

Use the executable ;-). Run "slim.exe -help" from the command line.

Could you please quote a minimum of the posts/mails you're answering to?
From your single line it's rather hard to follow the discussion.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Howard
2005-05-19, 08:21
> Bearing in mind I know nothing about Perl and it's running on Windows
> Server 2003, how do I do that? :P

Use the executable ;-). Run "slim.exe -help" from the command line.



Right so how do I run two copies of the server and change the port on which one of them runs?

mherger
2005-05-19, 08:46
> Right so how do I run two copies of the server and change the port on
> which one of them runs?

I've told you about everything I know. For details I'd have to read and
try, too. Please don't get me wrong, but if you want a copy/paste or
single click solution, then there's none.

As I told you before I _think_ it is possible, but I can't give you that
solution as I've never done it. You'll have to go through the docs
yourself. And if you succeed, please give us some information on how you
did. Thanks in advance!

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

fuzzyT
2005-05-19, 09:01
Howard wrote:

> We have two seperate music collections and don't particularly want to
> mix the two [...]

I think what you are really pining for is the ability of SlimServer to
recognize different users and allow them to build a profile that would
allow for a per-user customization of library preferences.

An enhancement request exists:
<http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=825>

also perhaps related to multi-user sanity:
<http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=96>
<http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=437>

I'm guessing that some sort of user profile support must have been built
for the version of SlimServer that is powering the SqueezeNetwork. It
is my hope that some of that work will find it's way into the home version.

--rt

Howard
2005-05-19, 09:38
Aye user profiles or something that adequately seperates the two music collections would be great.

Thanks for the help guys


Howard wrote:

> We have two seperate music collections and don't particularly want to
> mix the two [...]

I think what you are really pining for is the ability of SlimServer to
recognize different users and allow them to build a profile that would
allow for a per-user customization of library preferences.

An enhancement request exists:
<http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=825>

also perhaps related to multi-user sanity:
<http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=96>
<http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=437>

I'm guessing that some sort of user profile support must have been built
for the version of SlimServer that is powering the SqueezeNetwork. It
is my hope that some of that work will find it's way into the home version.

--rt

bglad
2005-07-21, 10:12
i've tried running two instances of the windows executable on one machine - and get an error "there is already another copy of the SlimServer running..."

does anyone know if you can run two instances of the slimserver on one machine, perhaps by running the raw perl code rather than the .exe?

thanks
ben


> Bearing in mind I know nothing about Perl and it's running on Windows
> Server 2003, how do I do that? :P

Use the executable ;-). Run "slim.exe -help" from the command line.

Could you please quote a minimum of the posts/mails you're answering to?
From your single line it's rather hard to follow the discussion.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

mherger
2005-07-21, 10:42
> i've tried running two instances of the windows executable on one
> machine - and get an error "there is already another copy of the
> SlimServer running..."

You need to define different ports, configuration files etc. for the
different instances. See slim --help for more information.

> does anyone know if you can run two instances of the slimserver on one
> machine, perhaps by running the raw perl code rather than the .exe?

I never tested this using the executable, but as it is IMHO just the perl
version with the perl files compiled into one file, I would expect it to
work identically.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

bglad
2005-07-22, 07:39
thanks michael, but still no joy...

> > i've tried running two instances of the windows executable on one
> > machine - and get an error "there is already another copy of the
> > SlimServer running..."
>
> You need to define different ports, configuration files etc.
> for the different instances. See slim --help for more information.

i'm running slim.exe from the command line, specifying new values for httpport, cliport and prefsfile (can't see any others to change) and i've renamed slim.exe as well. (OS is windows server 2003)

I can see the slimserver doing various inits, then "SlimServer starting up..." followed by "SlimServer saving pid file" and the process terminating. The logfile shows "Old SLIMP3 Protocol init..." then
"Problem: There is already another copy etc".

any ideas much appreciated
-ben

mherger
2005-07-22, 07:58
> i'm running slim.exe from the command line, specifying new values for
> httpport, cliport and prefsfile (can't see any others to change) and
> i've renamed slim.exe as well. (OS is windows server 2003)

You might try the --pidfile parameter.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

rblaine
2006-03-08, 17:53
Has anyone had luck with this? I'd like to run two separate slimservers on my solaris box - one which serves up FLAC for local clients, and the other which serves mp3 to the internet, where there isn't enough bandwidth for flac.

It's possible to configure the http server port, but not the "SlimProto" port number. So when the second server tries to start up, it gets an Address Already in Use error when it tries to bind the SlimProto port (3483)

JJZolx
2006-03-08, 18:10
Has anyone had luck with this? I'd like to run two separate slimservers on my solaris box - one which serves up FLAC for local clients, and the other which serves mp3 to the internet, where there isn't enough bandwidth for flac.

It's possible to configure the http server port, but not the "SlimProto" port number. So when the second server tries to start up, it gets an Address Already in Use error when it tries to bind the SlimProto port (3483)
I see a 'cliport: 3483' in the prefs file. That may do it.

You could also run the two servers on different IP addresses (at which point using the same ports wouldn't matter). I'm not running two servers, but I have moved the server to a different IP address on my XP machine by binding another IP address to the NIC and telling the server to use that address instead of the machine's primary IP address. I'd guess it would be just as easy to bind additional IP addresses to the NIC and run additional SlimServers. The folowing command-line startup parameters are used to start the server:

--playeraddr 192.168.9.30 --httpaddr 192.168.9.30 --cliaddr 192.168.9.30

Robin Bowes
2006-03-08, 18:47
rblaine wrote:
> Has anyone had luck with this? I'd like to run two separate slimservers
> on my solaris box - one which serves up FLAC for local clients, and the
> other which serves mp3 to the internet, where there isn't enough
> bandwidth for flac.
>
> It's possible to configure the http server port, but not the
> "SlimProto" port number. So when the second server tries to start up,
> it gets an Address Already in Use error when it tries to bind the
> SlimProto port (3483)

I run three instances of slimserver on my linux box. You can change the
http port but the hardware players always use the same ports to connect
to slimserver so you need to run each one on a different IP.

I have three IPs assigned to my server: 192.168.1.{50,51,52}

I start each instance with a run script like this:

================================================== ===========
#!/bin/sh

SLIMSERVER_HOME='/home/slimserver/trunk/server'
SLIMSERVER_BIN="${SLIMSERVER_HOME}/slimserver.pl"
SLIMSERVER_CFG='/etc/sysconfig/slimserver/trunk/slimserver.conf'
SLIMSERVER_USER='slimserver'

IP='192.168.1.51'
SLIMSERVER_ARGS="--prefsfile=${SLIMSERVER_CFG} --noLogTimestamp
--httpaddr=${IP} --cliaddr=${IP} --playeraddr=${IP} --streamaddr=${IP}"

#SLIMSERVER_ARGS="--prefsfile=${SLIMSERVER_CFG} --noLogTimestamp"
#SLIMSERVER_DEBUG="--d_http"
#LC_CTYPE=en_GB.ISO-8859-1
export LC_CTYPE=en_GB.UTF-8
export HOME='/home/slimserver/trunk'

[ -x $SLIMSERVER_BIN -a -f $SLIMSERVER_CFG ] || exit 5

# make sure service can be controlled by slimserver user
chown -R ${SLIMSERVER_USER} ./supervise

exec /usr/local/bin/setuidgid $SLIMSERVER_USER $SLIMSERVER_BIN
$SLIMSERVER_ARGS $SLIMSERVER_DEBUG 2>&1
#!/bin/sh

SLIMSERVER_HOME='/home/slimserver/trunk/server'
SLIMSERVER_BIN="${SLIMSERVER_HOME}/slimserver.pl"
SLIMSERVER_CFG='/etc/sysconfig/slimserver/trunk/slimserver.conf'
SLIMSERVER_USER='slimserver'

IP='192.168.1.51'
SLIMSERVER_ARGS="--prefsfile=${SLIMSERVER_CFG} --noLogTimestamp
--httpaddr=${IP} --cliaddr=${IP} --playeraddr=${IP} --streamaddr=${IP}"

#SLIMSERVER_DEBUG="--d_http"
export LC_CTYPE=en_GB.UTF-8
export HOME='/home/slimserver/trunk'

[ -x $SLIMSERVER_BIN -a -f $SLIMSERVER_CFG ] || exit 5

# make sure service can be controlled by slimserver user
chown -R ${SLIMSERVER_USER} ./supervise

exec /usr/local/bin/setuidgid $SLIMSERVER_USER $SLIMSERVER_BIN
$SLIMSERVER_ARGS $SLIMSERVER_DEBUG 2>&1
================================================== ===========

HTH,

R.