PDA

View Full Version : SqueezeNetwork Alpha up and running...



dean
2005-05-17, 16:47
Hi Folks,

The latest nightly releases of SlimServer include firmware that can
connect to our SqueezeNetwork service.

Right now it's providing Internet Radio, RSS News Feeds, Alarm Clock
(with a bunch of cool alarm sounds and environmental sounds), Live
Music Archive access and more. Expect this feature set to grow over
time!

I encourage the brave among us to download and try the latest version
and use the SqueezeNetwork.

We're not making an official announcement just yet on the Discuss
list since we're not ready for real load testing and you can expect
the service to go up and down a few times a day as we shake out the
servers.

Thanks, and feel free to post your experiences here. When we do open
it up more broadly, we'll create a forum specifically for
SqueezeNetwork discussion.

Thanks,

Team SqueezeNetwork!

sellars
2005-05-17, 21:24
Just installed the nightly....and I'm already lovin' it....:)

kdf
2005-05-17, 23:27
Quoting dean blackketter <dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>:

> Hi Folks,
>
> The latest nightly releases of SlimServer include firmware that can
> connect to our SqueezeNetwork service.
>
> Right now it's providing Internet Radio, RSS News Feeds, Alarm Clock
> (with a bunch of cool alarm sounds and environmental sounds), Live
> Music Archive access and more. Expect this feature set to grow over
> time!
>
> I encourage the brave among us to download and try the latest version
> and use the SqueezeNetwork.

Done, tested and listened to RadioIO for about 30 minutes (busy drinking with a
buddy so distraction ensued after that!) Thank you for the sign out menu. I
was wondering how that would come up after the early testing. I'm afraid I
cannot risk the alarm clock as my ISP has been so abyssmally unstable of late.
Annoyingly it also freaks out the router so I can't even use the RSS plugin on
my local version lately.

I'll have time next week to beat on it from softsqueeze in england for a week,
then I'm off to drink Guinness and behave badly in Ireland!!

-kdf

btw...what happened to that dance mix sample that I found a few weeks ago during
the earlier tests?? (I'm not going to get more descriptive since it would give
away the most hilarious part)

mherger
2005-05-17, 23:36
> Right now it's providing Internet Radio, RSS News Feeds, Alarm Clock
> (with a bunch of cool alarm sounds and environmental sounds)

There are really some golden greats:

- coins: for the business men
- city: for those poor guys living in the countryside
- hair dryer: missing your ex-girlfriend?

But my real favourite is "horse whinny" - though I really expected a pony
;-)

Small typo: there's a "frieght train" passing.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

mherger
2005-05-17, 23:39
> Done, tested and listened to RadioIO for about 30 minutes (busy drinking

Could RadioIO be an alarm option?

> with a
> buddy so distraction ensued after that!) Thank you for the sign out
> menu. I
> was wondering how that would come up after the early testing. I'm

Are "accounts" (PINs?) not stored yet? Today I had to run through the
setup again (had a first test yesterday).

> I'll have time next week to beat on it from softsqueeze in england for a

I'm not so sure softsqueeze will support it, does it?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

kdf
2005-05-18, 00:03
Quoting Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>:

> I'm not so sure softsqueeze will support it, does it?

guess it doesn't ...oh well, guess its more guinness time :)

Philip Downer
2005-05-18, 02:15
> The latest nightly releases of SlimServer include firmware
> that can connect to our SqueezeNetwork service.
>
> Right now it's providing Internet Radio, RSS News Feeds,
> Alarm Clock (with a bunch of cool alarm sounds and
> environmental sounds), Live Music Archive access and more.
> Expect this feature set to grow over time!

I've not tested it out yet (I plan to later today) but I'm wondering how
the interface works? I'm guessing that it's just an ir remote and the
sb2 display as it's being totally handled by the squeezebox. I am
however wondering if there is going to be (or allready is) support for,
well let's say a wireless pda to control the squeezenetwork feature. I'm
just curious about situations where the SB2 is completely hidden away.

Phil

dean
2005-05-18, 08:00
Hi Philip,

On May 18, 2005, at 2:15 AM, Philip Downer wrote:
> I've not tested it out yet (I plan to later today) but I'm
> wondering how
> the interface works? I'm guessing that it's just an ir remote and the
> sb2 display as it's being totally handled by the squeezebox. I am
> however wondering if there is going to be (or allready is) support
> for,
> well let's say a wireless pda to control the squeezenetwork
> feature. I'm
> just curious about situations where the SB2 is completely hidden away.

SqueezeNetwork uses a version of SlimServer running at our
datacenter, fortified with load balancers, back-end databases and
more. Audio data streams directly to the players (instead of through
the server software), but apart from that, the UI is handled as before.

We do plan on opening up a web interface which will allow you to log
in and control your Squeezebox connected to the SqueezeNetwork, but
it hasn't been turned on yet.

Give it a try, let us know what you think, and stay tuned for
improvements!

-dean

vidurapparao
2005-05-18, 08:58
Michael Herger wrote:

>> Done, tested and listened to RadioIO for about 30 minutes (busy drinking
>
>
> Could RadioIO be an alarm option?

Currently, any of your favorites can be alarm options. Select a radioio
station as a favorite (one of the options available when you browse
track info for the station) and it should appear on the alarm sounds page.

>> buddy so distraction ensued after that!) Thank you for the sign out
>> menu. I
>> was wondering how that would come up after the early testing. I'm
>
> with a
>
> Are "accounts" (PINs?) not stored yet? Today I had to run through the
> setup again (had a first test yesterday).

We had to reset the database yesterday (it's an alpha, right?), but by
the time we get to production preferences will be more permanent.

--Vidur

Christian Pernegger
2005-05-18, 09:13
> > I encourage the brave among us to download and try the latest version
> > and use the SqueezeNetwork.

Brave? I just ran my auto-update script ... :)

Didn't do much testing yet, beyond the initial connect, and a little
fooling-around but I must say I was positively surprised about getting
the full timezone selection.

> I'm afraid I cannot risk the alarm clock as my ISP has been so abyssmally unstable of
> late.

I've had one noticeable outage in 2 years and I still don't trust all
the components and connections between the sb2 and sqn enough to run
my alarm over it. (Going to file an enhancement req for emergency
alarm in firmware now ...)

Hopefully there'll be better integration between local server(s) and
sqn sometime (i. e. parallel connections, fallback). I don't think the
user should have to switch between them manually. "Use squeeze
network? yes/no" should be enough.

Any chance slimdevices want to enter the music subscription business?
sqn seems just the ticket ^^

C.

vidurapparao
2005-05-18, 13:16
Christian Pernegger wrote:

> ...
>
>
>Any chance slimdevices want to enter the music subscription business?
>sqn seems just the ticket ^^
>
>
You think? ;-)

mcremer
2005-05-18, 14:15
The Computer-Off functionality provided by SqueezeNetwork is exactly the reason why I had decided to buy Squeezebox2 instead of any other streaming client -- I simply do not want to be forced to have the computer running all day just to be able to listen to my favourite internet radio station. So thanks a lot for turning this feature on now!

Setup went very quick and well, without any problem to report.

The only thing I could not get sorted out so far is:
How to set up (save) any own favourites, internet radio stations and rss sources?

I have a number of particular internet radio streams stored on my slimserver as playlist files and I am wondering how to save these "bookmarks" on my SqueezeNetwork account in order to be able to connect to them with the computer being turned off, such as ...

-> mms://213.200.64.231/motorfm%24livestream.wma
-> http://mp3.d-radio.t-bn.de/live_dlr

and so on.

Same problem for RSS feeds, such as ...

-> http://www.tagesschau.de/newsticker.rdf
-> http://www.spiegel.de/schlagzeilen/rss/index.xml

I cannot see how to save these URLs in a way that makes them available to my SB2 without the computer/slimserver running.

Thanks in advance for any hint on this issue. Hope it will be of interest for other users as well.

Michel.

fcm4711
2005-05-18, 14:19
Hi guys

Looks good. :)

Just downloaded the latest svn version, flashed the latest firmware into my SB2 and was up and connecting to SqueezeNetwork and listening to my favorite Shoutcast radio station within minutes.

The first attempt to connect failed because I hadn't set a DNS server ip address. (I am using a static ip address and left the DNS server ip on 0.0.0.0 until now.)

It seems the navigation has a slight problem. Sometimes if press right the display immediately shows the new content and then scrolls in the same content again. (Occurs mostly in the Shoutcast menu, but I've seen it in other parts of the navigation too.) Probably related to some delays over the Internet?

Cheers
Felix

vidurapparao
2005-05-18, 14:22
fcm4711 wrote:

><snip>
>It seems the navigation has a slight problem. Sometimes if press right
>the display immediately shows the new content and then scrolls in the
>same content again. (Occurs mostly in the Shoutcast menu, but I've seen
>it in other parts of the navigation too.) Probably related to some
>delays over the Internet?
>
>
>
Nope, it's a bug that I'm currently tracking down.

--Vidur

Triode
2005-05-18, 14:25
Vidur,

I've seen this for Slim Picks, Shoutcast and Live Music Archive. [I think it is extra update command in the setMode functions of
these]

Adrian

vidurapparao
2005-05-18, 14:26
Triode wrote:

> Vidur,
>
> I've seen this for Slim Picks, Shoutcast and Live Music Archive. [I
> think it is extra update command in the setMode functions of these]

It is (with Archive and Favorites to be added to that list). I'll check
in changes to SlimServer soon (and sync up to the service).

--Vidur

vidurapparao
2005-05-18, 14:40
Vidur Apparao wrote:

> Triode wrote:
>
>> Vidur,
>>
>> I've seen this for Slim Picks, Shoutcast and Live Music Archive. [I
>> think it is extra update command in the setMode functions of these]
>
>
> It is (with Archive and Favorites to be added to that list). I'll
> check in changes to SlimServer soon (and sync up to the service).


OK...removing the extra updates doesn't fix it...and now I'm seeing the
problem all over the place in SlimServer...including in the home and
browse menus. Adrian, did your recent display-related changes somehow
change the behavior?

--Vidur

Triode
2005-05-18, 14:46
>
> OK...removing the extra updates doesn't fix it...and now I'm seeing the problem all over the place in SlimServer...including in
> the home and browse menus. Adrian, did your recent display-related changes somehow change the behavior?
>

Shouldn't do. It will cause an update after doing an animation to initiate scrolling, but this is delayed by 0.5 sec and should be
cancelled if another push occurs.

If you put a backtrace in update, what calls it before the push?

Adrian

Triode
2005-05-18, 14:56
Vidur,

Does pushMode need to call update?

2005-05-18 22:52:14.7545 Backtrace:

frame 0: Slim::Player::SqueezeboxG::update (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1068)
frame 1: Slim::Buttons::Common::pushMode (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Buttons/Common.pm line 1125)
frame 2: Slim::Buttons::Common::pushModeLeft (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Buttons/Home.pm line 395)
frame 3: Slim::Buttons::Home::homeExitHandler (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Buttons/Input/List.pm line 304)
frame 4: Slim::Buttons::Input::List::exitInput (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Buttons/Input/List.pm line 64)
frame 5: Slim::Buttons::Input::List::__ANON__ (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 616)
frame 6: Slim::Hardware::IR::executeButton (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Control/Command.pm line 599)
frame 7: Slim::Control::Command::execute (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 640)
frame 8: Slim::Hardware::IR::processCode (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 455)
frame 9: Slim::Hardware::IR::processIR (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Control/Command.pm line 599)
frame 10: Slim::Control::Command::execute (/usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Hardware/IR.pm line 87)
frame 11: Slim::Hardware::IR::idle (./slimserver.pl line 601)
frame 12: main::idle (./slimserver.pl line 567)
frame 13: main::main (./slimserver.pl line 1149)

Adrian

Christian Pernegger
2005-05-18, 15:17
Could this be related to the issue I've been having with the player
menus and them occasionally scrolling right over an item even though
the cursor button has only been pressed once?

Player navigation is literally one step forward two steps back for me :(

See http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1391

C.

Triode
2005-05-18, 15:25
>Could this be related to the issue I've been having with the player
>menus and them occasionally scrolling right over an item even though
>the cursor button has only been pressed once?

I don't think so as it occurs on softsqueeze too - which should not have the same problem of switch bounce. Its definately due to
the new screen being displayed and then the push animation occuring (so that it is actually the new one which is scrolled off the
screen). It has probably been there for a long time, but until the slow animation of SB2 arrived it was next to impossible to see
it....

For reference I am also seeing a issue with oversensitive remote buttons. I wonder if this could be down to variations in remotes
as much as anything else. However I think this bug warrents looking at again.

Adrian

vidurapparao
2005-05-18, 15:30
Triode wrote:

> Vidur,
>
> Does pushMode need to call update?

It shouldn't. It looks like this was introduced earlier today by dave in
http://lists.slimdevices.com/archives/checkins/2005-May/005463.html.
I've spoken with him and am removing.

--Vidur

fcm4711
2005-05-19, 02:57
Guys

This morning my SB2 was stopped and reset to (default?) values for language and timezone (and probably other settings).

Felix

mherger
2005-05-19, 03:02
> This morning my SB2 was stopped and reset to (default?) values for
> language and timezone (and probably other settings).

....but you now actually can change the language (did not work before) :-).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Mike White
2005-05-21, 11:17
Hi Folks,

The latest nightly releases of SlimServer include firmware that can
connect to our SqueezeNetwork service.

Team SqueezeNetwork!

I've installed slimserver 6.1, but it seems that either the firmware update did not come down with the release of May 21st, or I am being particularly dense (even for a newby).

How do I update the firmware, seeing as it apparently did not update automatically?

Thanks,

dean
2005-05-21, 11:31
If you installed a nightly release with the new firmware, you should
have been prompted to upgrade.

You can force a re-install of the firmware by pressing and holding
the BRIGHTNESS button for 5 seconds.

After this, you should see a SqueezeNetwork option in the player
setup as well as when connected to SlimServer.

-dean

On May 21, 2005, at 11:17 AM, Mike White wrote:

>
> dean Wrote:
>
>> Hi Folks,
>>
>> The latest nightly releases of SlimServer include firmware that can
>> connect to our SqueezeNetwork service.
>>
>> Team SqueezeNetwork!
>>
>
> I've installed slimserver 6.1, but it seems that either the firmware
> update did not come down with the release of May 21st, or I am being
> particularly dense (even for a newby).
>
> How do I update the firmware, seeing as it apparently did not update
> automatically?
>
> Thanks,
>
>
> --
> Mike White
>

Mike White
2005-05-21, 11:55
If you installed a nightly release with the new firmware, you should
have been prompted to upgrade.

You can force a re-install of the firmware by pressing and holding
the BRIGHTNESS button for 5 seconds.

After this, you should see a SqueezeNetwork option in the player
setup as well as when connected to SlimServer.

-dean

On May 21, 2005, at 11:17 AM, Mike White wrote:

>
> dean Wrote:
>
>> Hi Folks,
>>
>> The latest nightly releases of SlimServer include firmware that can
>> connect to our SqueezeNetwork service.
>>
>> Team SqueezeNetwork!
>>
>
> I've installed slimserver 6.1, but it seems that either the firmware
> update did not come down with the release of May 21st, or I am being
> particularly dense (even for a newby).
>
> How do I update the firmware, seeing as it apparently did not update
> automatically?
>
> Thanks,
>
>
> --
> Mike White
>

Firmware version says it is version 11 - perhaps it installed while I was in another room installing the software, and I just missed it.

However, I do not see a SqueezeNetwork option on either the player or the SlimServer. I have verified that SlimServer thinks it is version 6.1.

Any ideas?

Mike

dean
2005-05-21, 12:02
Firmware 11 is from some previous release.

Which nightly version did you install? Look on the Server Settings
page at the bottom. It should say:

6.1.0 - trunk

Does it?

Mike White
2005-05-21, 12:16
Firmware 11 is from some previous release.

Which nightly version did you install? Look on the Server Settings
page at the bottom. It should say:

6.1.0 - trunk

Does it?

No, it says SlimServer 6.1.0 - 3085. I installed it this morning.

I installed the Windows version v62005-05-21.

I did try holding down the brightness button, and the player told me that it was loading new firmware.

Mike

JJZolx
2005-05-21, 13:13
No, it says SlimServer 6.1.0 - 3085. I installed it this morning.

I installed the Windows version v62005-05-21.

I did try holding down the brightness button, and the player told me that it was loading new firmware.

Then it probably isn't installing over the old version for some reason. It should definitely say "6.1.0 - trunk".

Find the server program files, probably at

C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server

and see what the file date is on slim.exe. If it is 05-21-2005, then perhaps you need to restart the SlimServer service. Or maybe your browser is caching the Server Settings page showing the old version. Just speculation, though.

If push comes to shove and it won't install for you, you might have to uninstall the old version first. I just installed the 5-21 nightly of 6.1.0 on my XP system without incident, so it's probably not a problem with the Windows installer.
________
easy vape vaporizer (http://vaporizer.org/reviews/easy-vape)

Mike White
2005-05-21, 18:07
Then it probably isn't installing over the old version for some reason. It should definitely say "6.1.0 - trunk".

If push comes to shove and it won't install for you, you might have to uninstall the old version first. I just installed the 5-21 nightly of 6.1.0 on my XP system without incident, so it's probably not a problem with the Windows installer.

Had to completely uninstall slimserver, and re-install it. I could then connect to SqueezeNetwork.

One problem I have noticed. If I try to connect to Live365 (via SlimServer) with version 6.1 (May 21st), it will start to play for a few moments, then you will see that the player is trying to connect to slimserver. Ultimately it displays a warning message that it cannot connect to slimserver, and no matter what I have tried on the player, I cannot get it to connect to slimserver again. Powering off and back on does not seem to help.

However, if I go to slimserver on my server, I can tell to go to a playlist for example, and everything works fine until I try to go back to Live365 - which I think I will forego for the time being, until this is more stable.