PDA

View Full Version : soooooo confused (RH 7.3/slimsever 5.4)



phango13
2005-05-14, 18:45
wow--so i'm not even sure where to begin...

i think i have a software issue, but then again, could be hardware...but i'm pretty sure its software which is why i'm here (and would like to state for the record how truly pleased i was to find a linux/slimserver forum!!)

so from the top--my setup:

magnia SG20 running redhat 7.3 behind d-link router
2 roku m1000 soundbridges (SB) with static ips behind the magnia
slimserver 5.4.0 loaded on the magnia
music library on a NAS, also with a static ip behind the magnia
music library is 90% mp3, 10% aac
no firewall on the magnia or any client (handled by router)
magnia takes care of NAT

installed slimserver on the magnia first, stream to itunes on a client pc, its all good...

unpack a SB and set it up, slimserver sees it, it plays what slimserver tells it to...we're on a roll...

unpack a second SB, slimserver sees it too, sends it some files which it acknowledges (displays the info on the lcd) but WILL NOT PLAY!!

just sits there frozen...

install mt-daapd on the magnia, now both SBs can access the files on the NAS directly, browse etc, and both pull and play files from the NAS simulataneously...

so both units seem to work, but slimserver can't seem to keep them both happy...

could be converters, but i've been careful to stick to mp3s only during this troubleshooting phase...and that would make them both not work, right??

i'm guessing maybe its a permissions issue?? the owner of the slimserver process is "1003" which is "slimserver", and the group is "1001" which is my admin login...

any thoughts??

thanx in advance...

pfarrell
2005-05-14, 19:43
on Sat, 2005-05-14 at 18:45 -0700, phango13 wrote:
> no firewall on the magnia or any client (handled by router)
> magnia takes care of NAT
> [SNIP]

> install mt-daapd on the magnia, now both SBs can access the files on
> the NAS directly, browse etc, and both pull and play files from the NAS
> simulataneously...

I'm a bit confused by your description of your setup.
The normal setup is to have one SlimServer reading music files
( from where doesn't make much difference as long as you are not
using Windoz ;-)

The one slimserver reads files and pushes them out to all
the squeezeboxes and/or softsqueeze and/or clients
like Winamp or mms talking to the
http://servername:9000/stream.mp3
stream.

You then control the clients with any browser you like.

But clients don't read anything, they don't pull files from a NAS.
All that is handled by the single instance of the SlimServer.

Is this what you are doing? Am I confused?
etc.?


--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

phango13
2005-05-14, 21:27
yup, that's what i'm trying to do--one slimserver accessing the files and pushing them out to 2 rokus (same thing as the squeezebox really--i just liked the way they look better and i got them cheap)...

the NAS part came in during my troubleshooting frenzy--i wanted to see if i could make the rokus play at the same time so i installed mt-daapd, bypassing slimserver altogether...

it worked, but using mt-daapd the rokus act completely independently which is not a long term solution...

so now i'm back to slimserver...what led me to slimserver was the functionality you desribed--one server, many clients, the ability to sync clients...

stinkingpig
2005-05-14, 22:06
phango13 wrote:
> yup, that's what i'm trying to do--one slimserver accessing the files
> and pushing them out to 2 rokus (same thing as the squeezebox really--i
> just liked the way they look better and i got them cheap)...
>
> the NAS part came in during my troubleshooting frenzy--i wanted to see
> if i could make the rokus play at the same time so i installed
> mt-daapd, bypassing slimserver altogether...
>
> it worked, but using mt-daapd the rokus act completely independently
> which is not a long term solution...
>
> so now i'm back to slimserver...what led me to slimserver was the
> functionality you desribed--one server, many clients, the ability to
> sync clients...
>
>

Rokus aren't supported on this list, sorry -- you'll need to go to them
to figure out why it isn't working. I don't know that they've kept up
with the 6.x changes, or even ever supported synchronization.
--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

phango13
2005-05-15, 10:08
right, which is why i kept to 5.4 and tried to make sure it wasn't a hardware issue before i posted here...but you're right about the syching thing--turns out you can't!! my bad...

wow, i guess they prefer selling their devices one at a time...

so can someone confirm that the squeezbozes can be synched with each other using slimserver before i go return my 3 rokus for 3 SBs?? silly question probably, just want to make sure...

thanx...

pfarrell
2005-05-15, 10:19
On Sun, 2005-05-15 at 10:08 -0700, phango13 wrote:
> so can someone confirm that the squeezbozes can be synched with each
> other using slimserver before i go return my 3 rokus for 3 SBs?? silly
> question probably, just want to make sure...

I sync two SB1s all the time. works like a champ
My SlimServer runs on a Mandrake box in the basement

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

radish
2005-05-15, 10:43
Get the squeezeboxes - you won't regret it. They are much better hardware than the Rokus, they take full advantage of slim server, and the support over here is pretty damn good :)

phango13
2005-05-15, 12:13
indeed!!!

muchas gracias all...

stinkingpig
2005-05-15, 16:30
Pat Farrell wrote:
> On Sun, 2005-05-15 at 10:08 -0700, phango13 wrote:
>
>>so can someone confirm that the squeezbozes can be synched with each
>>other using slimserver before i go return my 3 rokus for 3 SBs?? silly
>>question probably, just want to make sure...
>
>
> I sync two SB1s all the time. works like a champ
> My SlimServer runs on a Mandrake box in the basement
>

If you sync long running streams (e.g. Internet radio), do they drift
away from each other? My SBG and SliMP3 do, which I'm inclined to chalk
up to buffer size differences. I'm going to upgrade both to SB2s this
summer.


--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

phango13
2005-05-20, 12:13
dumped the rokus, got 2 v.2 SBs, still no love...

step 1: after all the fiddling i had done trying to get the rokus installed i figured i best start fresh so i uninstalled and re-installed slimserver 5.4 (i tried to install 6.0.2 but ran into problems and didn't feel like crossing the upgrade-perl bridge just yet...)

step 2: tested slimserver by running softqueeze and streaming to intunes on a client pc running xp--works fine...

step 3: plugged in the new SB, it got a dchp ip, and then the screen started flashing back and forth between "connecting to slimserver" and "slimserver software upgrade press and hold brightness" (i paraphrase)...just kept flashing back and forth, wouldn't respond to any commands from the remote...

eventually the SB shuts itself off, killing the slimserver process in the meantime...

anyone come across this before?? what should i do to troubleshoot??

tried calling tech suport but got VM...

kdf
2005-05-20, 12:16
Quoting phango13 <phango13.1pch6z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

Slimserver v6.0 or higher is required for SB2's. (5.4 will only support earlier
hardware)
Redhat 7.3's default perl install is too old for Slimserver 6.0. Perl 5.8 or
higher is required, so you will have to take a deep breath (or drink a few
beers) and delve into that perl upgrade :)

-kdf

mherger
2005-05-20, 12:25
> Slimserver v6.0 or higher is required for SB2's. (5.4 will only support
> earlier hardware)
> Redhat 7.3's default perl install is too old for Slimserver 6.0. Perl
> 5.8 or
> higher is required, so you will have to take a deep breath (or drink a
> few beers) and delve into that perl upgrade :)

If you've got enough beer, you can try my perl tarball
(http://www.herger.net/slim/). It either works or not. I've never heard of
anybody for whom it did not.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-20, 16:51
okay, here i go!!

gotta stop at the store for some beer first...

phango13
2005-05-21, 18:54
decided to wipe and reinstall the OS on the server, just to make sure i was starting fresh...by then i wasn't feeling up to the perl task...

but i've had at it today, and all's going well...

couple of quick questions, i guess primarily for you, Michael:

followed your Perl 5.8 on SME6 routine and got the following:

[root@magnia slimserver]# /usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 slimserver.pl
2005-05-21 18:20:56.4284 Your data source needs to be configured. Please open yo
ur web browser,
2005-05-21 18:20:56.4289 go to the following URL, and click on the "Server Setti
ngs" link.

2005-05-21 18:20:56.4295 The URL to access SlimServer is now:
http://magnia.magnia.loc:9000/

question 1: why the change in url?

questin 2: after the perl upgrade, slimserver is running as root--i thought i read somewhere that that was bad??

thanx for your help!! beth

mherger
2005-05-21, 23:47
> but i've had at it today, and all's going well...

That's good to know. What's your exact Linux distribution/system? I'll be
starting a "compatibility list" for my perl package :-)

> followed your Perl 5.8 on SME6 routine and got the following:
[..]
> 2005-05-21 18:20:56.4295 The URL to access SlimServer is now:
> http://magnia.magnia.loc:9000/

Good sign.

> question 1: why the change in url?

What was the url before? This is looking quite normal to me.

> questin 2: after the perl upgrade, slimserver is running as root--i
> thought i read somewhere that that was bad??

It's not necessarily bad. It's even normal if you start it as root. But
does it work if you start /etc/init.d/slimserver?

What can happen is that it does not start that "normal" way because it's
using another user "slimserver" which can't access all the necessary files
if they've been created by root. In this case stop slimserver, (re)move
/etc/slimserver.prefs and /usr/local/slimserver/Cache. Then restart the
server using "/etc/init.d/slimserver start". This will force re-creation
of the configuration files and the database.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-22, 11:07
Michael--

I'm using RH 7.3 (Valhalla) on a Magnia SG20.

The url I had been using was http://magnia:9000
(magnia=192.168.200.1=DHCP server/gateway)

I can't find slimsever.prefs--did you mean slimserver.conf??

Thanx again, Beth

p.s. I have family in Les Diablerets--how weird!

phango13
2005-05-22, 11:32
hmmm--no /usr/local/slimserver/Cache either...

mherger
2005-05-22, 12:34
> I'm using RH 7.3 (Valhalla) on a Magnia SG20.

Thanks! I think I've read about that device before - maybe you're not even
the first to use my perl on it.

> The url I had been using was http://magnia:9000
> (magnia=192.168.200.1=DHCP server/gateway)

I guess that this name change is rather a distro "problem". While "magnia"
ist the short machine name, "magnia.magnia.loc" is the "fully qualified
domain name". No problem imho.

> I can't find slimsever.prefs--did you mean slimserver.conf??

Yes, I did.

> hmmm--no /usr/local/slimserver/Cache either...

This is in fact user specific. As you ran it as root it might be
/root/Cache. But if you remove /etc/slimserver.conf and restart the server
as user slimserver, it will imho be located in /usr/local/slimserver
(slimserver's home, I guess).

> p.s. I have family in Les Diablerets--how weird!

Nice skiing there :-).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-22, 18:12
deleted the *.conf file, couldn't find a /Cache directory anywhere(is it hidden)??

/etc/init.d/slimserver start does not work, but /usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w ./slimserver.pl does (runs as root)

should i call it a day??

mherger
2005-05-22, 23:09
> deleted the *.conf file, couldn't find a /Cache directory anywhere(is it
> hidden)??

Ok, let's find them manually. Please give the answer to the following
commands (run from the shell):

grep slimserver /etc/passwd
grep slimserver /etc/group
-> both should contain a line about the user "slimserver". The first
will even give you his home. If he does not exist, you're in trouble.
Remove everything slimserver related (especially /etc/slimserver.conf) and
reinstall the RPM

ll /etc/slimserver.conf
-> owner:group should be slimserver:slimserver. If it's root:root then
it's responsible for the server not starting normally.

grep cachedir /etc/slimserver.conf
-> this will tell you where the database is stored. If it's /root the
you again are in trouble.

> /etc/init.d/slimserver start does not work, but
> /usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w ./slimserver.pl does (runs as root)

You'll have to be sure that the very first time you run slimserver you do
it calling the startup script. If you simply run slimserver.pl from the
command line, it will again be root who owns everything. Subsequent starts
won't work as the user slimserver is not allowed to access
slimserversql.db which was created in /root.

If the tests above showed that root is a little dominant, remove the prefs
file again. Then call "/etc/init.d/slimserver start". If you could open a
second shell to have a view at "top" - does slimserver immediately quit
again?

> should i call it a day??

I wouldn't. I just got up to start a new day :-). Don't give up. I'm
convinced it's just a permission issue.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-23, 10:12
okay, so first i got:

[root@magnia /]# grep slimserver /etc/passwd
slimserver:x:1003:1001:SlimServer:/usr/local/slimserver:/bin/bash

[root@magnia /]# grep slimserver /etc/group
slimserver:x:1001:

which is good, right?? proper user, group...
however, slimserver.conf was not to be found:

[root@magnia /]# grep cachedir /etc/slimserver.conf
grep: /etc/slimserver.conf: No such file or directory

and i checked the properties on /etc/rc.d/init.d/slimserver and its owner=root, user=root

also, noticed there's a /root/usr/local directory with the HTML and Plugins folders, and a /usr/local/slimserver directory with the rest fo the files--is this proper??

i'll hang in there for as long as you are willing to help!! really appreciate it...beth

mherger
2005-05-23, 11:38
> slimserver:x:1003:1001:SlimServer:/usr/local/slimserver:/bin/bash
> slimserver:x:1001:
>
> which is good, right?? proper user, group...

This is fine, yes.

> however, slimserver.conf was not to be found:

We're getting closer :-). Then I guess it's /root/.slimserver.pref you'll
have to delete. This is the same file as /etc/slimserver.conf, but used
for user specific configuration.

> and i checked the properties on /etc/rc.d/init.d/slimserver and its
> owner=root, user=root

This is fine if it's executable for other users.

> also, noticed there's a /root/usr/local directory with the HTML and
> Plugins folders, and a /usr/local/slimserver directory with the rest fo
> the files--is this proper??

This is fine, too: slimserver will use the user's home folder for it's
cache. As for now slimserver was run as root, you'll find that stuff in
/root. The /root/local... folder contains cached copies of the expanded
html templates (if I'm not wrong). I think you'll also find
/root/.slimserversql.db which is the slimserver's database. So...

Remove the following stuff from /root (or move them to a save place to
have a backup):

/root/.slimserver.pref
/root/.slimserversql.db
/root/usr/ (and subfolders)

> i'll hang in there for as long as you are willing to help!! really
> appreciate it...beth

There's one song I have in at least three different versions on my
slimserver: "don't give up" :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-23, 18:28
indeed, those were all in /root, all went bye-bye (to a safe place)...

to no avail--slimserver startup script fails (returns no output), command line startup still works...however, as you pointed out, this ends up running as root, with the 3 deleted files/folders back in /root...

i'll delete them again, then what?? reinstall the rpm??

thanx, beth

phango13
2005-05-23, 18:35
wait--tried the command line again, _not_ logged in as root and got:

bash-2.05a$ ./slimserver.pl
2005-05-23 18:22:01.3489 Cannot write to preferences file /sa2/home/telnetuser/.
slimserver.pref, any changes made will not be preserved for the next startup of
the server
Use of uninitialized value in string eq at /usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Utils/Pref
s.pm line 390.
Use of uninitialized value in join or string at /usr/local/lib/perl5/5.8.6/File/
Spec/Unix.pm line 73.
DBI connect('dbname=/.slimserversql.db','',...) failed: unable to open database
file(1) at dbdimp.c line 94 at /usr/local/slimserver/Slim/DataStores/DBI/DataMod
el.pm line 106

mherger
2005-05-23, 22:46
> to no avail--slimserver startup script fails (returns no output),

One more thing we did not check: did you change the first line in
slimserver.pl?

> command line startup still works...however, as you pointed out, this

I went back in the history of this thread :-). You always wrote about
using the command line
/usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w ./slimserver.pl

Did you ever try /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl? If this does not
work, check the first line in slimserver.pl. It should look like this:

#!/usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w

See my online doc for more details and a script to do this automatically.
You'll have to do this change every time you update slimserver :-/

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-24, 10:20
yup, i edited the slimservr.pl file per your instructions (in fact, everything seemd to go fine during that install)

so logged in NOT as root i get:

bash-2.05a$ /usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w ./slimserver.pl
Can't open perl script "./slimserver.pl": No such file or directory

and:

bash-2.05a$ /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl
2005-05-24 09:43:02.7629 Cannot write to preferences file /sa2/home/telnetuser/.
slimserver.pref, any changes made will not be preserved for the next startup of
the server
Use of uninitialized value in string eq at /usr/local/slimserver/Slim/Utils/Pref
s.pm line 390.
Use of uninitialized value in join or string at /usr/local/lib/perl5/5.8.6/File/
Spec/Unix.pm line 73.
DBI connect('dbname=/.slimserversql.db','',...) failed: unable to open database
file(1) at dbdimp.c line 94 at /usr/local/slimserver/Slim/DataStores/DBI/DataMod
el.pm line 106

logged in as root, /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl works:

[root@magnia /]# /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl
2005-05-24 09:55:08.0318 Your data source needs to be configured. Please open yo
ur web browser,
2005-05-24 09:55:08.0324 go to the following URL, and click on the "Server Setti
ngs" link.

2005-05-24 09:55:08.0329 The URL to access SlimServer is now:
http://magnia.magnia.loc:9000/

so then i terminated slimserver, deleted the 3 files from root, and tried again using
/usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w ./slimserver.pl, same results as above:

[root@magnia /]# /usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w ./slimserver.pl
Can't open perl script "./slimserver.pl": No such file or directory

should i wipe and start fresh?? if so, install slimserver first, or your perl module first??

do you think i could be having problems with the "custom" magnia OS:

"Red Hat Linux release 7.3 (Valhalla)
Kernel 2.4.18-3custom on an i686"

thanx!! beth

p.s. i owe you a beer next time i'm in switzerland!!

mherger
2005-05-24, 11:29
> bash-2.05a$ /usr/local/bin/perl5.8.6 -w ./slimserver.pl
> Can't open perl script "./slimserver.pl": No such file or directory

This is normal if you run this command from another folder than
/usr/local/slimserver.

> logged in as root, /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl works:

Ok. Now

- remove all the slimserver stuff in /root one more time.

- open a second terminal to your server, run "top"

- go back to the first terminal where you're logged in as root

- try to start the service: "/etc/init.d/slimserver start" -> look at the
second console: does slimserver.pl show up in the task list? Do you get
the "Start slimserver [ OK ]" message?

- if it exits, do you have /tmp/slimserver.log?

> p.s. i owe you a beer next time i'm in switzerland!!

Well, I don't like beer, but I could introduce you to our local favourite
soft drink "Rivella" :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-24, 13:40
nope, nothing--just returns to bash prompt, no sign of slimserver.pl in the list of running processes...

here's what appears in the log file:

DBI connect('dbname=/root/.slimserversql.db','',...) failed: unable to open database file(1) at dbdimp.c line 94 at /usr/local/slimserver/Slim/DataStores/DBI/DataModel.pm line 106

i luuuv rivella--the blue one's my favorite...i've been trying to figure out how to import it here, but i guess with the milk extract its very perishible...someone's importing it to florida, but i'm on the west coast (SF)...

mherger
2005-05-24, 13:44
> DBI connect('dbname=/root/.slimserversql.db','',...) failed: unable to
> open database file(1) at dbdimp.c line 94 at
> /usr/local/slimserver/Slim/DataStores/DBI/DataModel.pm line 106

There must still be some slimserver.pref or slimserver.conf or
..slimserver.pref. Are you sure you removed everything slimserver related
in /root and /etc? Be sure you don't miss the dot files (.slimserver*) as
they are hidden from standard ls. Use "ls -a" instead!

> i luuuv rivella--the blue one's my favorite...i've been trying to

I prefer the green :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-24, 19:18
nada...scoured the place...

the green's good too!!

mherger
2005-05-24, 22:49
> nada...scoured the place...

This is getting boring :-/.

Let's do it the proper way: remove slimserver completely. Always as root:

rpm -e slimserver

Then remove manually (and don't worry if it doesn't find the file):

rm -rf /usr/local/slimserver
rm -rf /etc/slimserver.conf
rm -rf /etc/sysconfig/slimserver
rm -rf /root/.slim* /root/slim* /root/usr

Just to be sure, run find:

find / -name "*slim*"
find / -name ".slimserver*"

(This can take a few moments if you've got a lot of files on your disk)

Have a good look at the search result and remove anything like
slimserver.pref or slimserver.conf (with or withoud leading dot).

Then reinstall the server. Let it start - it will use your standard perl
5.6.x. Once you're back on the command line, do:

/etc/init.d/slimserver stop

Edit /usr/local/slimserver/slimserver.pl to match the custom perl (as you
did before).

/etc/init.d/slimserver restart

If this does not work I'll take a few minutes off go get me a Rivella :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-25, 20:11
slimserver 6.0.2 is up and running under its own user!!

nice work, Michael...

i owe you that green rivella!! Beth

mherger
2005-05-25, 22:56
> slimserver 6.0.2 is up and running under its own user!!

Do you know what eventually did the trick?

> i owe you that green rivella!! Beth

Don't hesitate to drop a note when you're arriving in Switzerland :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

phango13
2005-05-26, 21:19
nope, not specificaly...

i tried your intstructions sucessfuly up until the "slimserver restart" command but the reinstall of slimserver hadn't started the service, so that failed and hung up...

i redeleted everything, rebooted, reinstalled the rpm as root (i think i may have tried to install as "telnetuser" the first time--a weird magnia login you need to use) and went straight to " slimerver start"--that did it...

i think the modified magnia OS may have been to blame, that and my less than perfect linux skills ;-)

thanx again...

i might be in switzerland this october--if so, i'll drop you a line??

beth

pfarrell
2005-05-26, 21:22
On Thu, 2005-05-26 at 21:19 -0700, phango13 wrote:
> i redeleted everything, rebooted, reinstalled the rpm as root

Many of the linux distros only do RPMs or equivalent
when installed from root. Some give useful error messages,
some packages probably work, and others just get weird.

I generally 'su' when using tools
like rpm, urpmi or apt-get


--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

mherger
2005-05-26, 23:41
> i redeleted everything, rebooted, reinstalled the rpm as root (i think
> i may have tried to install as "telnetuser" the first time--a weird
> magnia login you need to use) and went straight to " slimerver
> start"--that did it...

Let's keep fingers crossed!

> i might be in switzerland this october--if so, i'll drop you a line??

Whenever you want.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)