PDA

View Full Version : data path through the network



shermoid
2005-05-11, 08:53
greetings,

i'm using a network attached storage device to hold FLAC-encoded files, and a pc running debian linux to run the slimserver software. as usual for a NAS device, i'm mounting the filesystem on the linux box.

i've been wondering how slimserver directs the data stream to the squeezebox. in the best case, the server would send the data directly from the NAS box over the network to the squeezebox. in the worst case, the server would first send the data from the NAS box over the network to the pc, and then from the pc back over the network to the squeezebox.

i figured the fine folks at slimdevices would know the route that data would take through a network with NAS storage. has anyone traced this out before?

thanks to all, and best regards,
-sherman

mherger
2005-05-11, 09:01
> in the best case, the server would send the data directly
> from the NAS box over the network to the squeezebox. in the worst
> case, the server would first send the data from the NAS box over the
> network to the pc, and then from the pc back over the network to the
> squeezebox.

It's "worst case" as per your definition. But remember that a NAS is a
storage device, not an application server. And that's how you're using it
- dumb remote storage.

But of course it's often possible to make such a device an application
server: I've worked with Windows 2000 based Dell NASs (with perl
pre-installed), and there are the customer class NAS like the linkstation,
which have successfully been used as slimserver etc. Depending on your
system and your skills you could make it "best case".

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

shermoid
2005-05-11, 11:01
hi michael,

ah! thank you for the word on this. indeed, i am just using the NAS box as dumb remote storage. i'll email the manufacturer (fastora) and ask about a way to make the box an app server, or see if it's possible. i purchased a fastora NAS box specifically because it DOES NOT run windows server 2000, but an embedded version of linux! when you're a dyed-in-the-wool unix guy, windows are only good for throwing things out of. :-)

with luck, i can hack the box, and prevent the data's second trip through the network. if i figure out a decent solution, i will post it under "wiki".

thanks again, and best regards,
-sherm

mherger
2005-05-11, 13:36
> ah! thank you for the word on this. indeed, i am just using the NAS
> box as dumb remote storage. i'll email the manufacturer (fastora) and
> ask about a way to make the box an app server, or see if it's possible.

They won't like you tinkering their "firmware" :-)

> i purchased a fastora NAS box specifically because it DOES NOT run
> windows server 2000, but an embedded version of linux! when you're a
> dyed-in-the-wool unix guy, windows are only good for throwing things
> out of. :-)

If it's Linux, there will be perl, I'm almost sure. Do you have an idea
about its specs?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

shermoid
2005-05-11, 16:44
> If it's Linux, there will be perl, I'm almost sure. Do you have an idea about its specs?


i do have their hardware and software manuals. the specs say it uses a VIA C3 800MHz processor, has 2M of flash for bios, has main memory, and cache built in the processor. there isn't an indication of a "hack point", but there is a compact flash slot.

still waiting to hear back from fastora tech support - let's see what they have to say about this!

best regards,
-sherm