PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver not recognizing changes in mp3 Tags



ekubec
2005-05-11, 08:48
Issue:

I have obtained multiple tracks from the same album, but the album title is slightly different, so slimserver logically assumes it to be separate albums: ie. under Sublime there is "40oz. to freedom" and "40 oz. to freedom" the only difference being the space between "40" and "oz.". I have used EasyTag to edit the tags, saved it, on EasyTag it shows the updated version (I have changed all to "40oz. to freedom") However, even after pressing "Rescan Music" on the Slimserver under Server Settings, it still sees two separate albums.

What gives?

I am using the previous version of slimserver to the latest one.

If I upgrade, will this issue be resolved?

-e

ekubec
2005-05-11, 09:00
BTW:

My system is Linux Fedora Core 3, I use firefox browser, and my music folder is the /home folder, because slimserver couldn't seem to find anything "downstream" of /home

-e

JJZolx
2005-05-11, 10:36
Issue:

I have obtained multiple tracks from the same album, but the album title is slightly different, so slimserver logically assumes it to be separate albums: ie. under Sublime there is "40oz. to freedom" and "40 oz. to freedom" the only difference being the space between "40" and "oz.". I have used EasyTag to edit the tags, saved it, on EasyTag it shows the updated version (I have changed all to "40oz. to freedom") However, even after pressing "Rescan Music" on the Slimserver under Server Settings, it still sees two separate albums.

What gives?

I am using the previous version of slimserver to the latest one.


This is a known "problem" with version 6.0.x. You'll have to do a "wipe cache" (which clears the entire database and rescans from scratch) to get SlimServer to forget the old tag information. Make sure you don't have so much as a single tag with a misspelled artist or album name or you'll still have duplicate entries in the SlimServer database.


If I upgrade, will this issue be resolved?

Couldn't say if this has been fixed yet in the 6.1 trunk. Apparently nobody maintains a list of changes that have been made to that trunk. Or it's not published until the version is released. Not exactly the best way to encourage people to beta test, so expect 6.1 to be about as well tested as 6.0 was upon its release.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=14114
________
screplays (http://screplays.com)

Ben Sandee
2005-05-11, 10:54
>
> Couldn't say if this has been fixed yet in the 6.1 trunk. Apparently
> nobody maintains a list of changes that have been made to that trunk.
> Or it's not published until the version is released. Not exactly the
> best way to encourage people to beta test, so expect 6.1 to be about as
> well tested as 6.0 was upon its release.

You are free to monitor the checkins list if you like to maintain this list..

Ben

kdf
2005-05-11, 11:17
> Couldn't say if this has been fixed yet in the 6.1 trunk. Apparently
> nobody maintains a list of changes that have been made to that trunk.
> Or it's not published until the version is released.

An official changelog is posted near release.

Not exactly the
> best way to encourage people to beta test, so expect 6.1 to be about as
> well tested as 6.0 was upon its release.

subscribe to the checkins mailing list if you want to have an ongoing flow of
info as to what is fixed on a daily basis. Search bugzilla for FIXED bugs and
you can then find the dates and revision number of any fix.

However, those who much prefer griping and moaning, can just ignore me :)

-kdf

Jack Coates
2005-05-11, 11:21
JJZolx wrote:
> ekubec Wrote:
>
>>Issue:
>>
>>I have obtained multiple tracks from the same album, but the album
>>title is slightly different, so slimserver logically assumes it to be
>>separate albums: ie. under Sublime there is "40oz. to freedom" and
>>"40 oz. to freedom" the only difference being the space between "40"
>>and "oz.". I have used EasyTag to edit the tags, saved it, on EasyTag
>>it shows the updated version (I have changed all to "40oz. to freedom")
>>However, even after pressing "Rescan Music" on the Slimserver under
>>Server Settings, it still sees two separate albums.
>>
>>What gives?
>>
>>I am using the previous version of slimserver to the latest one.
>>
>
>
> This is a known "problem" with version 6.0.x. You'll have to do a
> "wipe cache" (which clears the entire database and rescans from
> scratch) to get SlimServer to forget the old tag information. Make
> sure you don't have so much as a single tag with a misspelled artist or
> album name or you'll still have duplicate entries in the SlimServer
> database.
>

You can also navigate all the way down to the track _as described by the
new tag_ to wipe out the old tag. I just used this recently and it does
work.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

ekubec
2005-05-11, 13:56
Thanks for the responses everybody.

The slimserver has rekindled my interest in music and is incredibly cool. I am also a big fan of open source, so I will consider myself to be a contributer rather than just an end user who wants everything to be perfect.

-e

kdf
2005-05-11, 14:35
along the lines of the CUE sheets issue, you will also need to check any
existing playlists that have the #EXTINF tags. Those can also rework the db
since those are read after initial scans.

running from command line like so:
c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_info will let you see all the
tagging activity (and its a lot).

Glad to know you are keen on contributing. If you feel liek jumping in full
speed, I recommend downloading ActivePerl (if you are using windows) and
running slimserver.pl instead of slim.exe. You can make the .pl into a service
using firedaemon. This way, if you start hacking at the code, you can test
your changes. slim.exe requires the Perl Dev Kit, which isn't so freely
available.


-kdf