PDA

View Full Version : Music server - Windows or Linux?

hunta
2005-05-10, 02:39
I've just taken delivery of my SB2 and I'm really pleased with it. Now I want to build a basic machine (I've got a decent spec spare PC lying around) with a wireless connection to shut in a cupboard and leave running as the music server.

I've not really done this sort of thing before, so I'd appreciate some advice. The main decision is whether to install Windows XP or Linux. On the one hand I'll need to buy a licence for XP, and on the other I've never used Linux before and I understand wireless connections can be tricky under Linux, so it might be wise to buy a wireless bridge to connect it to. Then there's the question of security - will I need to buy anti-virus and firewall software, or is there some other way to secure it? As you can tell, I'm hoping to spend as little as possible on this.

Apologies for the simplistic questions, and many thanks for your help.

Regards,

Andrew

street_samurai
2005-05-10, 10:01
My $0.02:

I think it really depends on how much of a learning experience you want out of the installation and whether you want to use that machine to serve anything else.

Linux is great on many levels but does require a deeper understanding about whats going on inside your system. Once you've got it setup and running smoothly... its a dream. But the setup can be tricky. If you go this route, I highly recommend finding a Linux distro with a very good installer. Linux has a very low overhead so your system requirements will be lower than for Windows thus you could easily set the same machine up to be a web, email, and/or ftp server without worrying about performance (assuming the machine is reasonably powerful). Do your homework on wireless cards before you buy one since several brands don't work in Linux. Firewall and Antivirus software are free for linux and typically come bundled with any distro you're likely to download.