PDA

View Full Version : Windows Media Files



FLMike
2005-05-04, 07:57
Are they by any chance copy-protected?
----- Original Message -----
From: "jwgraves" <jwgraves.1oiiq0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Wednesday, May 04, 2005 10:58 AM
Subject: [slim] Windows Media Files


>
> A little help here please. I'm able to get MP3 files to stream no
> problem, but I have over 5000 tracks in WMA format and none of them
> will play in SlimServer.
>
> I see the WMADEC.EXE file in the
> SlimServer/server/Bin/MSWin32-x86-multi-thread/ directory and my
> convert.conf file has the following default entry:
>
> "wma mp3 * *
> [wmadec] -r 44100 -b 16 -n 2 $FILE$ | [lame] -x --resample 44100
> --silent -q $QUALITY$ -b $BITRATE$ - -"
>
> so I look all set to go, but when I access the FileTypes page in
> SlimServer and turn on the "Windows Media...MP3...wmadec/lame" entry
> and click on Change, I get the following error message:
>
> "File Format Conversions 27:
>
> Required binary was not found: [wmadec] -r 44100 -b 16 -n 2 $FILE$ |
> [lame] -x --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ -b $BITRATE$ - -"
>
> What am I doing wrong?
>
> Thanks in advance for any help! It's greatly appreciated!
>
> John
>
>
> --
> jwgraves
>

jwgraves
2005-05-04, 07:58
A little help here please. I'm able to get MP3 files to stream no problem, but I have over 5000 tracks in WMA format and none of them will play in SlimServer.

I see the WMADEC.EXE file in the SlimServer/server/Bin/MSWin32-x86-multi-thread/ directory and my convert.conf file has the following default entry:

"wma mp3 * *
[wmadec] -r 44100 -b 16 -n 2 $FILE$ | [lame] -x --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ -b $BITRATE$ - -"

so I look all set to go, but when I access the FileTypes page in SlimServer and turn on the "Windows Media...MP3...wmadec/lame" entry and click on Change, I get the following error message:

"File Format Conversions 27:

Required binary was not found: [wmadec] -r 44100 -b 16 -n 2 $FILE$ | [lame] -x --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ -b $BITRATE$ - -"

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for any help! It's greatly appreciated!

John

jwgraves
2005-05-04, 08:14
No, they were all ripped from my own CD's and are 64kbps.

FLMike
2005-05-04, 08:14
Double check that the "Protect Content" toggle is not checked under your
preferences. I've accidentally ripped songs with that toggled on, and it
puts WMA copy proteciton on the file. I only discovered it when I moved the
music folder to a new PC and had Windows start refusing to play those files
because it could not locate the license.
----- Original Message -----
From: "jwgraves" <jwgraves.1oijez (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Wednesday, May 04, 2005 11:14 AM
Subject: [slim] Re: Windows Media Files


>
> No, they were all ripped from my own CD's and are 64kbps.
>
>
> --
> jwgraves
>

Craig, James (IT)
2005-05-04, 08:23
Probably you don't have lame[.exe] installed?

64Kbs though!

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

jwgraves
2005-05-04, 08:26
Nope, double-checked, my files are definitely NOT copy protected in any way. Thanks for the idea though.

I'm thinking this has something to do with WMADEC or LAME...any other ideas out there?

Thanks!

jwgraves
2005-05-04, 09:44
Please excuse my ignorance here: I have lame_enc.dll (needed it for some of my ripping software), do I need to have a lame.exe? Never needed that before - not even sure where to find it. Thanks for the response.

Craig, James (IT)
2005-05-04, 09:46
You can find the instructions here
http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#troubleshooting-aacwireless
And here
http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#formats-binarywhere

Which does seem like a weird way of laying it out.
Unless this is covered in the manual?

I think lame.exe is needed to interface with the lame_enc.dll - normally
your ripping software would be doing that.


James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

jwgraves
2005-05-04, 09:56
Problem solved!

Found a copy of "lame.exe" out on the web and just copied it to the /bin directory and my wma files are now working just fine.

Thanks for the help.

John