PDA

View Full Version : Major network problems, please help



Justme
2005-05-04, 00:49
Hi there, I seem to be having major problems connecting to my slimserver.

At first, I could connect and everything was ok, but a couple of days ago it just stopped and now (with the exception of last night for a brief moment) I simply cannot connect.

Here is my setup (winXP).

As I don't have a wireless access point, I am using an Ad-hoc solution. This worked perfectly in the past, but for some reason no more.

I have my Ad-hoc PC D-link adaptor set now as a static IP address, it used to be DHCP, but when the address changed I noticed that the Squeezebox couldn't connect as DHCP only sometimes worked.

I set my IP address on the D-link adaptor as 169.254.84.207 (subnet mask as 255.255.0.0)

When I start up my squeezebox and restart the network search, it finds the wirless network I called "squeeze" (which has encryption). And then it connects.

It then asks for an IP address. I don't use DHCP as that usually doesn't work, so I set an IP as 169.254.84.208 (and same subnet mask as above)

For the default gateway, I have been setting the D-link address (169.254.84.207). Is this correct? It did seem to work in the past

For DNS, I set the dns I found when I done an IPconfig /all for the ISP connection:

It then tells me that it's looking for Slimserver's, and it finds the 169.254.84.207. But when I move forward to get it to connect, it fails to connect and switches off.

I have checked my Services, and slimserver seems to be running (6.0.2), and when I run the Browser interface of Slim server, it say's it can't find my squeezebox. ???

I find this odd, as I have successfully connected to the network (the one I call squeeze), so it can't be an encrytion problem. It then see's the slimserver (by IP address - I presume this is seeing it) but it can't connect.

Has anyone any idea's???

mherger
2005-05-04, 00:57
> At first, I could connect and everything was ok, but a couple of days
> ago it just stopped and now (with the exception of last night for a
> brief moment) I simply cannot connect.

So what did you change in your system's configuration? Any update, new
soft?

> It then tells me that it's looking for Slimserver's, and it finds the
> 169.254.84.207. But when I move forward to get it to connect, it fails
> to connect and switches off.

Do you have a firewall installed and activated (XP comes with an
integrated firewall!). Be sure to check the FAQ about that:
http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#networking-firewall

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Justme
2005-05-04, 01:20
In this case, it all started when I briefly removed my D-link USB adaptor. The wireless transmitter on my PC is a USB device that sit's in a cradle.

After I removed it, and replaced it, Squeezebox couldn't connect anymore.

So, I went back a day on System Restore, and this brought the device back up properly, but only once, on multiple attempts did Squeezebox connect with slimserver.

I had to reinsall Slimserver as well, as it wouldn't startup after the removal of the USB device.

Weird, I wouldn't have thought something so simple as removing a USB adaptor for 5 minutes could cause so much trouble. I guessed at the time that it changed IP addresses when I put it back in, and that the Squeezebox couldn't grap one from DHCP (which seems to happen a lot) but that wasn't the problem ??

So wierd. By the way, I have excellent signal strength in case anyone is wondering.

Robin Bowes
2005-05-06, 14:02
Michael Herger wrote:
>
> Do you have a firewall installed and activated (XP comes with an
> integrated firewall!). Be sure to check the FAQ about that:
> http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#networking-firewall

Hmmm. That's confusing. It says:

You will then need to add three exceptions for these ports by clicking
'Add Port...':

* Port number: 3483 (TCP) - Name: SlimServer Control
* Port number: 3483 (UDP) - Name: SlimDiscovery
* Port Number: 9000 (TCP) - Name: SlimServer Web

And later on on the same page:

You will need to configure your firewall software or hardware to allow
connections to ports 3483, 9000 and 9090 for both UDP and TCP connections.

Which is correct?

R.
--
http://robinbowes.com

Roy Owen
2005-05-06, 14:31
On 5/6/05, Robin Bowes <robin-lists (AT) robinbowes (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> Michael Herger wrote:
> >
> > Do you have a firewall installed and activated (XP comes with an
> > integrated firewall!). Be sure to check the FAQ about that:
> > http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#networking-firewall
>
> Hmmm. That's confusing. It says:
>
> You will then need to add three exceptions for these ports by clicking
> 'Add Port...':
>
> * Port number: 3483 (TCP) - Name: SlimServer Control
> * Port number: 3483 (UDP) - Name: SlimDiscovery
> * Port Number: 9000 (TCP) - Name: SlimServer Web


This is correct for SBG and SoftSqueeze 2.0bx. I Would assume that it is
true for SB2 as well.

And later on on the same page:
>
> You will need to configure your firewall software or hardware to allow
> connections to ports 3483, 9000 and 9090 for both UDP and TCP connections..
>
> Which is correct?
>
> R.
> --
> http://robinbowes.com
>
>

mherger
2005-05-06, 23:09
> You will need to configure your firewall software or hardware to allow
> connections to ports 3483, 9000 and 9090 for both UDP and TCP
> connections.

The additional 9090 is for the CLI (which you don't need in most cases)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)