PDA

View Full Version : Font size in Spectrum Analyzer screensaver



Darren
2005-05-02, 23:15
My compliments to everyone that has contributed to such a great product. I'm loving the internet radio. I haven't even begun to rip my own music. Looking forward to the SqueezeNetwork.

I have been using the Spectrum Analyzer screensaver. I notice the "now playing: song" scrolls by about every 30 seconds. I love this feature but the font size is too small. Can I customize the font size? Scroll rate? If not, will it be in the future? How do I put in a request for a new feature?

I apologize if this is a repeat. I couldn't find anything in the forums.

Thanks,

D

mherger
2005-05-02, 23:26
> I have been using the Spectrum Analyzer screensaver. I notice the "now
> playing: song" scrolls by about every 30 seconds. I love this feature
> but the font size is too small.

In the bottom line of the remote control there's a "size" button where you
can select different sizes.

> Can I customize the font size? Scroll rate?

As I mentioned in an other thread earlier today you can configure almost
anything, but it's sometimes hard to find... You could even create and
include your own fonts.

Open the server's web interface and go to the player settings -> display.

> If not, will it be in the future? How do I put in a request for a
> new feature?

You can add bugs and feature requests on bugs.slimdevices.com (but before
doing so, search the forums and the bugs database if it's not already
there).

Have fun!

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

kdf
2005-05-02, 23:36
Quoting Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>:

> > I have been using the Spectrum Analyzer screensaver. I notice the "now
> > playing: song" scrolls by about every 30 seconds. I love this feature
> > but the font size is too small.
>
> In the bottom line of the remote control there's a "size" button where you
> can select different sizes.

actually, I believe the spectrum analyzer 'screensaver' is hardcoded with that
font size and rate. I suspect that the text in this case is even part of the
firmware. The Vusualizer plugin seems to just set params that are being sent
as a command to the player itself. I dont know what params are available on the
font itself.

-kdf

mherger
2005-05-02, 23:43
> actually, I believe the spectrum analyzer 'screensaver' is hardcoded

Grr... There's always something new to discover. I never used that
screensaver!

I'm sorry for the confusion!

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Darren
2005-05-02, 23:58
[QUOTE=mherger]> actually, I believe the spectrum analyzer 'screensaver' is hardcoded

>>Grr... There's always something new to discover. I never used that
>>screensaver!

>>I'm sorry for the confusion!

Grr...is right. Yeah, I tried the "size" button before I posted. I was hoping it would work. If it's hardcoded, can it be changed? Visualizer.pm file in the Plugins folder? How? Will it be changed in future revs? Hoping.

Thanks for the quick reply.

kdf
2005-05-03, 00:11
Quoting Darren <Darren.1og1tz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:


> > Grr...is right. Yeah, I tried the "size" button before I posted. I
> > was hoping it would work. If it's hardcoded, can it be changed? How?
> > Will it be changed in future revs? Hoping.

as michael pointed out, you should file an enhancement request at
bugs.slimdevices.com so that it doesn't get lost. how long it takes is hard to
say. You have to compete with all the rest who want to point out that their
issue shoultd be top prioriy.

however, if you do file, then its there and you will be notified of any progress
or when the feature is available.

-kdf

Darren
2005-05-03, 08:39
Thanks. I filed an enhancement request.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1487

kdf
2005-05-03, 19:14
Quoting Darren <Darren.1og1tz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> mherger Wrote:
> > > actually, I believe the spectrum analyzer 'screensaver' is hardcoded
> >
> > Grr... There's always something new to discover. I never used that
> > screensaver!
> >
> > I'm sorry for the confusion!
> >
> > Grr...is right. Yeah, I tried the "size" button before I posted. I
> > was hoping it would work. If it's hardcoded, can it be changed? How?
> > Will it be changed in future revs? Hoping.
> >
> > Thanks for the quick reply.

it seems that I was partly wrong. If you look in the player settings->display,
you'll notice a font option for "High" that looks remarkably like the one used
in the screensavers. There is no UI for this, but if you replaced this font
(Graphics/high.2.font.bmp), then presumably you could change the look of that
font.

There is an excellent tool available that converts windows TrueType fonts into
squeezeboxG fonts. i'm not sure if it works to make SB2 fonts (they are higher
resolution), but I believe it's in the works:
http://mylefteye.com/sbgfonts/

-kdf

Darren
2005-05-03, 23:05
I played around with Visulizer.pm file last night. Came up with a combination that sort of works; "'fonts' => ['standard.1','light.1']," the orignal; ['standard.1','high.2']. If I increase the font size, then it doesn't show the rest of the info since it pushes to the left then back. It needs to scroll thru or get rid of "Now Playing". Which I tried to do.

"You can't send a boy to do a man's job". I don't know Perl. That's what I'm assuming this is written out in.

This setup is better than the original. Still not satisfied though. Would like to play around with it more, but I need to find a cheat sheet/cookbook or tool for Perl. Any online or hardcopy suggestions for Dummies would be welcomed.

I was changing the .pm file into .txt to modify. It was kind of kluge. Wouldn't you say. That's DIY in me. Bench tech in a previous life.

D

kdf
2005-05-03, 23:20
On 3-May-05, at 11:05 PM, Darren wrote:
> for Dummies would be welcomed.
>
> I was changing the .pm file into .txt to modify. It was kind of kluge.
> Wouldn't you say. That's DIY in me. Bench tech in a previous life.
>
you can keep them as .pm files. Using windows, try UltraEdit or TextPad
and make sure you stick with unix line endings. if you use unix, Emacs
is nice (vi if you are hardcore)

I would expect it to scroll, but I guess it just moves in then back
out. if all you want to do is remove the Now Playing, then look for
this:

my $screen = {
'fonts' => ['standard.1','high.2'],
'line1' => '',
'line2' => $client->string('NOW_PLAYING') . ': ' .
Slim::Music::Info::getCurrentTitle($client,
Slim::Player::Playlist::song($client)),
}

simply change the 'line2' line to:
'line2' => $client->string(Slim::Music::Info::getCurrentTitle($client,
Slim::Player::Playlist::song($client)),

-kdf

Darren
2005-05-04, 00:27
Didn't work. It killed the Visualizer plugin. First it didn't show up in the UI. Noticed it unchecked itself. Checked it. Bounced hardware & software. Black screen. Need sleep. Will continue tommorow.

Thanks,

D

kdf
2005-05-04, 00:54
ah, yes, sorry. that should have been:

'line2' => Slim::Music::Info::getCurrentTitle($client,
Slim::Player::Playlist::song($client)),


slimserver.pl --d_plugins helps show those kinds of problems on startup.

-kdf

Darren
2005-05-04, 08:47
Cool. It works! Thanks a lot. Now I'll try to modify the "push" to a scrolling effect. Emphasis on try.

Also, thanks for the suggestions on text editors. With some research, I ended up with Notepad++.

Much appreciated,

D

Darren
2005-05-04, 09:38
"'fonts' => ['standard.1','standard.2']," is a nice compromise with "Now Playing" removed.

Anyone else fare better with different combinations?

D

kdf
2005-05-04, 22:07
You may want to consider Michael Herger's MusicInfoSCR plugin. You can
pick from a lot of different info to display. I can't say offhand if
the visualisers are enabled in the background yet, but it should
certainly be possible.

-kdf

mherger
2005-05-04, 22:37
> You may want to consider Michael Herger's MusicInfoSCR plugin. You can
> pick from a lot of different info to display. I can't say offhand if
> the visualisers are enabled in the background yet, but it should
> certainly be possible.

They are. If you put the "now playing" mode to display visualizers, it
will use them. (http://www.herger.net/_data/musicinfo.png) The analog VU
isn't available, though.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

d-mode
2005-05-04, 23:54
I know I read here that you can use multiple Genre tags seperated by a
comma. I have done this with a few files, but now I have another Genre of
'Synthpop,Live' where I expected to see the tagged songs show up in both the
'Synthpop' and 'Live' Genre lists.
Is this the "expected" behaviour, or is this not the way to make this work,
or does this even actually work?
BTW there are VBR mp3 files...

Andrew

Spies
2005-05-05, 07:42
Andrew, for this to work you need to enter a "," in the "Multiple
Items In Tags" field under "Behavior" in "Sever Settings" I would not
recommend using a "," though as it is a common character in tags. I
use a bullet "" myself. Some peolpe have mentioned using "+" and the
description in SlimServer suggests a ";" You can also enter more then
one character in the field such as "+;" and SlimSever will split the
genres and artists accordingly. Hope that helps, Steven

On 5/4/05, d-mode <d-mode (AT) pacbell (DOT) net> wrote:
> I know I read here that you can use multiple Genre tags seperated by a
> comma. I have done this with a few files, but now I have another Genre of
> 'Synthpop,Live' where I expected to see the tagged songs show up in both the
> 'Synthpop' and 'Live' Genre lists.
> Is this the "expected" behaviour, or is this not the way to make this work,
> or does this even actually work?
> BTW there are VBR mp3 files...
>
> Andrew
>
>