PDA

View Full Version : Audio Books and bookmarking



CavesOfTQLT
2005-04-23, 03:47
I've noticed from using Softsqueeze that if you stop a song and then turn the 'unit' off, when you switch it back on again it starts playing that track again from the beginning. This is okay for a four minute music track but if you're listening to a one hour+ audio book you'd want the place where you stop remembering, so that you can carry on from that point later.

Can this be done already (in slimserver, SB2 or via a plug-in), or will this feature need to be implimented?

mherger
2005-04-23, 03:54
> I've noticed from using Softsqueeze that if you stop a song and then
> turn the 'unit' off, when you switch it back on again it starts playing
> that track again from the beginning. This is okay for a four minute
> music track but if you're listening to a one hour+ audio book you'd
> want the place where you stop remembering, so that you can carry on
> from that point later.
>
> Can this be done already (in slimserver, SB2 or via a plug-in), or will
> this feature need to be implimented?

As so many other things this can be found on the plugins page:

http://www.slimdevices.com/dev_plugins.html

....and it's called (surprise!) "Bookmark Plugin".

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

danco
2005-04-23, 04:20
On 23/4/05 at 12:54 pm +0200, Michael Herger wrote
>>I've noticed from using Softsqueeze that if you stop a song and then
>>turn the 'unit' off, when you switch it back on again it starts playing
>>that track again from the beginning. This is okay for a four minute
>>music track but if you're listening to a one hour+ audio book you'd
>>want the place where you stop remembering, so that you can carry on
>>from that point later.
>>
>>Can this be done already (in slimserver, SB2 or via a plug-in), or will
>>this feature need to be implimented?
>
>As so many other things this can be found on the plugins page:
>
>http://www.slimdevices.com/dev_plugins.html
>
>...and it's called (surprise!) "Bookmark Plugin".

Interesting. But does it exist? It's shown on the plugins page, but
(possibly an old page on my system not refreshing properly) links to
a page that does not list this plugin.


Is there still the problem in normal use that a long period of pause
(for instance, pausing to take a phone call, and finding the call
lasts half an hour) when play is resumed goes to the start of the
track rather than from the time when it was paused.
--
Daniel Cohen

CavesOfTQLT
2005-04-23, 05:07
Cheers Michael, guess I scanned the list too quick! Now I feel like a right fool for asking :(

CavesOfTQLT
2005-04-23, 10:14
Yep, Daniel's post does confirm that the 'bookmark' plugin link does NOT link to a page that has it ... so unless somebody can find it I guess my first post was correct - sort of.

mherger
2005-04-23, 12:08
On Sat, 23 Apr 2005 13:20:31 +0200, Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com> wrote:

> On 23/4/05 at 12:54 pm +0200, Michael Herger wrote
>>> I've noticed from using Softsqueeze that if you stop a song and then
>>> turn the 'unit' off, when you switch it back on again it starts playing
>>> that track again from the beginning. This is okay for a four minute
>>> music track but if you're listening to a one hour+ audio book you'd
>>> want the place where you stop remembering, so that you can carry on
>>> from that point later.
>>>
>>> Can this be done already (in slimserver, SB2 or via a plug-in), or will
>>> this feature need to be implimented?
>>
>> As so many other things this can be found on the plugins page:
>>
>> http://www.slimdevices.com/dev_plugins.html
>>
>> ...and it's called (surprise!) "Bookmark Plugin".
>
> Interesting. But does it exist? It's shown on the plugins page, but
> (possibly an old page on my system not refreshing properly) links to a
> page that does not list this plugin.

I never verified... But as it's kdf's plugin I hope he will jump in... kdf?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

kdf
2005-04-23, 13:53
Quoting Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>:

> On Sat, 23 Apr 2005 13:20:31 +0200, Daniel Cohen <danco (AT) f2s (DOT) com> wrote:
>
> > On 23/4/05 at 12:54 pm +0200, Michael Herger wrote
> >>> I've noticed from using Softsqueeze that if you stop a song and then
> >>> turn the 'unit' off, when you switch it back on again it starts playing
> >>> that track again from the beginning. This is okay for a four minute
> >>> music track but if you're listening to a one hour+ audio book you'd
> >>> want the place where you stop remembering, so that you can carry on
> >>> from that point later.
> >>>
> >>> Can this be done already (in slimserver, SB2 or via a plug-in), or will
> >>> this feature need to be implimented?
> >>
> >> As so many other things this can be found on the plugins page:
> >>
> >> http://www.slimdevices.com/dev_plugins.html
> >>
> >> ...and it's called (surprise!) "Bookmark Plugin".
> >
> > Interesting. But does it exist? It's shown on the plugins page, but
> > (possibly an old page on my system not refreshing properly) links to a
> > page that does not list this plugin.
>
> I never verified... But as it's kdf's plugin I hope he will jump in... kdf?
>
it is currently broken for 6.0+ and I haven't had enough time to rework it, so
its not on the page right now.

-kdf

kdf
2005-04-23, 15:08
Quoting Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>:

> > I've noticed from using Softsqueeze that if you stop a song and then
> > turn the 'unit' off, when you switch it back on again it starts playing
> > that track again from the beginning. This is okay for a four minute
> > music track but if you're listening to a one hour+ audio book you'd
> > want the place where you stop remembering, so that you can carry on
> > from that point later.
> >
> > Can this be done already (in slimserver, SB2 or via a plug-in), or will
> > this feature need to be implimented?
>
> As so many other things this can be found on the plugins page:
>
> http://www.slimdevices.com/dev_plugins.html
>
> ...and it's called (surprise!) "Bookmark Plugin".
>

I've just put out an update that seems to work.
-kdf

CavesOfTQLT
2005-04-23, 15:35
Even though I only raised the issue as really a query, thanks for replying and coming up with a possible fix so quickly kdf.

Rob

kdf
2005-04-23, 15:52
Quoting CavesOfTQLT <CavesOfTQLT.1nyqon (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> Even though I only raised the issue as really a query, thanks for
> replying and coming up with a possible fix so quickly kdf.

Thanks for bringing it up. it wasn't big fix, I just didn't get to it right
away, so it got forgotten.

-kdf

Christian Pernegger
2005-04-23, 16:27
> Is there still the problem in normal use that a long period of pause
> (for instance, pausing to take a phone call, and finding the call
> lasts half an hour) when play is resumed goes to the start of the
> track rather than from the time when it was paused.

This afternoon I had this exact situation, i. e. pause during a longer
phone call. After unpausing, the song played for a few seconds, then
stopped.

C.

saltydog4791
2006-02-06, 23:22
I love using this plugin for audiobooks and long podcasts. I was hoping somebody could assist me in button mapping the functionality into my Custom.map. I tried to just do the same as what I did with song scanner but it didn't work. Basically I added the line

0.hold = menu_PLUGIN.Bookmark

but that did not seem to do anything. And I did disable the Favorites plugin also.

Thanks to anyone who can help.

mike

kdf
2006-02-07, 00:40
On 6-Feb-06, at 10:22 PM, saltydog4791 wrote:

>
> I love using this plugin for audiobooks and long podcasts. I was
> hoping
> somebody could assist me in button mapping the functionality into my
> Custom.map. I tried to just do the same as what I did with song
> scanner but it didn't work. Basically I added the line
>
> 0.hold = menu_PLUGIN.Bookmark
>
> but that did not seem to do anything. And I did disable the Favorites
> plugin also.
>
it should work. It does for me. Did you restart the server after
making the change?
if you put this in a custom map, have you selected that map in the
player settings?
-k

saltydog4791
2006-02-08, 00:55
Don't know why but now it's working. Thanks for your prompt reply.

Mike