PDA

View Full Version : What is the status of 6.01



dries
2005-04-22, 00:47
Hello,

I regret very much that I updated my 5.4.1 to 6.0.1
I have some issues with:

artwork (not showing correctly)
Artist names (not showing correctly)
I do the following:
Browse for artist -> select E -> select Epica
I own 2 epica albums so it shows 2 but names are incorrect in fact the names are of albums by another artist: Evergrey
If I then select one of these albums it actually is the Epica album
After a rescan "browse for artist" shows an alfabetic shortcut list all mixed up!
( 1 A B C J C J C D E F E F G F G N H T I J T J M J K L R T M P M N O I O A P C P Q R M R S H O L T S T C U V W Z)


And then there is a small item I miss:
- "schedule a rescan" that was available in 5.4.1

To me it appears that 6.01 is a regular release while it does not have the stability of 5.4.1 (I read a number of issues here regarding e.g. artwork) or is 6.0.1 a Beta release (can't find that anywhere)
Or is it just me having bad luck?
Is there anything I can do to help solve these problems (send in logs or something)

BTW:
I do very much like slimserver and wouldn't want to replace it by anything else (nothing comes close does it?)

Philip Downer
2005-04-22, 01:35
> I regret very much that I updated my 5.4.1 to 6.0.1 I have
> some issues with:
[snip out issues]

I find v6 to work fairly well, although I did have a few issues with
database duplication/ordering at some point. These were fixed by running
'Wipe Cache' instead of the rescan. This option can be found in the web
interface in home/server sttings/performance.

Phil

relen
2005-04-22, 02:20
Some brief observations:
* I find that it helps to restart the server after having done a Wipe Cache.
* The server is quite good at noticing added content with a simple Rescan, but deleted or changed content is often (always?) not spotted.
* I am sure that the '6.0.1 Trunk' version on my Linux server at home has a scheduled rescan capability, but on the Windows version here at home, '6.0.1 2895', I simply can't locate it! I find it a very useful feature, and have it set to do a rescan at 5am, by which time I hope I will not still be awake ripping my CD collection!

--Richard E

mherger
2005-04-22, 02:28
On Fri, 22 Apr 2005 11:20:58 +0200, relen
<relen.1nvv7n (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

> * I find that it helps to restart the server after having done a Wipe
> Cache.
> * The server is quite good at noticing added content with a simple
> Rescan, but deleted or changed content is often (always?) not spotted.
> * I am sure that the '6.0.1 Trunk' version on my Linux server at home
> has a scheduled rescan capability, but on the Windows version here at
> home, '6.0.1 2895', I simply can't locate it! I find it a very useful
> feature, and have it set to do a rescan at 5am, by which time I hope I
> will not still be awake ripping my CD collection!

It's a plugin. Go to the settings and see if it's there.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Dan Sully
2005-04-22, 10:04
* relen shaped the electrons to say...

>* I find that it helps to restart the server after having done a Wipe Cache.

This has been fixed in what will become 6.0.2 & 6.1 - ie the nightly builds.

>* The server is quite good at noticing added content with a simple
>Rescan, but deleted or changed content is often (always?) not spotted.

Deleted and changed content is lazily removed. This will be actively removed
in a future verison.

>* I am sure that the '6.0.1 Trunk' version on my Linux server at home
>has a scheduled rescan capability, but on the Windows version here at
>home, '6.0.1 2895', I simply can't locate it! I find it a very useful
>feature, and have it set to do a rescan at 5am, by which time I hope I
>will not still be awake ripping my CD collection!

It's under Settings->Plugins, which is not the most intuitive place. A rework of the
Rescan/Wipe settings will likely move the scheduled rescan functionality into
that setting pane.

-D
--
<noah> I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not sure.

dries
2005-04-25, 00:40
Restarting the server after wipe cache made my browse artists and browse artwork problems dissappear. I should of course have done that earlier but from here I am not able to restart the server (have to use a shell for that and can only do that at home)

Thanx for your replies!