PDA

View Full Version : Squeeze Network & Other Problems



Slim Pickins
2005-04-19, 01:55
A few things:

1) When the computer running Slim Server is off, I cannot acquire any internet radio from the Squeezebox2 using the remote. When the server is off, the display on Squeezebox2 is blank. I hit power, and it attenpts to connect to slim server and then drops after a few seconds, going blank. No other options exist, other than configuring network settings. Am I missing something?

2) support@slimserver.com is not operational. I've received several daemon message failure notices for it. Anyone know of an active support email address?

3) I definitely have Zone Alarm (free) problems. Randomly, slim server does not want to start up with Zone Alartm running. When I turn off Zone Alarm, the problen goes away completely. But, sometimes, slim server will start up when ZA is loaded. ZA free does not seem to offer the fine-grained control needed to adjust its port settings. (Yes, I've given permissions for all slim devices and software to run through ZA). Any ideas?

Thanks for the help.

SlimP

mherger
2005-04-19, 02:11
On Tue, 19 Apr 2005 10:55:02 +0200, Slim Pickins
<Slim.Pickins.1nqa1z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> 1) When the computer running Slim Server is off, I cannot acquire any
> internet radio from the Squeezebox2 using the remote. When the server
> is off, the display on Squeezebox2 is blank. I hit power, and it
> attenpts to connect to slim server and then drops after a few seconds,
> going blank. No other options exist, other than configuring network
> settings. Am I missing something?

You're missing the introduction of the SqueezeNetwork. I have no idea
about the launch date, though.

> 2) support (AT) slimserver (DOT) com is not operational. I've received several
> daemon message failure notices for it. Anyone know of an active support
> email address?

This is supposed to be the address. Could you post the error message you
get?

> 3) I definitely have Zone Alarm (free) problems. Randomly, slim server
> does not want to start up with Zone Alartm running. When I turn off
> Zone Alarm, the problen goes away completely. But, sometimes, slim
> server will start up when ZA is loaded. ZA free does not seem to offer
> the fine-grained control needed to adjust its port settings. (Yes, I've
> given permissions for all slim devices and software to run through ZA).
> Any ideas?

What ports?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

kdf
2005-04-19, 02:14
Quoting Slim Pickins <Slim.Pickins.1nqa1z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> A few things:
>
> 1) When the computer running Slim Server is off, I cannot acquire any
> internet radio from the Squeezebox2 using the remote. When the server
> is off, the display on Squeezebox2 is blank. I hit power, and it
> attenpts to connect to slim server and then drops after a few seconds,
> going blank. No other options exist, other than configuring network
> settings. Am I missing something?

slimserver controls the squeezebox completely, so when the computer is off, the
display will be blank. Squeezebox2 is capable of running without a server,
eventually, but SqeezeNetwork is not up and running yet. When it is, the
announcement will be made here.

>
> 2) support (AT) slimserver (DOT) com is not operational. I've received several

try support (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com

>
> 3) I definitely have Zone Alarm (free) problems. Randomly, slim server

no ideas on this one. I hated zone alarm and quickly banished from my system.

danco
2005-04-19, 02:47
On 19/4/05 at 1:55 am -0700, Slim Pickins wrote
>1) When the computer running Slim Server is off, I cannot acquire any
>internet radio from the Squeezebox2 using the remote. When the server
>is off, the display on Squeezebox2 is blank. I hit power, and it
>attenpts to connect to slim server and then drops after a few seconds,
>going blank. No other options exist, other than configuring network
>settings. Am I missing something?

No. The ability to get Internet radio without SlimServer running is
not yet implemented, though should be available soon.
--
Daniel Cohen