PDA

View Full Version : No Windows Nightlies 20050417 ARRRRRRRRGGGG!!!!



gharris999
2005-04-17, 09:45
Since I live on the wrong side of the digital divide (only 1/2 dial-up speed
here in the mountains of New Mexico,) I drove 8 miles into town this morning
just so I could download the new nightlies and not spend all day doing it.
But, there don't seem to be any windows zips this morning. What's going on? I
guess this serves me right for not checking first before I drove in. Still,
it's an annoyance.

JJZolx
2005-04-17, 10:11
Since I live on the wrong side of the digital divide (only 1/2 dial-up speed here in the mountains of New Mexico,) I drove 8 miles into town this morning just so I could download the new nightlies and now spend all day doing it. But, there don't seem to be any windows zips this morning. What's going on? I guess this serves me right for not checking first before I drove in. Still, it's an annoyance.

Whoa! Be glad you didn't have to ride the mule through a snowstorm to get the latest nightlies.

Obviously, I'm not the only one frustrated by the problems in SlimServer 6 and hoping that some major fixes make it into the nightly builds.

There was a thread earlier today - the Windows and Mac nightlies will be uploaded later today.
________
herbal health (http://herbalhealthshop.com)

gharris999
2005-04-17, 13:05
JJZolx <JJZolx.1nn7mz@...> writes:

>
> Whoa! Be glad you didn't have to ride the mule through a snowstorm to
> get the latest nightlies.
>

Until two weeks ago, when the snow finally melted, I DID have to ride the mule
through the snowstorms to get the nightlies. And when the mule died, and I had
to burn my snowshoes to keep warm, I ended up having to hibernate in a CAVE!
And eat frozen GRUBS! (an effective weight-loss technique, I might point
out..) All this in the vain hope that someday, possibly, I'll be able to see
the diacritical characters in my flac files.

Ben Sandee
2005-04-17, 15:51
On 4/17/05, Gordon Harris <gharris999 (AT) earthlink (DOT) net> wrote:
> Since I live on the wrong side of the digital divide (only 1/2 dial-up speed
> here in the mountains of New Mexico,) I drove 8 miles into town this morning
> just so I could download the new nightlies and now spend all day doing it..
> But, there don't seem to be any windows zips this morning. What's going on? I
> guess this serves me right for not checking first before I drove in. Still,
> it's an annoyance.

If you want to follow the nightlies and have limited bandwidth you
should use svn and just get the diffs each night. That would work
passably well on even on a 2400baud modem. You can do this against
either the trunk or the 6.0.x branch (or both!).

On days when the nightly builds are broken the svn archive has been
available just fine in my experience. I don't know why so many people
go through the hassle of reinstalling every day; all have to do each
morning is:

svn up
sudo /etc/init.d/slimserver restart

I'm sure there's a similar equivalent on Windows, such as:

svn up
net stop slimservice
net start slimservice

Ben

gharris999
2005-04-17, 17:27
Humm..would that actually work for windows? Does SVN fetch the compiled executables too?

Ben Sandee
2005-04-17, 18:12
On 4/17/05, gharris999 <gharris999.1nnrrz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Humm..would that actually work for windows? Does SVN fetch the compiled
> executables too?

I would guess not, although I don't know that for a fact.

You can easily run it using ActiveState Perl, though I'm again not
sure about running it as a service without the help of some 3rd-party
service-runner apps like firedaemon. If you're running nightlies then
you're likely to get bit by things such as perl stack traces, etc.
that are much easier to see and report when running the non-exe
version.

I did some research and you might be able to use srvany from Microsoft
to do this if you are wedded to the slimserver-as-a-service on Windows
concept.

Here's a pretty good link: http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=197

Ben

Patrick Dixon
2005-04-18, 03:35
"On days when the nightly builds are broken the svn archive has been
available just fine in my experience. I don't know why so many people
go through the hassle of reinstalling every day; all have to do each
morning is:

svn up
sudo /etc/init.d/slimserver restart"

Sounds great in theory, but doesn't seem to be quite as simple as that. Can you point me at a HOWTO that tells me where/how to get a svn client for FC3 and how to configure it so that I can just do 'svn up' - please?

max.spicer
2005-04-18, 04:28
Don't know about FC3, but Subversion is at http://subversion.tigris.org/. Once it's installed, you need to do "svn co <url to svn repos> <where you want to put it>". From then on, you just cd to the directory where you put it and type "svn up[date]" - it will know where to go. Sorry for the skeletal response - I've never used the Slim repository - but it might at least give you some pointers.

max.spicer
2005-04-18, 04:34
A quick click around the Community links at the top of the forums pages shows that the svn url that you're after is probably http://svn.slimdevices.com/trunk/server/. Try "svn co http://svn.slimdevices.com/trunk/server/ <path to where you want it>". You can then cd into <path to where you want it> and do "svn update". "svn status -r" would, I think, tell you if you need to update, but I could be wrong about the -r bit - you need an argument to tell it to check the remote repository rather than just to look at your local copy. "svn help update" will tell you what you want.

Patrick Dixon
2005-04-18, 05:03
Thanks very much, that should keep me busy for a while!

I've got svn by doing a 'yum install perl-SVN-Simple' - I think it came from the dies Repository but I'm not absolutely sure 'cos I spent ages trying to 'yum install svn' and adding more repos when it didn't work.

Patrick Dixon
2005-04-18, 08:00
OK I have done:

svn co http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk /usr/local/slimserver

and it 'A'dds a load of files.

I then do:

svn up http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk /usr/local/slimserver

and it tells me that:
svn: 'http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim' is not a working copy

So I'm stuck.

Jacob Potter
2005-04-18, 08:07
On 4/18/05, Patrick Dixon
<Patrick.Dixon.1nowab (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> I then do:
>
> svn up http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk
> /usr/local/slimserver

After you've run "svn co", you don't need to specifiy the URL. Just run:

svn up /usr/local/slimserver

- Jacob

mherger
2005-04-18, 08:08
On Mon, 18 Apr 2005 17:00:19 +0200, Patrick Dixon
<Patrick.Dixon.1nowab (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> OK I have done:
>
> svn co http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk
> /usr/local/slimserver
>
> and it 'A'dds a load of files.
>
> I then do:
>
> svn up http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk
> /usr/local/slimserver
>
> and it tells me that:
> svn: 'http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim' is not a working copy

You have to do

svn up /usr/local/slimserver

because you want to update your copy, don't you?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Patrick Dixon
2005-04-18, 08:20
Obvious, isn't it? - thanks!

Isn't there a joke about svn up and some dwarfs? Or am I thinking of something completely different?

So to summarise:

Setup
-----
yum install perl-SVN-Simple
svn co http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk /usr/local/slimserver

Updates
-------
svn up /usr/local/slimserver
service slimserver restart

max.spicer
2005-04-23, 03:14
Having just used Subversion to get the 6.0.x branch, I can now tell you that the command you want is:
svn co http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/branches/BRANCH_6_0_x/server <dir>

Dir is the directory that you want to create to contain the code. Took me a while to find this as the url to browse this same code in your web browser is http://svn.slimdevices.com/branches/BRANCH_6_0_x/server - note the missing repos/slim bit!

Thought I'd just post this here in case it was useful to someone else! I suppose it should really be in the WIKI - who knows, it probably is already. ;-)

Patrick Dixon
2005-04-23, 04:27
I think you should put it all in the wiki Max ;-)

A couple of other points:

The subversion uses /usr/local/slimserver/server whereas the rpm I was previously using uses /usr/local/slimserver.

This has to be reflected by editing /sys/config/slimserver otherwise the daemon script doesn't work. AlienBBC also has to be extracted to /usr/local/slimserver/server rather than /usr/local/slimserver as per the AlienBBC install instructions.

My slimserver installation runs using the user slimserver:slimserver: when updating the subversion, I have to use sudo svn up, otherwise I have a problem with permissions on the slimserver directories. This has the side effect that any subversion updates belong to root:root, so I do a chown -R slimserver:slimserver /usr/local/slimserver to put everything back under slimserver ownership. There's probably a better way, but I'm a *nix innocent, and it was the best I could do without writing a C program and setting the uid.

max.spicer
2005-04-23, 05:22
Doesn't it just depend on what level you check out? I checked out http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/branches/BRANCH_6_0_x/server to /usr/local/slimserver_v6.0.x. I keep a simlink from /usr/local/slimserver to whatever I want to run so I don't have to change any init scripts or config files.

I notice having written that last post that all the information I needed had already been added to this thread anyway - not quite sure how I missed it!

Whilst I'm here, how do you control the ownership of files that come from svn? I've chowned the tree to slimserver:slimserver, but any files that get added when I do an update will assumedly be root:root (or whatever). Do I need to chown manually, or can I configure something cunning?

Richie
2005-04-23, 06:32
Looks like they've gone missing again, these are all available:

SlimServer_v2005-04-23.dmg
SlimServer_v2005-04-23.no-cpan-arch.tar.gz
SlimServer_v2005-04-23.tar.gz
[DIR] SlimServer_v2005-04-23
slimserver-2005_04_23-1.noarch.rpm

but no windows exe.

Richard

On 4/17/05, Gordon Harris <gharris999 (AT) earthlink (DOT) net> wrote:
> Since I live on the wrong side of the digital divide (only 1/2 dial-up speed
> here in the mountains of New Mexico,) I drove 8 miles into town this morning
> just so I could download the new nightlies and now spend all day doing it..
> But, there don't seem to be any windows zips this morning. What's going on? I
> guess this serves me right for not checking first before I drove in. Still,
> it's an annoyance.
>
>

Patrick Dixon
2005-04-23, 07:19
Doesn't it just depend on what level you check out? I checked out http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/branches/BRANCH_6_0_x/server to /usr/local/slimserver_v6.0.x. I keep a simlink from /usr/local/slimserver to whatever I want to run so I don't have to change any init scripts or config files.

I guess it does - I used
svn co http://svn.slimdevices.com/repos/slim/trunk /usr/local/slimserver
but I guess I could have put it in /usr/local/slimserver6.1 and used a simlink as you've done.

../slimserver/server seems to be the default install for Windows - so maybe they'll all end up there anyway.

Is it possible to suid svn and own it slimserver:slimserver ? - that might sort the permissions problem out. Linux security won't let you create a suid script, so that's not a solution.