PDA

View Full Version : SB2 missing end of FLAC files



radish
2005-04-16, 11:47
The majority of the music I listen to is from CDs with mixed tracks - so any gap or glitch at track change is very noticable. With my old SB I transcoded everything (flac & vorbis) to PCM and it played perfectly every time - never a gap or stutter. Now with my SB2, it seems to have issues with some files. I have it set up to stream as flac, so flac files are left alone (I disabled the flac/flac transcode option) and Vorbis is transcoded via sox/flac. I have yet to find an issue with Vorbis albums, but some (not all) of my flac ones glitch on track change. It's hard to tell exactly what happens, but it sounds as if the last 1/2 second or so from each track is cut off. Playing the same tracks back in Winamp, or on my SB1 (transcoding to PCM) sounds perfect.

Any ideas? All the flac tracks were encoded with the same version of flac, I'm running 6.0.1 (2895) on XP. Crossfade is disabled on the SB2, as is player sync.

jth
2005-04-24, 06:25
If you use single-album flac files with external cue sheets, it is possible to lose 1/100 of a second of audio at the end of a track because of a rounding issue. Most people shouldn't notice this though ...

max.spicer
2005-04-24, 06:27
If you use single-album flac files with external cue sheets, it is possible to lose 1/100 of a second of audio at the end of a track because of a rounding issue. Most people shouldn't notice this though ...
1/100th of a second??? I'd ask for my money back if I were you! ;-)

radish
2005-04-24, 09:03
These are not single album files, they're file-per-track, and it's a lot more that 1/100th. It's a big enough skip that the music skips a beat, and it sounds bad. As I said, this only happens when playing flac to the SB2, the SB1 transcoding to pcm is fine, and every other software player (winamp, foobar, etc) it also fine with these files. Even the SB2 seems to work if I transcode the flac to some other formate before playing.

Ben Sandee
2005-04-24, 10:11
On 4/24/05, radish <radish.1o032c (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> These are not single album files, they're file-per-track, and it's a lot
> more that 1/100th. It's a big enough skip that the music skips a beat,
> and it sounds bad. As I said, this only happens when playing flac to
> the SB2, the SB1 transcoding to pcm is fine, and every other software
> player (winamp, foobar, etc) it also fine with these files. Even the
> SB2 seems to work if I transcode the flac to some other formate before
> playing.

Radish,

IMHO, you should file a bug at http://bugs.slimdevices.com and/or
contact slim devices tech support directly. It doesn't seem like many
other people are seeing this problem.

Ben

PAUL WILLIAMSON
2005-04-24, 15:41
>>> max.spicer.1nzvw0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com 04/24/05 9:27 AM >>>
> > jth Wrote:
> > If you use single-album flac files with external cue sheets, it is
> > possible to lose 1/100 of a second of audio at the end of a track
> > because of a rounding issue. Most people shouldn't notice this
though
> > ...
> 1/100th of a second??? I'd ask for my money back if I were you! ;-)

Odds are it was free (flac that is) in the first place, so I'm quite
confident
he'll be able to get 100% of his money back! LOL...

Paul

max.spicer
2005-04-25, 02:14
>>> max.spicer.1nzvw0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com 04/24/05 9:27 AM >>>> 1/100th of a second??? I'd ask for my money back if I were you! ;-)

Odds are it was free (flac that is) in the first place, so I'm quite
confident
he'll be able to get 100% of his money back! LOL...

Paul
Careful, I wasn't trying to say anything against the original poster's problem. I'm not doubting that he is experiencing problems that are very real. I was simply amused by the error that meant that some people could miss 1/100th of a second from the end of the FLAC file. This is, I imagine, an entirely different problem to that of the poster's. I wasn't trying to flame!

PAUL WILLIAMSON
2005-04-25, 05:17
>>> max.spicer.1o1eqz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com 04/25/05 5:14 AM >>>
> > Odds are it was free (flac that is) in the first place, so I'm
quite
> > confident he'll be able to get 100% of his money back! LOL...
> >
> > Paul
> Careful, I wasn't trying to say anything against the original
> poster's problem. I'm not doubting that he is experiencing
> problems that are very real. I was simply amused by the
> error that meant that -some- people could miss 1/100th of
> a second from the end of the FLAC file. This is, I imagine,
> an entirely different problem to that of the poster's. I wasn't
> trying to flame!

It wasn't my intent nor did I take it that way. I know there
are frustrating little things that crop up from time to time,
and having a slight cut (due to rounding) at the end of a
track could be quite maddening if you're trying to get
gapless playback.

Paul

radish
2005-04-25, 21:28
Guys,

Thanks for your advice - I've posted a bug:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1434

Also thanks for understanding :) I know many people just listen to one-song-at-a-time albums and so to them gapless is unimportant, but for the music I listen to it's essential. As a DJ the transition between tracks is almost more important than the tracks themselves and when I'm listening to stuff I've recorded (or just relaxing) the jarring of a skipped beat is painful!

Anyway hopefully it can get cleared up soon.

chrisal
2005-04-26, 06:08
Radish - keep us posted on your progress - this is a crucial feature for me too. I haven't got an SB2 yet so this could be a show stopper if it's a widespread bug.

Does anyone actually have this working successfully?

radish
2005-04-26, 06:56
Will do. It does work sometimes, it's just not reliable. From what I can tell it works most often when the source file is not flac, and works least often when it is. It also seems to be consistent with tracks - a given album either will always work or will never work.

vidurapparao
2005-04-26, 08:39
chrisal wrote:

>Radish - keep us posted on your progress - this is a crucial feature for
>me too. I haven't got an SB2 yet so this could be a show stopper if it's
>a widespread bug.
>
>Does anyone actually have this working successfully?
>
>
>
Yes - gapless playback of FLAC files on SB2 is a working and tested
feature. I suspect that the problem radish is hitting is related to
another bug that he's also seeing
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1289. Still working on that one.

--Vidur

chrisal
2005-09-07, 03:35
chrisal wrote:

>Radish - keep us posted on your progress - this is a crucial feature for
>me too. I haven't got an SB2 yet so this could be a show stopper if it's
>a widespread bug.
>
>Does anyone actually have this working successfully?
>
>
>
Yes - gapless playback of FLAC files on SB2 is a working and tested
feature. I suspect that the problem radish is hitting is related to
another bug that he's also seeing
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1289. Still working on that one.

--Vidur

BTW I just got and SB2 yesterday and I can confirm that flac works gaplessly for me. Can I also add that this thing is just awesome....!

radish
2005-09-07, 07:01
I'm not denying it's awesomeness :) But there is still sometimes a problem at track transitions with native FLAC (transcoding to WAV is fine). It's NOT a gap, it's a skip, and I'm not the only person who hears it (thankfully).

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1434

moobaa
2005-09-07, 16:30
I'm not denying it's awesomeness :) But there is still sometimes a problem at track transitions with native FLAC (transcoding to WAV is fine). It's NOT a gap, it's a skip, and I'm not the only person who hears it (thankfully).

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1434

I concur wholeheartedly with this... Yes, the SB2 is awesome, and yes, there is an issue with FLAC track transitions.

Also: yes, there is a workaround, but at the expense of ffwd/rwnd functionality (and server transcoding load). Is there an ETA on the fix for this?

kdf
2005-09-07, 16:40
Quoting moobaa <moobaa.1v0ikb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> radish Wrote:
> > I'm not denying it's awesomeness :) But there is still sometimes a
> > problem at track transitions with native FLAC (transcoding to WAV is
> > fine). It's NOT a gap, it's a skip, and I'm not the only person who
> > hears it (thankfully).
> >
> > http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1434
>
> I concur wholeheartedly with this... Yes, the SB2 is awesome, and yes,
> there is an issue with FLAC track transitions.
>
> Also: yes, there is a workaround, but at the expense of ffwd/rwnd
> functionality (and server transcoding load). Is there an ETA on the
> fix for this?

The bug is still targetted for 6.2, so as long as that lasts it would seem that
the intent is to have a fix by october(ish). In the end, however, it either
works or it doesn't and the schedule could always slip.
-k

moobaa
2005-09-07, 17:05
The bug is still targetted for 6.2, so as long as that lasts it would seem that
the intent is to have a fix by october(ish). In the end, however, it either
works or it doesn't and the schedule could always slip.
-k

Fantastic, thanks for the info :)