PDA

View Full Version : Graphics format change on version 6.0.1?



Arnon Meshoulam
2005-04-16, 08:16
I have just upgraded to 6.01 from a 5.x version. I have a few graphic
files I wrote myself - to support international languages, whichd now
aren't recognized by the gui.
If I hardcode them in the prefs file, they come out corrupt.

I used the wonderful GUI tool that someone wrote (can't remember the name).
Has the format changed in version 6.0

BTW, tested both on SoftSqueeze and on two SB v1.0

Arnon

bobv
2005-04-16, 09:47
Arnon Meshoulam wrote:
> I have just upgraded to 6.01 from a 5.x version. I have a few graphic
> files I wrote myself - to support international languages, whichd now
> aren't recognized by the gui.
> If I hardcode them in the prefs file, they come out corrupt.
>
> I used the wonderful GUI tool that someone wrote (can't remember the name).
> Has the format changed in version 6.0
>
> BTW, tested both on SoftSqueeze and on two SB v1.0

Arnon,

I'm rewriting the convertor from scratch, to support 2bbp
(mmm, font smoothing) and other goodies.

In the meantime, a quick-n-dirty modified version of the
old convertor (which supports the increased height of the
new display, but is still 1bpp/monochrome) is here:

http://www.mylefteye.com/sbgfonts/TtfSbTmp.zip

-bob

arnonm
2005-04-16, 09:57
bobv wrote:
> Arnon Meshoulam wrote:
>
>> I have just upgraded to 6.01 from a 5.x version. I have a few graphic
>> files I wrote myself - to support international languages, whichd now
>> aren't recognized by the gui.
>> If I hardcode them in the prefs file, they come out corrupt.
>>
>> I used the wonderful GUI tool that someone wrote (can't remember the
>> name).
>> Has the format changed in version 6.0
>>
>> BTW, tested both on SoftSqueeze and on two SB v1.0
>
>
> Arnon,
>
> I'm rewriting the convertor from scratch, to support 2bbp
> (mmm, font smoothing) and other goodies.
>
> In the meantime, a quick-n-dirty modified version of the
> old convertor (which supports the increased height of the
> new display, but is still 1bpp/monochrome) is here:
>
> http://www.mylefteye.com/sbgfonts/TtfSbTmp.zip
>
> -bob
Thanks bob. Will give it a try.

Arnon

arnonm
2005-04-16, 10:08
bobv wrote:
> Arnon Meshoulam wrote:
>
>> I have just upgraded to 6.01 from a 5.x version. I have a few graphic
>> files I wrote myself - to support international languages, whichd now
>> aren't recognized by the gui.
>> If I hardcode them in the prefs file, they come out corrupt.
>>
>> I used the wonderful GUI tool that someone wrote (can't remember the
>> name).
>> Has the format changed in version 6.0
>>
>> BTW, tested both on SoftSqueeze and on two SB v1.0
>
>
> Arnon,
>
> I'm rewriting the convertor from scratch, to support 2bbp
> (mmm, font smoothing) and other goodies.
>
> In the meantime, a quick-n-dirty modified version of the
> old convertor (which supports the increased height of the
> new display, but is still 1bpp/monochrome) is here:
>
> http://www.mylefteye.com/sbgfonts/TtfSbTmp.zip
>
> -bob
Bob,

While I don't have a concrete answre about the font itself, the Web
interface is not picking it up. --d_graphics shows that the font is
being parsed, but it does not appear in the Display menu. (Yes, server
was restarted). Any clues?

Arnon

bobv
2005-04-16, 14:31
> Bob,
>
> While I don't have a concrete answre about the font itself, the Web
> interface is not picking it up. --d_graphics shows that the font is
> being parsed, but it does not appear in the Display menu. (Yes, server
> was restarted). Any clues?

I was working off an older dev tree that had no problem here,
but I just tried to 6.0.1, and experienced the same thing.
Until it's resolved, the easiest thing to do is edit your
slimserver.pref file and add lines akin to:

20:e9:53:ff:ee:dd-activeFont3 = tahoma

(using your mac address, and next available activeFont# -- just
copy/paste the last activeFont entry and edit accordingly. and
of course, down your slimserver before making the edits...)

-bob

dean
2005-04-18, 08:48
Arnon,

Can you post an example file to the list or send it to me directly?

Thanks,

dean

On Apr 16, 2005, at 8:16 AM, Arnon Meshoulam wrote:

> I have just upgraded to 6.01 from a 5.x version. I have a few graphic
> files I wrote myself - to support international languages, whichd now
> aren't recognized by the gui.
> If I hardcode them in the prefs file, they come out corrupt.
>
> I used the wonderful GUI tool that someone wrote (can't remember the
> name).
> Has the format changed in version 6.0
>
> BTW, tested both on SoftSqueeze and on two SB v1.0
>
> Arnon
>
>

arnonm
2005-04-18, 12:55
dean blackketter wrote:
> Arnon,
>
> Can you post an example file to the list or send it to me directly?
>
> Thanks,
>
> dean
>
> On Apr 16, 2005, at 8:16 AM, Arnon Meshoulam wrote:
>
>> I have just upgraded to 6.01 from a 5.x version. I have a few graphic
>> files I wrote myself - to support international languages, whichd now
>> aren't recognized by the gui.
>> If I hardcode them in the prefs file, they come out corrupt.
>>
>> I used the wonderful GUI tool that someone wrote (can't remember the
>> name).
>> Has the format changed in version 6.0
>>
>> BTW, tested both on SoftSqueeze and on two SB v1.0
>>
>> Arnon
>>
>>

dean
2005-04-18, 17:20
On Apr 18, 2005, at 12:55 PM, Arnon Meshoulam wrote:
> Yes, if you could provide the email. I have tested the manual change
> in prefs to overcome the interface limitation, but get a blank screen
> with SB1 when I try the font.
Sorry: dean (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com

thanks!