PDA

View Full Version : Stutter with SB2 and ss6.0 -- Broadcast?



John Stimson
2005-04-12, 22:06
I have a Linksys 10/100 5-port network switch to which I have connected my server, my Squeezebox2, and two Win98 PCs.

PC #2 has an SMC EtherEZ ISA 10Mbps ethernet card. When it is turned on, then after about 5-10 minutes, the audio coming out of the SB2 stutters, and continues to do so until the network cable to that PC is unplugged. The cable can be plugged back in, and it's another 5-10 minutes before the stuttering comes back. I am not sure why there would be any interaction between that PC and the operation of the SB2 (which only needs 0.7% of my 100Mbps network bandwidth, or 7% of the bandwidth between the switch and PC #2). This happens when nothing else is going on over the network, and when PC #2 is completely idle.

I have noticed that all the activity LEDs on the switch blink synchronously when the SB2 is running, which indicates to me that the stream from the server is a broadcast, not point to point. I had an original SB for a while, running slimserver 5.6, and I'm pretty sure that it ran point to point, not showing activity on any of the other devices on the network. I don't know if that is related, although if slimerver 6.0 to the SB2 ran point to point it's unlikely that PC #2 would interact with it.

John Hernandez
2005-04-13, 08:43
John Stimson wrote:
> I have a Linksys 10/100 5-port network switch to which I have connected
> my server, my Squeezebox2, and two Win98 PCs.
>
> PC #2 has an SMC EtherEZ ISA 10Mbps ethernet card. When it is turned
> on, then after about 5-10 minutes, the audio coming out of the SB2
> stutters, and continues to do so until the network cable to that PC is
> unplugged. The cable can be plugged back in, and it's another 5-10
> minutes before the stuttering comes back. I am not sure why there
> would be any interaction between that PC and the operation of the SB2
> (which only needs 0.7% of my 100Mbps network bandwidth, or 7% of the
> bandwidth between the switch and PC #2). This happens when nothing
> else is going on over the network, and when PC #2 is completely idle.
>
> I have noticed that all the activity LEDs on the switch blink
> synchronously when the SB2 is running, which indicates to me that the
> stream from the server is a broadcast, not point to point. I had an
> original SB for a while, running slimserver 5.6, and I'm pretty sure
> that it ran point to point, not showing activity on any of the other
> devices on the network. I don't know if that is related, although if
> slimerver 6.0 to the SB2 ran point to point it's unlikely that PC #2
> would interact with it.
>

I wouldn't place too much faith in the Linksys activity lights. Mine
behave strangely too, almost as if it were a hub rather than a switch.
Other than the initial routine to locate the server, the bulk of traffic
should be unicast. Did you ever have slimserver running on PC #2? If
so, make sure it's not running now.

Another possibility is that something running on your PC #2 is flooding
the network with (broadcast?) packets. Try running a sniffer to isolate
the nature of the traffic. Or you could kill processes on PC #2 until
the problem goes away.

It could also be a hardware problem. Try replacing PC #2's cable.

John Stimson
2005-04-13, 16:00
That's the thing...when I had a SB1 with slimserver 5.6, I am almost certain that only the activity lights for the server and the SB were blinking when everything else was idle. I didn't have the stuttering problem then, either. PC #2 had never been the server, it's just a dumb Win98 web-surfing box for my housemate.

I agree. The communication between the SB2 and the server *should be* unicast, but it doesn't appear to be.

I will check for background processes running on PC #2, but I set it up and unless my housemate has inadvertently installed spyware (she's very careful about that and has just as much opportunity to do so on PC #1) it's not running anything that PC#1 isn't running. PC#1 has no influence on the problem...