PDA

View Full Version : Dropouts with softsqueeze playing FLAC?



Christian Pernegger
2005-04-11, 12:00
I'm trying softsqueeze for the first time, and I definitely noticed a
few dropouts when playing FLAC. My version is the one included with
Slimserver 6.1 trunk, jre 1.5.0_01 with Firefox under Windows XP. The
computer is connected to the server over GigE. My actual sb2 is
wireless and has no dropouts.

C.

max.spicer
2005-04-11, 13:07
I get dropouts as well. This is running SoftSqueeze 2.0b3 with SlimServer 6.01. SlimServer is running on a dedicated server connected (currently) via a 100Mb crossover. It's not so bad as to be a huge problem, but I'd definitely be upset if my SB2 ever does this. I'll let you know when/if it (ever) arrives... :-(

Christian Pernegger
2005-04-11, 14:01
> You should not get any dropouts with the latest version, unless your
> hardware is underpowered. What is the cpu usage like on the machine
> running Softsqueeze?

2x Opteron 240, 2 GB RAM, doing nothing but Softsqueeze and Firefox
with Slimserver and a few other tabs open at the time - 0-3% cpu usage
on one of the CPUs.

> I would like to understand more what causes the dropout's you are
> seeing. If possible could install Softsqueeze using the zip file version
> from Sourceforge, and then run it from the command prompt using 'java
> -verbosegc -jar SoftSqueeze.jar'. Do the dropouts happen at the same
> time '[Full GC ...]' is displayed in the command window?

Sure, first thing tomorrow morning.

C.

rtitmuss
2005-04-11, 14:01
Christian Pernegger wrote:

>I'm trying softsqueeze for the first time, and I definitely noticed a
>few dropouts when playing FLAC. My version is the one included with
>Slimserver 6.1 trunk, jre 1.5.0_01 with Firefox under Windows XP. The
>computer is connected to the server over GigE. My actual sb2 is
>wireless and has no dropouts.
>
>
You should not get any dropouts with the latest version, unless your
hardware is underpowered. What is the cpu usage like on the machine
running Softsqueeze?

I would like to understand more what causes the dropout's you are
seeing. If possible could install Softsqueeze using the zip file version
from Sourceforge, and then run it from the command prompt using 'java
-verbosegc -jar SoftSqueeze.jar'. Do the dropouts happen at the same
time '[Full GC ...]' is displayed in the command window?

Thanks,
Richard

max.spicer
2005-04-11, 14:10
You should not get any dropouts with the latest version, unless your
hardware is underpowered. What is the cpu usage like on the machine
running Softsqueeze?
Ah, you may have me there. I've been spending a lot of time ripping and encoding to FLAC recently. That said, I think I remember it "dropping out" when I was doing nothing but running SoftSqueeze. Please don't waste any time on my report until I get a chance to verify it properly - I was a bit hasty with that post!

Christian Pernegger
2005-04-21, 12:27
> I would like to understand more what causes the dropout's you are
> seeing. If possible could install Softsqueeze using the zip file version
> from Sourceforge, and then run it from the command prompt using 'java
> -verbosegc -jar SoftSqueeze.jar'.

Sorry this took me a million years ... I haven't been using
softsqueeze in a while and just forgot. FWIW, I still get dropouts
with the version included in 6.1-trunk. Console "log" (last few lines
copypasted) is for most recent sourceforge .zip version, though. In
the meantime I've discovered how to enable a buffer %age on my
physical sb2 - it only goes below 100% at song changes.

> Do the dropouts happen at the same time '[Full GC ...]' is displayed [...]

No.

When a dropout occurred I switched to the player ASAP and hit pause,
then copied as many lines from the console window as were still
visible. Thus the dropout should be close to the end of the file - I
couldn't see anything special though.

C.