PDA

View Full Version : Daytime screensaver wierdness on SB2



rephlex
2005-04-10, 13:13
I'm running the daytime screensaver when my SB2 is turned off. This morning the time it displayed was off by at least three hours and one second took more like 5 seconds to turn which is prolly why it was three hours behind. When I turned the SB2 on, the time started racing and setting itself to the actual time before turning on the box. How does the daytime screensaver work ? Does the screensaver run totally independent from SlimServer within the SB2 ? How can it get so out of sync with the actual time ?

-MarcW

kdf
2005-04-10, 13:18
Quoting rephlex <rephlex.1nahaz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I'm running the daytime screensaver when my SB2 is turned off. This
> morning the time it displayed was off by at least three hours and one
> second took more like 5 seconds to turn which is prolly why it was
> three hours behind. When I turned the SB2 on, the time started racing
> and setting itself to the actual time before turning on the box. How
> does the daytime screensaver work ? Does the screensaver run totally
> independent from SlimServer within the SB2 ? How can it get so out of
> sync with the actual time ?

display updates are done on demand. no demand, no update. looks like these got
queued up. there was an issue with the screensaver not working when SB2 was
off. It was reported as bug 1151, and fixed March 25. what version of the
server are you using?

-kdf

rephlex
2005-04-10, 16:19
Running 6.0.1 with Firmware 9.

Simon Still
2005-04-11, 03:43
On Apr 11, 2005 12:19 AM, rephlex
<rephlex.1napvb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Running 6.0.1 with Firmware 9.

I saw this over the weekend as well (running 6.01) so it looks like
the bug is still there somewhere.

dean
2005-04-11, 08:58
Is it possible that your computer went to sleep or your network lost connectivity during this time?

rephlex
2005-04-11, 10:43
Both my server and my router are online 24/7. The wierd thing is that the clock on the SB2 was progressing but instead of taking one second to advance one second it took more like 5 seconds. Very strange. Haven't seen the behaviour since.

-MarcW