PDA

View Full Version : MusicMagic quirks and a question



Charles Stanton
2005-04-08, 16:27
I noticed some odd behaviour when setting up the MusicMagic plugin.
6.0x 4/8/nightly on XP Pro. Basically Slimserver does not accept the
following settings except after repeated attempts (its as if it was
reluctant...):

On the main server settings page, I will click use MusicMagic. Things
work during that instance of the server running. Next time I start
the service (either by rebooting or restarting the service under
computer management), it reverts back 'do not use musicmagic.' So I
tell it to 'use musicmagic' again - and same behaviour. On the third
or fourth attempt, it took. This behaviour is repeatable -- it put
Slimserver on another machine (also XP Pro) and the same thing
happened.

A similar pattern on the plugin settings. I'll check for slimserver
to use musicmagic and it simply will not register on the first few
attempts. After clicking change it comes back unchecked. After
numerous attempts, it will be OK, but it is not predicable or terribly
reliable. I also noticed that the musicmagic plugin generally seems
to work better (that is Slimserver recognizes it better) if 'load
plugins on the fly' is set.

My question is: how do you create musicmagic mixes from the players display?

Thx.

kdf
2005-04-08, 16:37
Quoting Charles Stanton <shaboyi (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> I noticed some odd behaviour when setting up the MusicMagic plugin.
> 6.0x 4/8/nightly on XP Pro. Basically Slimserver does not accept the
> following settings except after repeated attempts (its as if it was
> reluctant...):
>
> On the main server settings page, I will click use MusicMagic. Things
> work during that instance of the server running. Next time I start
> the service (either by rebooting or restarting the service under
> computer management), it reverts back 'do not use musicmagic.' So I
> tell it to 'use musicmagic' again - and same behaviour. On the third
> or fourth attempt, it took. This behaviour is repeatable -- it put
> Slimserver on another machine (also XP Pro) and the same thing
> happened.

c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_plugins
the musicmagic integration will only work if the server can get a valid response
from the musicmagic api. the above command from a command prompt will run
slimserver showing all plugin debug output.

>
> A similar pattern on the plugin settings. I'll check for slimserver
> to use musicmagic and it simply will not register on the first few
> attempts. After clicking change it comes back unchecked. After
> numerous attempts, it will be OK, but it is not predicable or terribly
> reliable. I also noticed that the musicmagic plugin generally seems
> to work better (that is Slimserver recognizes it better) if 'load
> plugins on the fly' is set.
>
> My question is: how do you create musicmagic mixes from the players display?

when you see the m icon in the top right, press and hold play. you will then
just into the mixer, or be given a choice of mixers if more than one option is
available.

-kdf

Charles Stanton
2005-04-08, 16:49
thanks. so i should run the debug to see what is happening? if i do,
what should i do with the debug output?

One further question - my experience has been if the api is not there
at all (either the api service is not started in musicmagic or
musicmagic is not started up at all), then the option to use or not
use musicmagic on the main server settings page is not even there. So
by this logic, ss is seeing that the api is there, no? so i don't
understand why telling ss to use mm would not take.

On Apr 8, 2005 7:37 PM, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> Quoting Charles Stanton <shaboyi (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:
>
> > I noticed some odd behaviour when setting up the MusicMagic plugin.
> > 6.0x 4/8/nightly on XP Pro. Basically Slimserver does not accept the
> > following settings except after repeated attempts (its as if it was
> > reluctant...):
> >
> > On the main server settings page, I will click use MusicMagic. Things
> > work during that instance of the server running. Next time I start
> > the service (either by rebooting or restarting the service under
> > computer management), it reverts back 'do not use musicmagic.' So I
> > tell it to 'use musicmagic' again - and same behaviour. On the third
> > or fourth attempt, it took. This behaviour is repeatable -- it put
> > Slimserver on another machine (also XP Pro) and the same thing
> > happened.
>
> c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_plugins
> the musicmagic integration will only work if the server can get a valid response
> from the musicmagic api. the above command from a command prompt will run
> slimserver showing all plugin debug output.
>
> >
> > A similar pattern on the plugin settings. I'll check for slimserver
> > to use musicmagic and it simply will not register on the first few
> > attempts. After clicking change it comes back unchecked. After
> > numerous attempts, it will be OK, but it is not predicable or terribly
> > reliable. I also noticed that the musicmagic plugin generally seems
> > to work better (that is Slimserver recognizes it better) if 'load
> > plugins on the fly' is set.
> >
> > My question is: how do you create musicmagic mixes from the players display?
>
> when you see the m icon in the top right, press and hold play. you will then
> just into the mixer, or be given a choice of mixers if more than one option is
> available.
>
> -kdf
>

kdf
2005-04-08, 16:58
Quoting Charles Stanton <shaboyi (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> thanks. so i should run the debug to see what is happening? if i do,
> what should i do with the debug output?

was just fyi. in case it ever comes in handy.

> One further question - my experience has been if the api is not there
> at all (either the api service is not started in musicmagic or
> musicmagic is not started up at all), then the option to use or not
> use musicmagic on the main server settings page is not even there. So
> by this logic, ss is seeing that the api is there, no? so i don't
> understand why telling ss to use mm would not take.

nor I. I've not actually seen that problem myself. I've certainly seen it take
a while after starting the API before the server will get a response, but that
only affects the plugins setting. When first enabling the plugin, the use
musicmagic setting will be reset to not use. Nothing that I can think of would
stop that from changing when chosen, aside from some corruption in the http
communications.

d_prefs or d_http might give you some look into what is happening at the time. I
can't really suggest what you would do with what you see, aside from posting it
or supplying the info to SlimDevices support.

-kdf

shaboyi
2005-04-08, 17:11
ok, so I'll see. but the other point I wanted to make is that
eventually it does work. I should have also added that i have mm set
to run as a service w/ a 3rd party tool (apptoservice), with the idea
being that if/when the computer is rebooted both mm and ss come back
up with no user intervention at all. eventually i do get it to work
reliably, it is just quirky to set up - and can take a few or more
frustrating tries with no apparent rhyme of reason to it. ( i install
sb/ss for people and this has been very appealling to the
non-computer-savvy type customer who just want to use it and not touch
anything else). i just wish it would be easier....

On Apr 8, 2005 7:58 PM, kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote:
> Quoting Charles Stanton <shaboyi (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:
>
> > thanks. so i should run the debug to see what is happening? if i do,
> > what should i do with the debug output?
>
> was just fyi. in case it ever comes in handy.
>
> > One further question - my experience has been if the api is not there
> > at all (either the api service is not started in musicmagic or
> > musicmagic is not started up at all), then the option to use or not
> > use musicmagic on the main server settings page is not even there. So
> > by this logic, ss is seeing that the api is there, no? so i don't
> > understand why telling ss to use mm would not take.
>
> nor I. I've not actually seen that problem myself. I've certainly seen it take
> a while after starting the API before the server will get a response, but that
> only affects the plugins setting. When first enabling the plugin, the use
> musicmagic setting will be reset to not use. Nothing that I can think of would
> stop that from changing when chosen, aside from some corruption in the http
> communications.
>
> d_prefs or d_http might give you some look into what is happening at the time. I
> can't really suggest what you would do with what you see, aside from posting it
> or supplying the info to SlimDevices support.
>
> -kdf
>