PDA

View Full Version : Rescan / Wipe Cache, where is the cache?



Floyd
2005-04-08, 06:37
Using Slimserver 6.0.1 (Linux) and the Rescan function is not
completely working. It seems able to find new items
added to the music folder but it doesn't recognize
when items are removed or when ID tags have changed
in existing items.

The "Wipe Cache" feature mentioned in the on-line help
seems to be removed - I cannot find the Wipe Cache button.

I have tried restarting slimserver. If the cache is stored
on disk, perhaps I could try manually wiping the cache by
removing whatever cache files/directories. Where are they
stored?

Max
2005-04-08, 06:42
I've just found the same thing. I renamed some of my albums (both
folder and tags) then did a rescan. I now have both the old and new
names appearing in SlimServer.

Max

Floyd wrote:
>
> Using Slimserver 6.0.1 (Linux) and the Rescan function is not
> completely working. It seems able to find new items
> added to the music folder but it doesn't recognize
> when items are removed or when ID tags have changed
> in existing items.

Patrick Dixon
2005-04-08, 07:20
Wipe Cache is in Server Settings>Perfomance.


-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Floyd
Sent: 08 April 2005 14:37
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Rescan / Wipe Cache, where is the cache?



Using Slimserver 6.0.1 (Linux) and the Rescan function is not
completely working. It seems able to find new items
added to the music folder but it doesn't recognize
when items are removed or when ID tags have changed
in existing items.

The "Wipe Cache" feature mentioned in the on-line help
seems to be removed - I cannot find the Wipe Cache button.

I have tried restarting slimserver. If the cache is stored
on disk, perhaps I could try manually wiping the cache by
removing whatever cache files/directories. Where are they
stored?

Dan Sully
2005-04-08, 10:06
* Max shaped the electrons to say...

>I've just found the same thing. I renamed some of my albums (both
>folder and tags) then did a rescan. I now have both the old and new
>names appearing in SlimServer.

SlimServer (currently) takes a lazy approach to purging removed files - if
you browse to that item, all the way down to the track level, SS will put
them on the remove list.

We're planning on making this a more active task in the future, but need to
balance it with low memory and cpu usage

-D
--
There is no emergency. Nothing to see here. Move along.

JJZolx
2005-04-08, 14:47
SlimServer (currently) takes a lazy approach to purging removed files - if you browse to that item, all the way down to the track level, SS will put them on the remove list.

We're planning on making this a more active task in the future, but need to balance it with low memory and cpu usage
So is the "Wipe Cache" operation just as lazy, or is that "more active"? There seems to be a large amount of confusion here, especially with all the scanning bugs that 6.0 introduced.

Like the OP, I'm curious about what/where this "cache" is - Is this just the album database information, or is there actually a seperate disk-based cache used to display info in the interface? If separate, is that cache cleared when the server is rebooted, or is it persistant? When we perform a "Rescan" are we clearing old data from the database or not?
________
Yamaha XV750 (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Yamaha_XV750)

Dan Sully
2005-04-08, 14:58
* JJZolx shaped the electrons to say...

>So is the "Wipe Cache" operation just as lazy, or is that "more
>active"? There seems to be a large amount of confusion here,
>especially with all the scanning bugs that 6.0 introduced.

The wipe cache is active. There are bugs with it right now - but should be
solved by simply restarting your server.

>Like the OP, I'm curious about what/where this "cache" is - Is this
>just the album database information, or is there actually a seperate
>disk-based cache used to display info in the interface? If separate,
>is that cache cleared when the server is rebooted, or is it persistant?

Cache is a misnomer, left over from the 5.4 series. It should really be
called "Wipe Database".

>When we perform a "Rescan" are we clearing old data from the database or not?

A rescan doesn't clear any data - just picks up new data. Old data is lazily
removed as stated before. 6.1 will probably do active deletion.

-D
--
<dr.pox> do they call it 'gq' because it makes your text fashionable?

JJZolx
2005-04-08, 16:06
A rescan doesn't clear any data - just picks up new data. Old data is lazily removed as stated before. 6.1 will probably do active deletion.
Here's an idea for the interface then. I think it would probably be a good idea to keep the ability to do a "fast" rescan for those who are just adding new albums and only want the new data picked up.

But consolidate the operations on the same page and explain it a little better. Get rid of the "Wipe Cache" on the Performance page and add a checkbox above the current "Rescan" button. Label it something like "Perform a complete rescan from scratch". Add more informative text explaining that when this option is selected the operation can be much slower, but that it should be used if any tagging information on existing tracks has been changed since the last scan.
________
Vaporizers (http://vaporizers.net/vaporizers)

Jason Voegele
2005-04-10, 05:52
JJZolx said:
> dsully Wrote:
>> A rescan doesn't clear any data - just picks up new data. Old data is
>> lazily removed as stated before. 6.1 will probably do active deletion.
> Here's an idea for the interface then. I think it would probably be a
> good idea to keep the ability to do a "fast" rescan for those who are
> just adding new albums and only want the new data picked up.
>
> But consolidate the operations on the same page and explain it a little
> better. Get rid of the "Wipe Cache" on the Performance page and add a
> checkbox above the current "Rescan" button. Label it something like
> "Perform a complete rescan from scratch". Add more informative text
> explaining that when this option is selected the operation can be much
> slower, but that it should be used if any tagging information on
> existing tracks has been changed since the last scan.

I agree that these features need to be consolidated to prevent confusion.

I searched bugs.slimdevices.com for any outstanding bugs/enhancement
requests relating to this, but couldn't find anything. Therefore, I've
shamelessly stolen your e-mail message to create bug #1347:

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1347

--
Jason Voegele
"There is an essential core at the center of each man and woman that
remains unaltered no matter how life's externals may be transformed
or recombined. But it's smaller than we think."
-- Gene Wolfe, The Book of the Long Sun

Steve Baumgarten
2005-04-11, 11:15
JJZolx wrote:

> But consolidate the operations on the same page and explain it a little
> better. Get rid of the "Wipe Cache" on the Performance page and add a
> checkbox above the current "Rescan" button. Label it something like
> "Perform a complete rescan from scratch". Add more informative text
> explaining that when this option is selected the operation can be much
> slower, but that it should be used if any tagging information on
> existing tracks has been changed since the last scan.

This is exactly the interface that Winamp uses. There's a checkbox that
has it remove deleted files; otherwise it just picks up newly added
tracks. If you watch it run, you can see that it makes two passes: the
first over your "Watch Folders" (i.e., the directories you've designated
as the source for the files in your media library) to pick up newly
added tracks, and the second over the library itself to verify every
track against the file system.

It also includes the "Rescan every XXX minutes" option right there in
the same dialog box. So basically, everything you might want to do with
regard to the database driving Winamp is logically grouped together. A
similar reorganization for Slimserver (both internally, in having it
purge deleted tracks) and externally (in reworking the UI a bit) would
be a big improvement.

SBB






Visit our website at http://www.ubs.com

This message contains confidential information and is intended only
for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you
should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Please
notify the sender immediately by e-mail if you have received this
e-mail by mistake and delete this e-mail from your system.

E-mail transmission cannot be guaranteed to be secure or error-free
as information could be intercepted, corrupted, lost, destroyed,
arrive late or incomplete, or contain viruses. The sender therefore
does not accept liability for any errors or omissions in the contents
of this message which arise as a result of e-mail transmission. If
verification is required please request a hard-copy version. This
message is provided for informational purposes and should not be
construed as a solicitation or offer to buy or sell any securities or
related financial instruments.

JJZolx
2005-04-11, 11:38
It also includes the "Rescan every XXX minutes" option right there in the same dialog box. So basically, everything you might want to do with regard to the database driving Winamp is logically grouped together. A similar reorganization for Slimserver (both internally, in having it purge deleted tracks) and externally (in reworking the UI a bit) would be a big improvement.
I was going to suggest this as well, but since the "Rescan every ..." is currently a plugin I figured the reaction would be that it's already implemented as a plugin, so there's no need to add it to the server while higher priority jobs need to be taken care of. And then I figured the wiseass pony crack would soon follow.
________
Honda XR350 (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Honda_XR350)

Steve Baumgarten
2005-04-11, 13:08
JJZolx wrote:

> I was going to suggest this as well, but since the "Rescan every ..."
> is currently a plugin I figured the reaction would be that it's already
> implemented as a plugin, so there's no need to add it to the server
> while higher priority jobs need to be taken care of. And then I
> figured the wiseass pony crack would soon follow.

I thought about that as well (the fact that there's already a Rescan
plug-in that does the "Rescan every XXX minutes" thing), but it's always
seemed to me that the UI for database maintenance should be simplified
and made more coherent.

There's "Wipe Cache", which we're told isn't necessary, except it is if
you want to get rid of phantom (deleted) tracks -- that's off on a
different web page than "Rescan"; and the Rescan plug-in is on yet
another web page. (And one could argue that it shouldn't even be a
plug-in in the first place, since it provides fairly basic functionality.)

So there are three different pages that all relate in some way to
database maintenance -- which is why I figured it was worth raising the
issue of making the database maintenance UI more coherent. And yes, I
was willing to risk any and all wiseass pony cracks... ;-)

(As a start: the UI should stop referring to the database as a "cache"
and start referring to it as a database. I think someone else already
suggested that. Perhaps "Delete and Rebuild Database" instead of "Wipe
Cache"?)

SBB








Visit our website at http://www.ubs.com

This message contains confidential information and is intended only
for the individual named. If you are not the named addressee you
should not disseminate, distribute or copy this e-mail. Please
notify the sender immediately by e-mail if you have received this
e-mail by mistake and delete this e-mail from your system.

E-mail transmission cannot be guaranteed to be secure or error-free
as information could be intercepted, corrupted, lost, destroyed,
arrive late or incomplete, or contain viruses. The sender therefore
does not accept liability for any errors or omissions in the contents
of this message which arise as a result of e-mail transmission. If
verification is required please request a hard-copy version. This
message is provided for informational purposes and should not be
construed as a solicitation or offer to buy or sell any securities or
related financial instruments.

Marc Sherman
2005-04-11, 13:15
Steve Baumgarten wrote:
>
> So there are three different pages that all relate in some way to
> database maintenance -- which is why I figured it was worth raising the
> issue of making the database maintenance UI more coherent. And yes, I
> was willing to risk any and all wiseass pony cracks... ;-)

Ummm... and a pony.

- Marc