PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze Audio Buffer Underrun



Neil Cameron
2005-04-08, 02:10
Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...

--
Neil

Neil Cameron
2005-04-08, 02:13
Should have said:
- Win XP
- Java 1.5
- MP3 files

--
Neil


"Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:d35hkq$n6r$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
> Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...
>
> --
> Neil

rtitmuss
2005-04-08, 02:42
Neil Cameron wrote:

>Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...
>
>
The Audio Buffer Underrun errors are mostly harmless, it depends on when
they happen. Does the visualizer still work when the audio has stopped?

If the visualizer stops then this indicates a problem with the mp3
decoder or stream from the server. Could you capture 'player' debug, if
possible noting where the audio stopped.

If the visualizer keeps running, then it indicates a problem getting the
audio data to the sound card. Could you capture 'javasound' debug, note
this is very verbose.

Thanks,
Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-08, 03:07
I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.

Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep installing
2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 - but when I go to
look it always says 2b2. How is that?

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:42565203.1010704 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...
>>
> The Audio Buffer Underrun errors are mostly harmless, it depends on when
> they happen. Does the visualizer still work when the audio has stopped?
>
> If the visualizer stops then this indicates a problem with the mp3 decoder
> or stream from the server. Could you capture 'player' debug, if possible
> noting where the audio stopped.
>
> If the visualizer keeps running, then it indicates a problem getting the
> audio data to the sound card. Could you capture 'javasound' debug, note
> this is very verbose.
>
> Thanks,
> Richard

rtitmuss
2005-04-08, 04:10
Neil Cameron wrote:

>I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>
>Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep installing
>2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 - but when I go to
>look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>
>
>
I have checked both the slimserver 6.0.1 and 6.1 releases, and they do
include Softsqueeze 2.0b3. I wonder if it is a caching problem with java
web start. You could try opening the Java Control Panel (in you WinXP
Control Panel), and deleting the temporary internet files.

Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-08, 10:52
Richard

I've tried to post these (long) error logs three times; the go, but don't
turn up on the Forum.
Can you email your email address to me so I can send them to you?

--
Neil


"Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:d35l0g$1po$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
> I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>
> Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep
> installing 2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 - but
> when I go to look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>
> --
> Neil
>
>
> "Richard Titmuss"
> <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote in message
> news:42565203.1010704 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
>> Neil Cameron wrote:
>>
>>>Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...
>>>
>> The Audio Buffer Underrun errors are mostly harmless, it depends on when
>> they happen. Does the visualizer still work when the audio has stopped?
>>
>> If the visualizer stops then this indicates a problem with the mp3
>> decoder or stream from the server. Could you capture 'player' debug, if
>> possible noting where the audio stopped.
>>
>> If the visualizer keeps running, then it indicates a problem getting the
>> audio data to the sound card. Could you capture 'javasound' debug, note
>> this is very verbose.
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-08, 10:57
I forgot that email addresses are wierded - mine is ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com

--
Neil


"Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:d36g8p$1lo$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
> Richard
>
> I've tried to post these (long) error logs three times; the go, but don't
> turn up on the Forum.
> Can you email your email address to me so I can send them to you?
>
> --
> Neil
>
>
> "Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
> news:d35l0g$1po$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
>> I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>>
>> Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep
>> installing 2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 -
>> but when I go to look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>>
>> --
>> Neil
>>
>>
>> "Richard Titmuss"
>> <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote in
>> message news:42565203.1010704 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
>>> Neil Cameron wrote:
>>>
>>>>Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...
>>>>
>>> The Audio Buffer Underrun errors are mostly harmless, it depends on when
>>> they happen. Does the visualizer still work when the audio has stopped?
>>>
>>> If the visualizer stops then this indicates a problem with the mp3
>>> decoder or stream from the server. Could you capture 'player' debug, if
>>> possible noting where the audio stopped.
>>>
>>> If the visualizer keeps running, then it indicates a problem getting the
>>> audio data to the sound card. Could you capture 'javasound' debug, note
>>> this is very verbose.
>>>
>>> Thanks,
>>> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-08, 11:06
That didn't work.
It is more complicated by the fact that SlimServer and the Sourecforge
download appear to install themselves in totally different directories. The
latter in c:\program files\softsqueeze, and the latter in c:\documents and
settings\application data\Sun\java\etc etc etc.
Although the latter has since disappeared!

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:425666AC.7080601 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>>
>>Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep
>>installing 2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 - but
>>when I go to look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>>
>>
> I have checked both the slimserver 6.0.1 and 6.1 releases, and they do
> include Softsqueeze 2.0b3. I wonder if it is a caching problem with java
> web start. You could try opening the Java Control Panel (in you WinXP
> Control Panel), and deleting the temporary internet files.
>
> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-08, 11:09
Aaah. Very clever - they are also autowierded in postings.
So how do I get you these logs?

--
Neil


"Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:d36ggs$2h8$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
>I forgot that email addresses are wierded - mine is
>ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com
>
> --
> Neil
>
>
> "Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
> news:d36g8p$1lo$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
>> Richard
>>
>> I've tried to post these (long) error logs three times; the go, but don't
>> turn up on the Forum.
>> Can you email your email address to me so I can send them to you?
>>
>> --
>> Neil
>>
>>
>> "Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
>> news:d35l0g$1po$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
>>> I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>>>
>>> Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep
>>> installing 2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 -
>>> but when I go to look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>>>
>>> --
>>> Neil
>>>
>>>
>>> "Richard Titmuss"
>>> <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote in
>>> message news:42565203.1010704 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
>>>> Neil Cameron wrote:
>>>>
>>>>>Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...
>>>>>
>>>> The Audio Buffer Underrun errors are mostly harmless, it depends on
>>>> when they happen. Does the visualizer still work when the audio has
>>>> stopped?
>>>>
>>>> If the visualizer stops then this indicates a problem with the mp3
>>>> decoder or stream from the server. Could you capture 'player' debug, if
>>>> possible noting where the audio stopped.
>>>>
>>>> If the visualizer keeps running, then it indicates a problem getting
>>>> the audio data to the sound card. Could you capture 'javasound' debug,
>>>> note this is very verbose.
>>>>
>>>> Thanks,
>>>> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-09, 08:53
Every time I load SoftSqueeze it tells me I have the wrong version; I
download (or install) 2b3 again - and still it tells me I have the wrong
version, 2b2.

--
Neil


"Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:d36h23$4av$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
> That didn't work.
> It is more complicated by the fact that SlimServer and the Sourecforge
> download appear to install themselves in totally different directories.
> The latter in c:\program files\softsqueeze, and the latter in c:\documents
> and settings\application data\Sun\java\etc etc etc.
> Although the latter has since disappeared!
>
> --
> Neil
>
>
> "Richard Titmuss"
> <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote in message
> news:425666AC.7080601 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
>> Neil Cameron wrote:
>>
>>>I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>>>
>>>Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep
>>>installing 2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 -
>>>but when I go to look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>>>
>>>
>> I have checked both the slimserver 6.0.1 and 6.1 releases, and they do
>> include Softsqueeze 2.0b3. I wonder if it is a caching problem with java
>> web start. You could try opening the Java Control Panel (in you WinXP
>> Control Panel), and deleting the temporary internet files.
>>
>> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-10, 06:18
Any luck with the logs?
Is there any chance that this problem is related to the fact that (no matter
what I do) I can only run SoftSqueeze 2b2 and not 2b3?

--
Neil


"Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:d36g8p$1lo$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
> Richard
>
> I've tried to post these (long) error logs three times; the go, but don't
> turn up on the Forum.
> Can you email your email address to me so I can send them to you?
>
> --
> Neil
>
>
> "Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
> news:d35l0g$1po$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
>> I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>>
>> Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep
>> installing 2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 -
>> but when I go to look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>>
>> --
>> Neil
>>
>>
>> "Richard Titmuss"
>> <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote in
>> message news:42565203.1010704 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
>>> Neil Cameron wrote:
>>>
>>>>Still having a real probem with this as of 6 April Nightly...
>>>>
>>> The Audio Buffer Underrun errors are mostly harmless, it depends on when
>>> they happen. Does the visualizer still work when the audio has stopped?
>>>
>>> If the visualizer stops then this indicates a problem with the mp3
>>> decoder or stream from the server. Could you capture 'player' debug, if
>>> possible noting where the audio stopped.
>>>
>>> If the visualizer keeps running, then it indicates a problem getting the
>>> audio data to the sound card. Could you capture 'javasound' debug, note
>>> this is very verbose.
>>>
>>> Thanks,
>>> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-10, 09:59
The latest example from the debug log is:

26169765 [SlimTCP-1] DEBUG player - httpRequest=GET
/stream.mp3?player=38:bc:7c:16:87:63 HTTP/1.0
26169765 [SlimTCP-1] DEBUG player - parsed strm: command=u format=109
crossfade=0 ipaddr=localhost port=9000
file=/stream.mp3?player=38:bc:7c:16:87:63 authType=null authPassword=null
autostart=1
26169781 [SlimTCP-1] DEBUG player - start: state 2
26171953 [AudioStream-122] DEBUG javasound - audio stream closed

I think that's a new one...

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:425666AC.7080601 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>I've just upgraded to 6.1 and am trying it now.
>>
>>Meanwhile, can you help with the 2b2 versus 2b3 problem? I keep
>>installing 2b3, or so I think, and the opening flash Window says 2b3 - but
>>when I go to look it always says 2b2. How is that?
>>
>>
> I have checked both the slimserver 6.0.1 and 6.1 releases, and they do
> include Softsqueeze 2.0b3. I wonder if it is a caching problem with java
> web start. You could try opening the Java Control Panel (in you WinXP
> Control Panel), and deleting the temporary internet files.
>
> Richard

rtitmuss
2005-04-10, 13:39
Neil Cameron wrote:

>Any luck with the logs?
>Is there any chance that this problem is related to the fact that (no matter
>what I do) I can only run SoftSqueeze 2b2 and not 2b3?
>
>
>
Sorry I have been busy over the weekend, and only just had a chance to
have a look. I don't understand why you are having problems running the
newer version, but that won't make a difference here. The only
difference between these versions is a fix to allow Softsqueeze to run
on Java 1.4, I had accidentally broken this.

In the logs you sent me it looks like the audio decoder stopped part way
through the track, have you tried using jlayer instead of the Java MP3
Plugin? If this does not make any difference could you send me offlist a
log including javasound, player and player verbose debug, it is not
obvious what's gone wrong here.

Regards,
Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-10, 13:51
I did try JLayer - it made no difference. I'll email some new logs...

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:42598F00.5070104 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>Any luck with the logs?
>>Is there any chance that this problem is related to the fact that (no
>>matter what I do) I can only run SoftSqueeze 2b2 and not 2b3?
>>
>>
> Sorry I have been busy over the weekend, and only just had a chance to
> have a look. I don't understand why you are having problems running the
> newer version, but that won't make a difference here. The only difference
> between these versions is a fix to allow Softsqueeze to run on Java 1.4, I
> had accidentally broken this.
>
> In the logs you sent me it looks like the audio decoder stopped part way
> through the track, have you tried using jlayer instead of the Java MP3
> Plugin? If this does not make any difference could you send me offlist a
> log including javasound, player and player verbose debug, it is not
> obvious what's gone wrong here.
>
> Regards,
> Richard

rtitmuss
2005-04-10, 14:06
Neil Cameron wrote:

>I did try JLayer - it made no difference. I'll email some new logs...
>
>
>
Hmm. Please could you run Softsqueeze from the command prompt (see the
Softsqueeze website for instructions), and when the audio has stopped
get a thread dump by pressing Ctrl-Break in the console. If you could
include that with the logs it might help here.

Thanks,
Richard

rtitmuss
2005-04-11, 13:40
Neil Cameron wrote:

>Any luck with the logs?
>Is there any chance that this problem is related to the fact that (no matter
>what I do) I can only run SoftSqueeze 2b2 and not 2b3?
>
>
>
I have just found the problem with the version numbers, Softsqueeze is
storing the version number in your preferences instead of always reading
it from the configuration file. So the chances are you do have 2.0b3
installed.

What type of hardware are you running? If this is on a multi-processor
or hyper-threaded PC could you try running with just one processor
and/or hyper-threading disabled. Does this help?

Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-11, 15:37
Only one processor. I'm away from home tonight; will do logs as requested
when I get home tomorrow...

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:425AE0BD.6030401 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>Any luck with the logs?
>>Is there any chance that this problem is related to the fact that (no
>>matter what I do) I can only run SoftSqueeze 2b2 and not 2b3?
>>
>>
> I have just found the problem with the version numbers, Softsqueeze is
> storing the version number in your preferences instead of always reading
> it from the configuration file. So the chances are you do have 2.0b3
> installed.
>
> What type of hardware are you running? If this is on a multi-processor or
> hyper-threaded PC could you try running with just one processor and/or
> hyper-threading disabled. Does this help?
>
> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-13, 11:25
I'm afraid that I can't find those instructions Richard.
I copied the one example I could find - how to run headless - and removed
the headless instruction, but that complained it couldn't find the
softsqueeze.jar file in any event...

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:42599541.6020909 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>I did try JLayer - it made no difference. I'll email some new logs...
>>
>>
> Hmm. Please could you run Softsqueeze from the command prompt (see the
> Softsqueeze website for instructions), and when the audio has stopped get
> a thread dump by pressing Ctrl-Break in the console. If you could include
> that with the logs it might help here.
>
> Thanks,
> Richard