PDA

View Full Version : Music Match Integration (was RE: Fishbone Home button problem)



Steve
2005-04-07, 16:16
discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com wrote:
> On Apr 6, 2005 9:45 AM, Steve <stevek1050pub (AT) comcast (DOT) net> wrote:
>>
>> Yes. Near as I can tell, MusicMagic works in Fishbone, EN, Default
>> and Handheld. I am using ver. 6.01 (05-Apr-2005 nightly).
>
> then i'm still missing something - how do i start a musicmagic mix
> from fishbone? i've installed the 6.01 alpha but still dont see any
> icons for it

Here are instructions provided by a Cherise Emerson [cae (AT) emmawood (DOT) co.uk]:

Start with Predixis - navigate to File : Customize Options : Services.
Check API. Leave Music Magic running.



Next - Navigate to Slimserver : Server Settings : Plugins - make sure Music
Magic is checked.



Navigate to Server Settings : Server Settings - make sure Use MusicMagic is
checked.



Set preferences in Server Settings : Music Magic



All should be fine - took me some time and a few nudges to get the order
right.

garysargent
2005-04-10, 09:25
I've done all this and it looks like MusicMatch integration should all be working.

SlimServer spent ages loading the MusicMatch database (I turned on debugging and saw it doing this).

But how does it work?! I never see the "mm" even on tracks I know MM has processed.

When I hold "play" down it just goes to save playlist.

I have a SLIMP3 - is this a SlimServer only feature?

kdf
2005-04-10, 10:01
Quoting garysargent <garysargent.1na6vz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I've done all this and it looks like MusicMatch integration should all
> be working.
>
> SlimServer spent ages loading the MusicMatch database (I turned on
> debugging and saw it doing this).
>
> But how does it work?! I never see the "mm" even on tracks I know MM
> has processed.
>
> When I hold "play" down it just goes to save playlist.
>
> I have a SLIMP3 - is this a SlimServer only feature?

it is a slimserver feature, so it does not matter if you have softsqueeze,
slimp3, sb1 or sb2. even http clients will work.

c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_musicmagic
-kdf

garysargent
2005-04-10, 10:07
ok thats good, but how do you actually use it then?!

I thought you could play a song, then tell it to generate a new playlist from the song.

Is there a way to do this from the web interface, because when I try with the SLIMP3 remote (holding down play) all I get is the save playlist display.

Thanks.

kdf
2005-04-10, 10:13
Quoting garysargent <garysargent.1na8qn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> ok thats good, but how do you actually use it then?!
>
> I thought you could play a song, then tell it to generate a new
> playlist from the song.
>
> Is there a way to do this from the web interface, because when I try
> with the SLIMP3 remote (holding down play) all I get is the save
> playlist display.
>
when you are browsing through items, you will see an 'm' icon on the player
display. that means you can then press and hold play to create a mix based on
that item. press and hold play in the playlist mode saves the playlist, as you
have already discovered.

player ui and web ui are basically the same in this way. the mixing is done from
teh browse modes. The difference is that the web displays all mixers at once,
while the player UI will insert an extra step to choose which mixer you want,
if more than one is available.

the command line I gave you is so that you can see what is going on with the
musicmagic communication, since you seem to be unable to sort out why you are
not seeing any integration.

-kdf