PDA

View Full Version : Slimp3/softsqueeze syncing



James Mitchelmore
2005-04-06, 17:23
I am currently running the latest version of softsqueeze and a slimp3
synchronised together and am very impressed with the results. The only
problem that I am having is when I sync one to the other it matches its
output volume to the other ‘device’.
The output of the machine running softsqueeze has its volume controlled
elsewhere so softsqueeze really needs to be permanently at full, whereas
the slimp3 is the point of volume control in the room its in, so it’s a
bit of a pain.
Given that the idea of syncing multiple players is to play the same
music across the house, surely volume control should remain independent?

Any ideas?

I am also running the latest version of slimserver on windows XP.

Cheers,

James

--
No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG Anti-Virus.
Version: 7.0.308 / Virus Database: 266.9.3 - Release Date: 05/04/2005

Ben Sandee
2005-04-06, 19:32
On Apr 6, 2005 7:23 PM, James Mitchelmore <james (AT) mitchelmore (DOT) com> wrote:

> I am currently running the latest version of softsqueeze and a slimp3
> synchronised together and am very impressed with the results. The only
> problem that I am having is when I sync one to the other it matches its
> output volume to the other 'device'.
>

<snip>

James,

Sorry if I'm missing something or stating the obvious but have you
looked at Player Settings -> Audio tab in the web interface? There's
an option there that allows you to control volume sync (enabled or
disabled) for each player, individually. There have been some bugs
ironed out recently wrt this feature
(http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1258,
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1216) but I think it's
supposed to be working in 6.0.1.

Ben