PDA

View Full Version : FLAC plays mono on SB1/SS6.0.0



Richard Elen
2005-04-05, 15:39
Interesting little thing this, and I suppose I should be pleased I am
getting anything at all.

I've encoded a couple of albums for test purposes with FLAC at 964 kb/s,
CBR.
SoftSqueeze 2 plays them fine, as I imagine the SB2 will when it gets
here. However on my creaky old SB1, it plays (which surprised me) but in
mono! Presumably it is being transcoded to LPCM?

Is this behaviour to be expected, or is there a way of getting it to
play back in stereo?

Thanks!
--Richard E

Mark Bennett
2005-04-06, 00:04
On Tue, 2005-04-05 at 23:39 +0100, Richard Elen wrote:
> Interesting little thing this, and I suppose I should be pleased I am
> getting anything at all.

You shouldn't be surprised. This functionality should be
fully working for you.

> I've encoded a couple of albums for test purposes with FLAC at 964 kb/s,
> CBR.

Not sure that the concept of bit rate has very much meaning for
FLAC, other than for network bandwidth. The quality is totally
unaffected by bitrate.

> SoftSqueeze 2 plays them fine, as I imagine the SB2 will when it gets
> here. However on my creaky old SB1, it plays (which surprised me) but in
> mono! Presumably it is being transcoded to LPCM?

For SB1 the server will decode the FLAC to WAV and then stream
the PCM across to the player. SB2 will offer native FLAC
support so there will not need to be any transcoding on the
server.

However, if you have a bit rate limit set for the SB1 then
it will transcode to MP3 instead. Do you have a bit rate
limit set for your SB1?

> Is this behaviour to be expected, or is there a way of getting it to
> play back in stereo?

No, it's not expected. There are many people on this list
using FLAC and SB1 in conjunction, and this is the first
I think I have heard of this problem. It's certainly working
in Stereo for me (although I'm on SS6.1 - 31/3 nightly).

Some more details might be useful:

Slimserver version and platform/version (Win, Mac, Linux)
FLAC decoder version
Have you made any edits to convert.conf?

--
"The biggest problem encountered while trying to design a system that
was completely foolproof, was, that people tended to underestimate the
ingenuity of complete fools." (Douglas Adams)