PDA

View Full Version : Newby Alert: Can't load music library



Patrick Dixon
2005-04-03, 08:05
Re: [slim] Newby Alert: Can't load music libraryOK, one more stupid thing to
check: that your 'music' files are named '.wav' or '.flac' (as appropriate).
-----Original Message-----
From: Dan Goodinson [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On
Behalf Of Dan Goodinson
Sent: 03 April 2005 15:47
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Newby Alert: Can't load music library


Might sound like a stupid thing to suggest but bear with me...

Browse to your music folder on your hard-drive (e.g. c:\audio). When you
can see "c:\audio" in the address bar, copy this and paste it directly into
the setting for "music folder".

I know it's got to be pretty much impossible to get it wrong while typing
it, but just give it a try. Click the "change" button to make the setting
active, and then do a rescan.

If this fails, then maybe thereis some reason why the slimserver can't see
the files - this could be because:

(a) the user who runs slimserver service may not have permission to view
the contents of the c:\audio location; or
(b) slimserver has been configured to look for only certain file-types,
and none of those file types are listed. (e.g. "server settings>file types"
from the SB web control panel.

Both options are a bit unlikely, but both are worth checking just to rule
them out.

Dan.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
--
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com on behalf of Jack Coates
Sent: Sun 03/04/2005 15:28
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Newby Alert: Can't load music library


ceejay wrote:
> Thanks for the response. I had intended to go for such a structure,
> though with only 3 albums hadn't got quite that far yet! Nevertheless,
> just in case it was important, I've moved a couple into the full
> directory structure but (no surprise) its made no difference.
>
>
>
> And I don't think the "guess tag formats" is going to help either -
> slimserver just isn't seeing ANY music files. I note that when I click
> "rescan" I get a message at the top saying "The server is now rescanning
> your Music Library", which doesn't seem to go away. Should it? How long
> ought it to take to scan 3 CDs??! All I'm doing at the moment is
> waiting till I get bored (multiple minutes) then checking "home" only
> still to read ... "Your music library contains 0 albums with 0 songs by
0
> artists"
>
...

yes, that should go away. Are you able to look at task manager and see
what slimserver is doing? Better yet, run the exe from the command line.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!