PDA

View Full Version : (Still asking) Dumb Linux newbie Softsqueeze question



Patrick Dixon
2005-04-03, 03:34
OK, I've forced a complete re-install of Slimserver and tried to get
SoftSqueeze to install once again from the http interface, but all get left
with is a (defunct) java process and a javaws process that's at 33 minutes
and counting (with no visible or audible output).

I can run SoftSqueeze as a applet, and I can run it explicitly (as su) from
a shell, but clicking on the install and run just doesn't work for me. Any
suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong, or what else I can do to find out
what I'm doing wrong?

I'm running released slimserver 6.0 rpm, on FC3 with java 1.5.0_01.

Thanks, Patrick


-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Patrick Dixon
Sent: 02 April 2005 19:15
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Dumb Linux newbie Softsqueeze question


Yeah - it happened that way on my windows box too. And it put an icon on my
desktop.

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Jack Coates
Sent: 02 April 2005 18:57
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Dumb Linux newbie Softsqueeze question


Patrick Dixon wrote:
> Thanks Jack
>
> "I don't use Fedora myself, but I'd guess
> that you don't have a Java plugin in whatever browser you're using, so
> it gave you some sort of "I don't know what to do with this jnlp stuff"
> message. You probably assumed that was a "download this?" message,
> waited a few seconds for nothing to happen, and then went searching."
>
> No, I've got firefox with a java plugin - so no "don't know what to do".
>
> Waited more ike a few minutes (it is a slow m/c though).
>
> OK, so what should have happened then? And how do I undo what I've done
and
> get it to happen right then?

I'm currently rebuilding my linux laptop, so I can't say exactly what
would happen, but firefox+java's behavior should be the same any any OS.
That's the whole point of the "write once, run anywhere" philosophy
underlying both toolkits.

So what should happen when you click help > softsqueeze > install and
run is: the applet downloads and launches. You get a splashscreen saying
softsqueeze [version] with a picture. It downloads some more resources,
unpacks some stuff, and then opens a virtual squeezebox.

That's the way it happens on my mac and my windows box, and the way it
happened on my linux box the last time I had one with X.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

rtitmuss
2005-04-03, 13:42
Patrick Dixon wrote:

>OK, I've forced a complete re-install of Slimserver and tried to get
>SoftSqueeze to install once again from the http interface, but all get left
>with is a (defunct) java process and a javaws process that's at 33 minutes
>and counting (with no visible or audible output).
>
>I can run SoftSqueeze as a applet, and I can run it explicitly (as su) from
>a shell, but clicking on the install and run just doesn't work for me. Any
>suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong, or what else I can do to find out
>what I'm doing wrong?
>
>I'm running released slimserver 6.0 rpm, on FC3 with java 1.5.0_01.
>
>Thanks, Patrick
>
>
I don't know why this is not working for you, but over the weekend I
have been creating some native installers for Softsqueeze. Instead of
using Java Web Start you could try the Softsqueeze rpm. I am uploading
them onto Sourceforge at the moment, and it should be available soon.

Richard

mherger
2005-04-03, 22:55
Patrick

On Sun, 3 Apr 2005 11:34:48 +0100, Patrick Dixon
<patrick.dixon (AT) at-view (DOT) co.uk> wrote:

> OK, I've forced a complete re-install of Slimserver and tried to get
> SoftSqueeze to install once again from the http interface, but all get
> left
> with is a (defunct) java process and a javaws process that's at 33
> minutes
> and counting (with no visible or audible output).
>
> I can run SoftSqueeze as a applet, and I can run it explicitly (as su)

Does it really only run when you're logged in as root? Then there might be
a permission problem.

Michael



> from
> a shell, but clicking on the install and run just doesn't work for me.
> Any
> suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong, or what else I can do to find out
> what I'm doing wrong?
>
> I'm running released slimserver 6.0 rpm, on FC3 with java 1.5.0_01.
>
> Thanks, Patrick
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Patrick Dixon
> Sent: 02 April 2005 19:15
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Dumb Linux newbie Softsqueeze question
>
>
> Yeah - it happened that way on my windows box too. And it put an icon
> on my
> desktop.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Jack Coates
> Sent: 02 April 2005 18:57
> To: Slim Devices Discussion
> Subject: [slim] Dumb Linux newbie Softsqueeze question
>
>
> Patrick Dixon wrote:
>> Thanks Jack
>>
>> "I don't use Fedora myself, but I'd guess
>> that you don't have a Java plugin in whatever browser you're using, so
>> it gave you some sort of "I don't know what to do with this jnlp stuff"
>> message. You probably assumed that was a "download this?" message,
>> waited a few seconds for nothing to happen, and then went searching."
>>
>> No, I've got firefox with a java plugin - so no "don't know what to do".
>>
>> Waited more ike a few minutes (it is a slow m/c though).
>>
>> OK, so what should have happened then? And how do I undo what I've done
> and
>> get it to happen right then?
>
> I'm currently rebuilding my linux laptop, so I can't say exactly what
> would happen, but firefox+java's behavior should be the same any any OS.
> That's the whole point of the "write once, run anywhere" philosophy
> underlying both toolkits.
>
> So what should happen when you click help > softsqueeze > install and
> run is: the applet downloads and launches. You get a splashscreen saying
> softsqueeze [version] with a picture. It downloads some more resources,
> unpacks some stuff, and then opens a virtual squeezebox.
>
> That's the way it happens on my mac and my windows box, and the way it
> happened on my linux box the last time I had one with X.
>
> --
> Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
> Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!
>