PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Linux newbie Softsqueeze question



Patrick Dixon
2005-04-02, 10:16
Thanks Jack

"I don't use Fedora myself, but I'd guess
that you don't have a Java plugin in whatever browser you're using, so
it gave you some sort of "I don't know what to do with this jnlp stuff"
message. You probably assumed that was a "download this?" message,
waited a few seconds for nothing to happen, and then went searching."

No, I've got firefox with a java plugin - so no "don't know what to do".

Waited more ike a few minutes (it is a slow m/c though).

OK, so what should have happened then? And how do I undo what I've done and
get it to happen right then?


-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com]On Behalf Of Jack Coates
Sent: 02 April 2005 18:08
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] Dumb Linux newbie Softsqueeze question


Patrick Dixon wrote:
> Just trying a clean 6.0 & SQ2 installation on my FC3 installation, and
> having clicked all the buttons to download & start SQ from the html
> interface, it downloaded ok and then, well, nothing.
>
> So is it normal Linux practice to have to rummage around the filesystem to
> locate the downloaded application (which seems to be in
> /usr/local/slimserver/HTML/EN/html/softsqueeze btw) and then write a
script
> to run it with a link created on the desktop ... or is there an easier way
> that I'm missing?
>

Much... For one thing, that's the location that Softsqueeze is served
from, not the location that it was downloaded too... you've just
bypassed the whole process. I don't use Fedora myself, but I'd guess
that you don't have a Java plugin in whatever browser you're using, so
it gave you some sort of "I don't know what to do with this jnlp stuff"
message. You probably assumed that was a "download this?" message,
waited a few seconds for nothing to happen, and then went searching.

> I'm sure I'd have to have done it that way before all this namby-pamby 'X'
> stuff (csh not good enough for you?), but it's so much simpler in Windows
> don't you know ;-)
>
> Actually the Linux GUIs remind me a bit of Windows 3.1 ...
>

whatever.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

Jack Coates
2005-04-02, 10:57
Patrick Dixon wrote:
> Thanks Jack
>
> "I don't use Fedora myself, but I'd guess
> that you don't have a Java plugin in whatever browser you're using, so
> it gave you some sort of "I don't know what to do with this jnlp stuff"
> message. You probably assumed that was a "download this?" message,
> waited a few seconds for nothing to happen, and then went searching."
>
> No, I've got firefox with a java plugin - so no "don't know what to do".
>
> Waited more ike a few minutes (it is a slow m/c though).
>
> OK, so what should have happened then? And how do I undo what I've done and
> get it to happen right then?

I'm currently rebuilding my linux laptop, so I can't say exactly what
would happen, but firefox+java's behavior should be the same any any OS.
That's the whole point of the "write once, run anywhere" philosophy
underlying both toolkits.

So what should happen when you click help > softsqueeze > install and
run is: the applet downloads and launches. You get a splashscreen saying
softsqueeze [version] with a picture. It downloads some more resources,
unpacks some stuff, and then opens a virtual squeezebox.

That's the way it happens on my mac and my windows box, and the way it
happened on my linux box the last time I had one with X.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!