PDA

View Full Version : Gapless mp3 playback through MP3 to PCM decoding by lame



Karel Tromp
2005-04-01, 10:15
Would there be a way to play mp3 gapless by encoding the mp3 and send
it to the SB1 in PCM format? If I use lame for deconding the file I
suppose that lame would encode according to the mp3 gapless tags.

What do I have to do and change in the file convert.conf to accomplish this.

Karel

vidurapparao
2005-04-01, 10:32
Karel Tromp wrote:

>Would there be a way to play mp3 gapless by encoding the mp3 and send
>it to the SB1 in PCM format? If I use lame for deconding the file I
>suppose that lame would encode according to the mp3 gapless tags.
>
>What do I have to do and change in the file convert.conf to accomplish this.
>
>Karel
>

Karel Tromp
2005-04-01, 10:59
OK, done changing convert.conf. Restarted service slimserver and could
check the mp3 -> aif checkbox. After confirming it was off. I have
lame.exe on my system. Do I need to tell slimserver where it can find
the exe-file or do I need a library or so.
I am using the windows version btw.


On Apr 1, 2005 7:32 PM, Vidur Apparao <vidur (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
> Karel Tromp wrote:
>
> >Would there be a way to play mp3 gapless by encoding the mp3 and send
> >it to the SB1 in PCM format? If I use lame for deconding the file I
> >suppose that lame would encode according to the mp3 gapless tags.
> >
> >What do I have to do and change in the file convert.conf to accomplish this.
> >
> >Karel
> >

vidurapparao
2005-04-01, 11:01
http://www.slimdevices.com/su_faq.html#formats-binarywhere

Karel Tromp wrote:

>OK, done changing convert.conf. Restarted service slimserver and could
>check the mp3 -> aif checkbox. After confirming it was off. I have
>lame.exe on my system. Do I need to tell slimserver where it can find
>the exe-file or do I need a library or so.
>I am using the windows version btw.
>
>
>On Apr 1, 2005 7:32 PM, Vidur Apparao <vidur (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com> wrote:
>
>
>>Karel Tromp wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>>Would there be a way to play mp3 gapless by encoding the mp3 and send
>>>it to the SB1 in PCM format? If I use lame for deconding the file I
>>>suppose that lame would encode according to the mp3 gapless tags.
>>>
>>>What do I have to do and change in the file convert.conf to accomplish this.
>>>
>>>Karel
>>>

Karel Tromp
2005-04-01, 12:21
OK, have lame.exe existing in slimserver/server/bin. Done with
checkbox, heh, kept its change (very fine ...:-)).

I am curious if there's any difference in playback quality for as I
know the lame is a fine decoder too. But that later.....

First try:
I still getting gaps between the tracks but they are lesser noticeble
(right englisch?). There is also a con. For everything I do on the
machine via TightVNC (uses app 60% resources) drop-outs are occuring.
OK, will be better when I have left the PC but I did not had it with
plain MP3 broadcast.

But indeed, if I use the setting as descibed below I sometimes hearing
no gaps at all. I shall further test on this.

Maybe converting mp3 to aif or flac for SB2 will be a good choice to follow....

A question: what are te $-x$ and $FILE$ meaning? I think the $FILE$
means the filename to be decoded.
I will search through the documentation of lame for optimizing the
deconding to truly gapless (I hope).

So far, thanks for giving me a right direction.

Karel

>
> mp3 aif squeezebox *
> [lame] --decode -t --silent $-x$ $FILE$ -
>

John Gorst
2005-04-02, 02:09
Karel Tromp wrote:
> OK, have lame.exe existing in slimserver/server/bin. Done with
> checkbox, heh, kept its change (very fine ...:-)).
>
> I am curious if there's any difference in playback quality for as I
> know the lame is a fine decoder too. But that later.....
>
> First try:
> I still getting gaps between the tracks but they are lesser noticeble
> (right englisch?). There is also a con. For everything I do on the
> machine via TightVNC (uses app 60% resources) drop-outs are occuring.
> OK, will be better when I have left the PC but I did not had it with
> plain MP3 broadcast.

I had the same problem when vnc into my server. Running the command
below as root after starting the slimserver service works a treat.

[root@mandrake john]# renice -10 -u slimserver
503: old priority -10, new priority -10

Karel Tromp
2005-04-03, 08:40
OK, it went well first but later still more drop-outs occured. Even
after a number of drop-outs (what the !@#$ the server's doing) the
squeezebox crashed a could not find a slimserver anymore. After a
reboot the slimserver was recognized but when playing after a short
while drop-outs caused the SB1 to crash again.

I am now switching back to normal mp3 ->mp3 playback, lick my wounds
and look for further possibilities.

Weep...

Karel



On Apr 1, 2005 9:21 PM, Karel Tromp <slimkarel (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> OK, have lame.exe existing in slimserver/server/bin. Done with
> checkbox, heh, kept its change (very fine ...:-)).
>
> I am curious if there's any difference in playback quality for as I
> know the lame is a fine decoder too. But that later.....
>
> First try:
> I still getting gaps between the tracks but they are lesser noticeble
> (right englisch?). There is also a con. For everything I do on the
> machine via TightVNC (uses app 60% resources) drop-outs are occuring.
> OK, will be better when I have left the PC but I did not had it with
> plain MP3 broadcast.
>
> But indeed, if I use the setting as descibed below I sometimes hearing
> no gaps at all. I shall further test on this.
>
> Maybe converting mp3 to aif or flac for SB2 will be a good choice to follow....
>
> A question: what are te $-x$ and $FILE$ meaning? I think the $FILE$
> means the filename to be decoded.
> I will search through the documentation of lame for optimizing the
> deconding to truly gapless (I hope).
>
> So far, thanks for giving me a right direction.
>
> Karel
>
> >
> > mp3 aif squeezebox *
> > [lame] --decode -t --silent $-x$ $FILE$ -
> >
>