PDA

View Full Version : Pre and Post Echo on Song Change with 31-05 Nightlies



Neil Cameron
2005-04-01, 04:58
I was getting an occasional post-echo before - the last two seconds of music
were repeated after every song finish; but now I am getting a pre-echo (the
first two seconds of the next song before it starts properly ) as well.
Weird...

--
Neil

Neil Cameron
2005-04-01, 05:06
Hmm. Looks like it is SoftSqueeze specific...

--
Neil


"Neil Cameron" <ncameron (AT) msn (DOT) com> wrote in message
news:d2jcuf$ekm$1 (AT) sea (DOT) gmane.org...
>I was getting an occasional post-echo before - the last two seconds of
>music were repeated after every song finish; but now I am getting a
>pre-echo (the first two seconds of the next song before it starts
>properly ) as well. Weird...
>
> --
> Neil

rtitmuss
2005-04-01, 05:27
Neil Cameron wrote:

>Hmm. Looks like it is SoftSqueeze specific...
>
>
>
What version of Softsqueeze?
What music format?
What OS?
What version of Java?
What audio mixer?

Is this when you change tracks, e.g. fwd/rev start a new playlist or
during a normal transition between songs?

Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-01, 06:00
Sorry Richard:
- Win XP
- MP3
- SoftSqueeze 2b2 (the one that came with the 31-05 nightly)
- Java 1.5 - beta

It happens moving from one song to another in a playlist

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:424D3E1E.2020404 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>Hmm. Looks like it is SoftSqueeze specific...
>>
>>
> What version of Softsqueeze?
> What music format?
> What OS?
> What version of Java?
> What audio mixer?
>
> Is this when you change tracks, e.g. fwd/rev start a new playlist or
> during a normal transition between songs?
>
> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-01, 06:00
Sorry Richard:
- Win XP
- MP3
- SoftSqueeze 2b2 (the one that came with the 31-05 nightly)
- Java 1.5 - beta

It happens moving from one song to another in a playlist

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:424D3E1E.2020404 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>Hmm. Looks like it is SoftSqueeze specific...
>>
>>
> What version of Softsqueeze?
> What music format?
> What OS?
> What version of Java?
> What audio mixer?
>
> Is this when you change tracks, e.g. fwd/rev start a new playlist or
> during a normal transition between songs?
>
> Richard

rtitmuss
2005-04-01, 06:23
Neil Cameron wrote:

>Sorry Richard:
>- Win XP
>- MP3
>- SoftSqueeze 2b2 (the one that came with the 31-05 nightly)
>- Java 1.5 - beta
>
>It happens moving from one song to another in a playlist
>
>
>
Can you try upgrading to the released version of Java 1.5 (aka Java
5.0). In the Java beta releases the audio can loop when a buffer
underrun happens (when the Java audio buffer is empty, this is a very
small buffer at the end of the Softsqueeze audio pipeline).

After you upgrade you should find you get gaps instead of the echo. Now
I don't think the gaps are right either. If you do get gaps then we can
look at that problem next ...

Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-01, 06:29
I'll give it a bash and get back to you....

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:424D4B4B.50707 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>Sorry Richard:
>>- Win XP
>>- MP3
>>- SoftSqueeze 2b2 (the one that came with the 31-05 nightly)
>>- Java 1.5 - beta
>>
>>It happens moving from one song to another in a playlist
>>
>>
> Can you try upgrading to the released version of Java 1.5 (aka Java 5.0).
> In the Java beta releases the audio can loop when a buffer underrun
> happens (when the Java audio buffer is empty, this is a very small buffer
> at the end of the Softsqueeze audio pipeline).
>
> After you upgrade you should find you get gaps instead of the echo. Now I
> don't think the gaps are right either. If you do get gaps then we can look
> at that problem next ...
>
> Richard

Neil Cameron
2005-04-01, 07:25
I also downloaded the Java MP3 engine as well (after your prompt).
It is doing it much less often, but still sometimes.

Anything else worth trying? JLayer for example?

--
Neil


"Richard Titmuss" <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
wrote in message news:424D4B4B.50707 (AT) gmail (DOT) com...
> Neil Cameron wrote:
>
>>Sorry Richard:
>>- Win XP
>>- MP3
>>- SoftSqueeze 2b2 (the one that came with the 31-05 nightly)
>>- Java 1.5 - beta
>>
>>It happens moving from one song to another in a playlist
>>
>>
> Can you try upgrading to the released version of Java 1.5 (aka Java 5.0).
> In the Java beta releases the audio can loop when a buffer underrun
> happens (when the Java audio buffer is empty, this is a very small buffer
> at the end of the Softsqueeze audio pipeline).
>
> After you upgrade you should find you get gaps instead of the echo. Now I
> don't think the gaps are right either. If you do get gaps then we can look
> at that problem next ...
>
> Richard