PDA

View Full Version : Tag version



Steven Moore
2005-03-31, 03:54
Quick question;
Does it matter what tag version your mp3 files are for use with
slimserver 6?

Steven Moore

Dan Sully
2005-03-31, 10:08
* Steven Moore shaped the electrons to say...

>Does it matter what tag version your mp3 files are for use with slimserver 6?

Steve - SlimServer will read all versions of ID3 tags - v1.x, 2.2, 2.3 & 2.4

If you have high-bit / Unicode characters in your tags, I highly recommend v2.4

-D
--
Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.

Steven Moore
2005-03-31, 10:38
Thanks

Steven Moore
On 31 Mar 2005, at 6:08 pm, Dan Sully wrote:

> * Steven Moore shaped the electrons to say...
>
>> Does it matter what tag version your mp3 files are for use with
>> slimserver 6?
>
> Steve - SlimServer will read all versions of ID3 tags - v1.x, 2.2, 2.3
> & 2.4
>
> If you have high-bit / Unicode characters in your tags, I highly
> recommend v2.4
>
> -D
> --
> Welcome to hell. Here's your accordion.
>

d-mode
2005-03-31, 22:12
Does SQG = Sserver 6.0 support Russian text? How about SQ2? (Which has not
arrived yet...) If so what encoding and ID3 tag version is recommended?

Andrew


----- Original Message -----
From: "Dan Sully" <dan (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>

>* Steven Moore shaped the electrons to say...
>
>>Does it matter what tag version your mp3 files are for use with slimserver
>>6?
>
> Steve - SlimServer will read all versions of ID3 tags - v1.x, 2.2, 2.3 &
> 2.4
>
> If you have high-bit / Unicode characters in your tags, I highly recommend
> v2.4

d-mode
2005-04-05, 21:35
Does SQG + Sserver 6.0 (5-4 nightly) support Russian text? How about SQ2?
If so what encoding and ID3 tag version is recommended? Anything special
needed on the Win2K server to allow this?

Dan Sully
2005-04-05, 22:11
* d-mode shaped the electrons to say...

>Does SQG + Sserver 6.0 (5-4 nightly) support Russian text? How about SQ2?
>If so what encoding and ID3 tag version is recommended? Anything special
>needed on the Win2K server to allow this?

We do not currently have any Russian font support or translation.

-D
--
<dr.pox> does whistling in the dark make me go blind faster?

Dan Sully
2005-04-05, 22:21
* Raul da Silva shaped the electrons to say...

>How about Greek?

Again, not currently.

Translations welcome. Check out Michael Herger's translator plugin.

Fonts for the Player UI are forthcoming.

-D
--
"A good messenger expects to get shot." --Larry Wall

d-mode
2005-04-05, 23:17
Dan (or anyone else)

Perhaps I stopped one question too soon....
HOW do I make it so?

Andrew


----- Original Message -----
From: "Dan Sully" <dan (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, April 05, 2005 10:11 PM
Subject: [slim] Do the SB2 or SBG speak Russian?


>* d-mode shaped the electrons to say...
>
>>Does SQG + Sserver 6.0 (5-4 nightly) support Russian text? How about SQ2?
>>If so what encoding and ID3 tag version is recommended? Anything special
>>needed on the Win2K server to allow this?
>
> We do not currently have any Russian font support or translation.

Dan Sully
2005-04-05, 23:21
* d-mode shaped the electrons to say...

>Dan (or anyone else)
>
>Perhaps I stopped one question too soon....
>HOW do I make it so?

The first step would be to provide a Russian translation using Michael
Herger's String Editor plugin:

http://www.herger.net/slim/detail.php?nr=461&kategorie=slim

-D
--
There is no emergency. Nothing to see here. Move along.

mherger
2005-04-05, 23:29
On Tue, 5 Apr 2005 23:17:29 -0700, d-mode <d-mode (AT) pacbell (DOT) net> wrote:

> Dan (or anyone else)
>
> Perhaps I stopped one question too soon....
> HOW do I make it so?

If you want to help translate the server software, you can do this in
several ways:

- Download and install my StringEditor plugin
(http://www.herger.net/slim/detail.php?nr=461&kategorie=slim) and create a
new language using it ("Add language"). Then crawl your way through the
long list of "Missing translations".

- Take the strings.txt file in your slimserver's installation folder and
start adding your translations manually

The first way is IMHO easier and you won't risk to accidentally mess up
the strings.txt file. You can contact me off-list if you have any
questions about it.

> ----- Original Message ----- From: "Dan Sully" <dan (AT) slimdevices (DOT) com>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Tuesday, April 05, 2005 10:11 PM
> Subject: [slim] Do the SB2 or SBG speak Russian?
>
>
>> * d-mode shaped the electrons to say...
>>
>>> Does SQG + Sserver 6.0 (5-4 nightly) support Russian text? How about
>>> SQ2? If so what encoding and ID3 tag version is recommended? Anything
>>> special needed on the Win2K server to allow this?
>>
>> We do not currently have any Russian font support or translation.
>
>

d-mode
2005-04-06, 22:16
Got the SQ2 today and have noticed a few strange things while running on a
W2K server and yesterdays nightly:

1. The clock does NOT actually keep updating the time.
2. Digital output (Non-optical) WILL NOT lock with my reciever. All I get is
static if/when it 'syncs'. I have had to resort to analogue. :(
3. Spectrum analyser is cute but has NO bearing on the actual frequencies in
the output.... :(

Anyone have any insight into these?

Andrew
(Love the 'bulgie' eyes!)

Ben Sandee
2005-04-06, 22:46
On Apr 7, 2005 12:16 AM, d-mode <d-mode (AT) pacbell (DOT) net> wrote:
> 2. Digital output (Non-optical) WILL NOT lock with my reciever. All I get is
> static if/when it 'syncs'. I have had to resort to analogue. :(

You're likely going to have to supply more information such as what
make/model your receiver is.

> 3. Spectrum analyser is cute but has NO bearing on the actual frequencies in
> the output.... :(

Yeah.... I think mine's a bit wonky too. Hard to say but to my
completely untrained eye it sure looks like the lowest (leftmost)
meter is always too high. I really can't say whether or not it's
actually right though. I guess you could run a moving test tone
through to test it? Anyone done that?

Ben

d-mode
2005-04-06, 23:29
The receiver is a McIntosh MX135 and was /does work perfectly with my SBG.

The spectrum thingy looks like it is mirrored from the middle, as both ends
seem to be the bass portion. I have not done the test tone, but probably
will tomorrow.

Andrew


----- Original Message -----
From: "Ben Sandee" <tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Wednesday, April 06, 2005 10:46 PM
Subject: [slim] SBG clock screensaver and Digital out issues.


> On Apr 7, 2005 12:16 AM, d-mode <d-mode (AT) pacbell (DOT) net> wrote:
>> 2. Digital output (Non-optical) WILL NOT lock with my reciever. All I get
>> is
>> static if/when it 'syncs'. I have had to resort to analogue. :(
>
> You're likely going to have to supply more information such as what
> make/model your receiver is.
>
>> 3. Spectrum analyser is cute but has NO bearing on the actual frequencies
>> in
>> the output.... :(
>
> Yeah.... I think mine's a bit wonky too. Hard to say but to my
> completely untrained eye it sure looks like the lowest (leftmost)
> meter is always too high. I really can't say whether or not it's
> actually right though. I guess you could run a moving test tone
> through to test it? Anyone done that?

dean
2005-04-07, 07:03
On Apr 6, 2005, at 10:16 PM, d-mode wrote:

> Got the SQ2 today and have noticed a few strange things while running
> on a W2K server and yesterdays nightly:
>
> 1. The clock does NOT actually keep updating the time.
There was a bug in a pre-6.0.0 version that had a problem updating the
time. Are you running 6.0.1? Can you give some details on what you
are seeing?

dean
2005-04-07, 07:03
On Apr 6, 2005, at 10:16 PM, d-mode wrote:

> Got the SQ2 today and have noticed a few strange things while running
> on a W2K server and yesterdays nightly:
>
> 1. The clock does NOT actually keep updating the time.
There was a bug in a pre-6.0.0 version that had a problem updating the
time. Are you running 6.0.1? Can you give some details on what you
are seeing?

seanadams
2005-04-07, 07:34
> The spectrum thingy looks like it is mirrored from the middle, as both
> ends seem to be the bass portion. I have not done the test tone, but
> probably will tomorrow.

That's exactly what it's supposed to look like - it's a stereo spectrum
analyzer with bass on the outside bars.

>>> 2. Digital output (Non-optical) WILL NOT lock with my reciever. All
>>> I get is
>>> static if/when it 'syncs'. I have had to resort to analogue. :(


- How long, and what kind of cable is it?
- Does optical work?
- What is your MAC address?

seanadams
2005-04-07, 07:34
> The spectrum thingy looks like it is mirrored from the middle, as both
> ends seem to be the bass portion. I have not done the test tone, but
> probably will tomorrow.

That's exactly what it's supposed to look like - it's a stereo spectrum
analyzer with bass on the outside bars.

>>> 2. Digital output (Non-optical) WILL NOT lock with my reciever. All
>>> I get is
>>> static if/when it 'syncs'. I have had to resort to analogue. :(


- How long, and what kind of cable is it?
- Does optical work?
- What is your MAC address?