PDA

View Full Version : OK, this is totally, totally weird..



Gordon Harris
2005-03-30, 20:28
I have my SqueezeBox2 connected both via the analog outs to my preamp and via
SPDIF to a modified art di/o. I was trying to compare the new SB2 DAC to the
DI/O. I haven't gotten the q-tips out yet, so I won't comment on the
comparison.

What is really weird, though, is that when I disconnect the rca cables from the
SB2 analog outs, I suddenly don't get anything coming out of the SPDIF
connector either. I swear I'm not high, or otherwise impaired. Even leaving
one channel of the rca->analog SB2 connected keeps the digital SPDIF stream
flowing...doesn't matter which channel. But, disconnect them both, and the
SPDIF stream goes dead.

Anyone else seeing this, or am I special?

seanadams
2005-03-30, 20:40
hmmm.. must have a large ground offset between the three devices. I
assume you're using coax s/pdif, right?

On Mar 30, 2005, at 7:28 PM, Gordon Harris wrote:

> I have my SqueezeBox2 connected both via the analog outs to my preamp
> and via
> SPDIF to a modified art di/o. I was trying to compare the new SB2 DAC
> to the
> DI/O. I haven't gotten the q-tips out yet, so I won't comment on the
> comparison.
>
> What is really weird, though, is that when I disconnect the rca cables
> from the
> SB2 analog outs, I suddenly don't get anything coming out of the SPDIF
> connector either. I swear I'm not high, or otherwise impaired. Even
> leaving
> one channel of the rca->analog SB2 connected keeps the digital SPDIF
> stream
> flowing...doesn't matter which channel. But, disconnect them both,
> and the
> SPDIF stream goes dead.
>
> Anyone else seeing this, or am I special?
>
>
>
>

Gordon Harris
2005-03-30, 20:58
Sean Adams <sadams@...> writes:

>
> hmmm.. must have a large ground offset between the three devices. I
> assume you're using coax s/pdif, right?
>

Yes, I've tried two different coax cables for the s/pdif with no change in the
behavior. I've got all the audio equipment plugged into the same wall socket
surge suppresser.

seanadams
2005-03-30, 21:01
On Mar 30, 2005, at 7:58 PM, Gordon Harris wrote:

> Sean Adams <sadams@...> writes:
>
>>
>> hmmm.. must have a large ground offset between the three devices. I
>> assume you're using coax s/pdif, right?
>>
>
> Yes, I've tried two different coax cables for the s/pdif with no
> change in the
> behavior. I've got all the audio equipment plugged into the same wall
> socket
> surge suppresser.
>

Does your DAC have optical in?

Gordon Harris
2005-03-30, 21:11
Sean Adams <sadams@...> writes:

>
> Does your DAC have optical in?
>

Nope, just S/PDIF. Waddya want for a $137 DAC?

seanadams
2005-03-30, 21:21
>
>>
>> Does your DAC have optical in?
>>
>
> Nope, just S/PDIF. Waddya want for a $137 DAC?

Crap - well this is a tricky issue to debug without poking at it with a
scope.

BTW S/PDIF is S/PDIF - could mean optical or coax. "TOSLink"
specifically means optical, but if you just say S/PDIF it could mean
either.

Anyway I don't have an answer OTOH but I'll think on it...

Gordon Harris
2005-03-30, 21:34
Sean Adams <sadams@...> writes:

> BTW S/PDIF is S/PDIF - could mean optical or coax. "TOSLink"
> specifically means optical, but if you just say S/PDIF it could mean
> either.
>

Sorry, my mistake. It's coax only. I'm a newby to the DAC and digital
interface world, which is why I'm using a $137 DAC. I also don't really
understand electronics either. BTW, would grounding the SB2 and the DI/O
chassis together do anything? If so, where would I find a good spot to tie a
ground to on the SB2?

mxt
2005-04-10, 03:41
I'm seeing something very similar. I've got the SB2 hooked up via coax to the digital input of a Denon receiver. If the coax cable is the only connection between the two, and I'm going wired ethernet, then about every 5-10 seconds the Denon indicator for PCM signal blinks and there's silence for a fraction of a second. If I switch to wireless (and disconnect the ethernet cable) then the dropouts are much more frequent and longer - there's only sound about half the time. But if I connect a cable from the SB2 analog out to any analog input of the receiver, the dropout problem immediately disappears. Oh, btw I have two SB2's and see the exact same behaviour with both.

This isn't a big issue for me personally - I've got lots of analog inputs on the receiver and can just leave a cable connected. It had me thinking I had a network/PC performance problem until I figured it out, though.