PDA

View Full Version : Anybody else having cpu useage issues with currentSoftsqueeze? (2.0a16)



Daniel Born
2005-03-28, 13:07
Hi all,

Still having problems with current softsqueeze using 100% cpu? (just
downloaded the latest nightly of slimserver in case it would make a
difference).

This is pretty much making softsqueeze unuseable for me as my computer
slows to a crawl whenever it's on (starts off ok but slowly consumes
more and more memory up to 64mb and 100%).

Thanks for any help,
Daniel

rtitmuss
2005-03-28, 13:57
On 28 Mar 2005, at 21:07, Daniel Born wrote:

> Hi all,
>
> Still having problems with current softsqueeze using 100% cpu? (just
> downloaded the latest nightly of slimserver in case it would make a
> difference).
>
> This is pretty much making softsqueeze unuseable for me as my computer
> slows to a crawl whenever it's on (starts off ok but slowly consumes
> more and more memory up to 64mb and 100%).
>
> Thanks for any help,
> Daniel
>

Daniel,

What music format are you listening to when you see this high cpu? Are
you using a visualizer?

It sounds like a thread in Softsqueeze is spinning when you use it.
Could you please start Softsqueeze from the command prompt
(instructions are on the Softsqueeze website). Then when your cpu usage
hits 100%, stop playing the current track and then press ctrl-break in
the window where you ran the java command. If you could do this three
times giving a few seconds in between and send me the results I can
probably spot what has gone wrong.

Richard

Daniel Born
2005-03-28, 14:36
Richard,

All my music is MP3 at 160kbps CBR. It also does this when no music is
playing (but after having played music, not at first...). It only
started doing this recently (since I moved from Slimserver V5.4.1 to
6.x nightly).

I'll get right on it and report back here as soon as I can!

Thanks for your help and a great product!
Daniel


On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 21:57:26 +0100, Richard Titmuss
<richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:

>
>On 28 Mar 2005, at 21:07, Daniel Born wrote:
>
>> Hi all,
>>
>> Still having problems with current softsqueeze using 100% cpu? (just
>> downloaded the latest nightly of slimserver in case it would make a
>> difference).
>>
>> This is pretty much making softsqueeze unuseable for me as my computer
>> slows to a crawl whenever it's on (starts off ok but slowly consumes
>> more and more memory up to 64mb and 100%).
>>
>> Thanks for any help,
>> Daniel
>>
>
>Daniel,
>
>What music format are you listening to when you see this high cpu? Are
>you using a visualizer?
>
>It sounds like a thread in Softsqueeze is spinning when you use it.
>Could you please start Softsqueeze from the command prompt
>(instructions are on the Softsqueeze website). Then when your cpu usage
>hits 100%, stop playing the current track and then press ctrl-break in
>the window where you ran the java command. If you could do this three
>times giving a few seconds in between and send me the results I can
>probably spot what has gone wrong.
>
>Richard

Daniel Born
2005-03-28, 14:38
It only started doing this since using slimserver V6 and corresponding
softsqueeze. It worked fine before. It seems to be something that
deteriorates over time (but quite rapidly nonetheless).

Daniel

On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 13:38:21 -0700, "Jason"
<jason (AT) pagefamily (DOT) net> wrote:

>Sounds like your machine might be having some Java problems. My cpu hovers
>around 6-9% on the JavaW process which I believe is used by Softsqueeze.
>RAM used is about 70M (which seems like a lot).
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>> [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of
>> Daniel Born
>> Sent: Monday, March 28, 2005 1:08 PM
>> To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
>> Subject: [slim] Anybody else having cpu useage issues with
>> currentSoftsqueeze? (2.0a16)
>>
>> Hi all,
>>
>> Still having problems with current softsqueeze using 100%
>> cpu? (just downloaded the latest nightly of slimserver in
>> case it would make a difference).
>>
>> This is pretty much making softsqueeze unuseable for me as my
>> computer slows to a crawl whenever it's on (starts off ok but
>> slowly consumes more and more memory up to 64mb and 100%).
>>
>> Thanks for any help,
>> Daniel
>>
>>
>>

Daniel Born
2005-03-28, 14:42
Oops, forgot to mention. No visualizer, just the elapsed time and
"TRACKNUM. TITLE - ARTIST - ALBUM" title format which makes the
display scroll text. Working on trying what you suggested and will
report back!

Daniel

On Mon, 28 Mar 2005 21:57:26 +0100, Richard Titmuss
<richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:

>
>On 28 Mar 2005, at 21:07, Daniel Born wrote:
>
>> Hi all,
>>
>> Still having problems with current softsqueeze using 100% cpu? (just
>> downloaded the latest nightly of slimserver in case it would make a
>> difference).
>>
>> This is pretty much making softsqueeze unuseable for me as my computer
>> slows to a crawl whenever it's on (starts off ok but slowly consumes
>> more and more memory up to 64mb and 100%).
>>
>> Thanks for any help,
>> Daniel
>>
>
>Daniel,
>
>What music format are you listening to when you see this high cpu? Are
>you using a visualizer?
>
>It sounds like a thread in Softsqueeze is spinning when you use it.
>Could you please start Softsqueeze from the command prompt
>(instructions are on the Softsqueeze website). Then when your cpu usage
>hits 100%, stop playing the current track and then press ctrl-break in
>the window where you ran the java command. If you could do this three
>times giving a few seconds in between and send me the results I can
>probably spot what has gone wrong.
>
>Richard