PDA

View Full Version : Starting slimserver in Windows



Manuel Rathmann
2005-03-22, 13:58
Hi there,

I'm running Slimserver 5.4.1 for Windows. Upgrading to the latest version 6
completely
screwed my system so I'm back with the old one. I am using Itunes to keep my
music organized
and therefore would like to run the Itunes plugin as well which updates my
ratings etc.

Everything is working fine except that I have not found a clever way of
starting slimserver.
I used to run it as a service but I want to use the direct update
functionality of the Itunes
plugin - for that it must not run as a service.

When I simply put SlimServer.exe in my startup folder it works except that
it takes a long
time for Slimserver to start, takes a lot of memory and I cannot get it to
start minimized.

I've tried playing around with running just Slim.exe but that does not work
either. There
must be a way to run SlimServer "silently" in the background without hogging
lots of memory
and not using a service...

Any help would be very much apprechiated.

Cheers,
Manuel

Dan Sully
2005-03-22, 14:11
* Manuel Rathmann shaped the electrons to say...

> I'm running Slimserver 5.4.1 for Windows. Upgrading to the latest version 6
> completely screwed my system so I'm back with the old one. I am using
> Itunes to keep my music organized and therefore would like to run the
> Itunes plugin as well which updates my ratings etc.

Manuel - could you be a little more descriptive in "completely screwed my system" ?

Thanks.

-D
--
For every new fool-proof invention there is a new and improved fool.

Marc Sherman
2005-03-22, 14:17
Dan Sully wrote:
>
> Manuel - could you be a little more descriptive in "completely screwed
> my system" ?

Perhaps version 6.0 includes some kind of proprietary security protocol?
http://diswww.mit.edu/bloom-picayune/crypto/14238 (last paragraph)

Hey, it is kind of audio related, at least. :)

- Marc

Michel Fombellida
2005-03-22, 15:29
Hi,

> - Version 6 seems to consider more tags than the previous version. All of a
> sudden
> my "browe by Artist" showed up Artists I never heared of. Keep in mind
> that ITunes
> showed everything correct. I found out that some of my MP3s had tags like
> "Composer"
> which were considered as well as "Artist".

this is one of the problem I reported in bug 1133 and in a message below:

"...there is still one issue on the Squeezebox itself. If you do Browse Music-
>Browse Genres->select one genre-> then instead of seing a list of Artists in
this genre I actually see a list of Artists AND Composers! Note the server
setting is "Don't include composer, band and orchestra in artists".

With the latest nightly of 6.0 this behaviour is now only in Browse by genres
(browser by Artist is correct now).

Michel

Michel Fombellida
2005-03-23, 01:55
Hi Manuel,

I am not sure I understand your problem, I am runing slimserver as a service
and I use the iTunes plugin... no problem at all. It was working with V5 and
still works with V6.

Michel