PDA

View Full Version : Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?



Robert Rozman
2005-03-18, 05:12
Hi,

can I have more than one software players from slim server on single pc ?

Any chance to do this and how ?

Thanks,

regards,

Rob.

Robert Rozman
2005-03-21, 01:11
----- Original Message -----
From: "Robert Rozman" <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Friday, March 18, 2005 1:12 PM
Subject: [slim] Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?


> Hi,
>
> can I have more than one software players from slim server on single pc ?
>
> Any chance to do this and how ?
>

Really no one knows the answer ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Rob.

Karel Tromp
2005-03-21, 01:27
Hello,

Why do you want to have more players on one single IP?

karel


On Mon, 21 Mar 2005 09:11:40 +0100, Robert Rozman <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si> wrote:
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Robert Rozman" <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Friday, March 18, 2005 1:12 PM
> Subject: [slim] Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > can I have more than one software players from slim server on single pc ?
> >
> > Any chance to do this and how ?
> >
>
> Really no one knows the answer ?
>
> Thanks in advance,
>
> regards,
>
> Rob.
>

Robert Rozman
2005-03-21, 05:16
----- Original Message -----
From: "Karel Tromp" <slimkarel (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, March 21, 2005 9:27 AM
Subject: [slim] Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?


> Hello,
>
> Why do you want to have more players on one single IP?
>
> karel
Hi,

I have multiple sound cards with separate stereo channels feeding whole
house audio (it's much cheaper to buy a soundcard than squeezebox - if
location is not too distant) . I'd be nice if I could run multiple soft
clients each on its own channel...

Is this possible with slim ? How do you cope with similar situations ?

Regards,

Rob.


>
>
> On Mon, 21 Mar 2005 09:11:40 +0100, Robert Rozman <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si>
> wrote:
>>
>> ----- Original Message -----
>> From: "Robert Rozman" <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si>
>> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
>> Sent: Friday, March 18, 2005 1:12 PM
>> Subject: [slim] Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?
>>
>> > Hi,
>> >
>> > can I have more than one software players from slim server on single pc
>> > ?
>> >
>> > Any chance to do this and how ?
>> >
>>
>> Really no one knows the answer ?
>>
>> Thanks in advance,
>>
>> regards,
>>
>> Rob.
>>

Karel Tromp
2005-03-21, 07:49
OK, I think it would not be possible. For as far I know Slimserver
arange playlists per IP address. Maybe if you organize something with
a router it would be possible (when you can create several IP
addresses) but that would require more networkadapters.

An other solution might be the use of Foobar2000. This program let you
select a sounddevice of your choice for playing songs. The more
instances of Foobar2000 you have opened, the more devices it should be
able to address (one for each). Perhaps you have to install Foobar
serveral times under different dirs on your pc.

The slimserver software would not be needed anymore than.

Karel


On Mon, 21 Mar 2005 13:16:07 +0100, Robert Rozman <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si> wrote:
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: "Karel Tromp" <slimkarel (AT) gmail (DOT) com>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Monday, March 21, 2005 9:27 AM
> Subject: [slim] Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?
>
> > Hello,
> >
> > Why do you want to have more players on one single IP?
> >
> > karel
> Hi,
>
> I have multiple sound cards with separate stereo channels feeding whole
> house audio (it's much cheaper to buy a soundcard than squeezebox - if
> location is not too distant) . I'd be nice if I could run multiple soft
> clients each on its own channel...
>
> Is this possible with slim ? How do you cope with similar situations ?
>
> Regards,
>
> Rob.
>
>
> >
> >
> > On Mon, 21 Mar 2005 09:11:40 +0100, Robert Rozman <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si>
> > wrote:
> >>
> >> ----- Original Message -----
> >> From: "Robert Rozman" <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si>
> >> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> >> Sent: Friday, March 18, 2005 1:12 PM
> >> Subject: [slim] Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?
> >>
> >> > Hi,
> >> >
> >> > can I have more than one software players from slim server on single pc
> >> > ?
> >> >
> >> > Any chance to do this and how ?
> >> >
> >>
> >> Really no one knows the answer ?
> >>
> >> Thanks in advance,
> >>
> >> regards,
> >>
> >> Rob.
> >>

Jack Coates
2005-03-21, 08:26
Robert Rozman wrote:
>
> ----- Original Message ----- From: "Robert Rozman" <rozman (AT) etrust (DOT) si>
> To: "Slim Devices Discussion" <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
> Sent: Friday, March 18, 2005 1:12 PM
> Subject: [slim] Can I have more slim software players on single ip ?
>
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> can I have more than one software players from slim server on single pc ?
>>
>> Any chance to do this and how ?
>>
>
> Really no one knows the answer ?
> Thanks in advance,
>
> regards,
>
> Rob.

a) no one understands why you want it.
b) no one's tried it yet.
and c) it's so simple to try, no one understands why you haven't tried
it yet :)

I suspect that it would require ssh-tunnelling to work, which luckily is
built into Softsqueeze; at the very least, I can tell you that two of
them will launch on the same PC, but who knows if they'd mux to the
soundcard or bind to individual soundcards properly.

--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!

rtitmuss
2005-03-22, 16:11
Jack Coates wrote:

> b) no one's tried it yet.

Well not true. Someone has tried using four instances of Softsqueeze's
on a single PC with multiple sound cards. I understand this was
partially successful, the Softsqueeze players were recognized as
individual players by the slimserver and correctly played separate
streams over the appropriate audio card. Sync did not work correctly,
and we never finished debugging this before the audio cards had to be
returned.

> and c) it's so simple to try, no one understands why you haven't tried
> it yet :)

Yes, it is. Try this: write down the names of the audio mixers you want
to use from the softsqueeze preferences. The start softsqueeze from the
command prompt using:

java -Dmacaddress=11:11:11:11:11:11 -Daudio.mixer='Primary Sound Driver'
-jar SoftSqueeze.jar

Change the mac address to whatever you need, and the audio mixer as
appropriate. This will override the stored preferences and creates
additional independent Softsqueeze players on the same PC.

Regards,
Richard

Chris Laplante
2005-04-10, 22:39
Is it possible to do something equivalent (I tried this, it bombs) to
the following:

java -jar -Daudio.mixer='/dev/null' SoftSqueeze.jar

I am running multiple SoftSqueeze instances on a server, and
displaying back to lower-power machines that run slimp3slave locally
to handle the audio. This setup works great for the first client
machine, on the second client it plays one song and then stops b/c it
can not open the soundcard on the server (which has nothing hooked to
it).

Essentially I would want to use it as a remote control only, and not
have it play audio at all. Failing that I guess I would have to add
one card per client on the server, or look into esd/nsd so it thinks
it is talking to a card.

Thanks,

-chris

On Mar 22, 2005 4:11 PM, Richard Titmuss <richard.titmuss (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> Jack Coates wrote:
>
> > b) no one's tried it yet.
>
> Well not true. Someone has tried using four instances of Softsqueeze's
> on a single PC with multiple sound cards. I understand this was
> partially successful, the Softsqueeze players were recognized as
> individual players by the slimserver and correctly played separate
> streams over the appropriate audio card. Sync did not work correctly,
> and we never finished debugging this before the audio cards had to be
> returned.
>
> > and c) it's so simple to try, no one understands why you haven't tried
> > it yet :)
>
> Yes, it is. Try this: write down the names of the audio mixers you want
> to use from the softsqueeze preferences. The start softsqueeze from the
> command prompt using:
>
> java -Dmacaddress=11:11:11:11:11:11 -Daudio.mixer='Primary Sound Driver'
> -jar SoftSqueeze.jar
>
> Change the mac address to whatever you need, and the audio mixer as
> appropriate. This will override the stored preferences and creates
> additional independent Softsqueeze players on the same PC.
>
> Regards,
> Richard
>
>

jmpage2
2005-04-11, 09:26
With what you can get a used Slimp3 or Squeezebox for (or even a Roku M500 for that matter) I don't know why you would go through the frustration of trying to get Slim software to do something it wasn't designed to do in the first place.

Chris Laplante
2005-04-11, 10:15
Wow that was productive..

Actually I am not "such a cheapskate" in that I bought 4x$300
touchscreen flat panel geode CPU based PC's to use as dedicated
SoftSqueeze boxen. These are being put into custom Mahogany cases that
are being built. I wanted something a bit different looking and more
graphical than the LCD/VFD of the squeezebox. (No insult to the great
product, I will likely buy a dedicated unit once the new code is more
stable.) They were a bit less powerful in terms of CPU than I
intended, so I am trying to work around it.

At any rate I think I solved my own problem after posting in the form
of the snd-dummy kernel module.

Thanks,

-chris

On Apr 11, 2005 9:26 AM, jmpage2
<jmpage2.1nc1jz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Or, stop being such a cheapskate and invest in a couple of secondhand
> SB1s.. they are going pretty cheap on eBay.
>
> --
> jmpage2
>

jmpage2
2005-04-11, 12:00
Wow that was productive..

Actually I am not "such a cheapskate" in that I bought 4x$300
touchscreen flat panel geode CPU based PC's to use as dedicated
SoftSqueeze boxen. These are being put into custom Mahogany cases that
are being built. I wanted something a bit different looking and more
graphical than the LCD/VFD of the squeezebox. (No insult to the great
product, I will likely buy a dedicated unit once the new code is more
stable.) They were a bit less powerful in terms of CPU than I
intended, so I am trying to work around it.

At any rate I think I solved my own problem after posting in the form
of the snd-dummy kernel module.

Thanks,

-chris

On Apr 11, 2005 9:26 AM, jmpage2
<jmpage2.1nc1jz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Or, stop being such a cheapskate and invest in a couple of secondhand
> SB1s.. they are going pretty cheap on eBay.
>
> --
> jmpage2
>


You will notice that I edited and tempered my hasty response. One of the benefits of a forum over an email distro. Sadly it looks like the email went out before I could edit.

The point that I am trying to make is that the Slim software is designed to drive squeezeboxes. When Squeezeboxes get purchased it helps keep Slim Devices in business.

Even if someone spends thousands on high end PCs and cases to run Softsqueeze it does not do anything for the continued financial well being of Slim Devices.

max.spicer
2005-04-11, 13:14
You will notice that I edited and tempered my hasty response. One of the benefits of a forum over an email distro. Sadly it looks like the email went out before I could edit.
Are edits sent out to the email list/newsgroups? I edited an early vbulletin post and it didn't seem to be reflected on the newsgroups (my old way of reading these forums).

Chris Laplante
2005-04-11, 13:14
I agree, I planned to do just that, as well as buy one for a friend. I
am just holding off until the current code gets more stable, 6.1 seems
like it is getting closer. I figure by 6.2 (or whatever next release
after 6.1) it should be production quality.

-chris


On Apr 11, 2005 12:00 PM, jmpage2
<jmpage2.1nc8qb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Chris Laplante Wrote:
> > Wow that was productive..
> >
> > Actually I am not "such a cheapskate" in that I bought 4x$300
> > touchscreen flat panel geode CPU based PC's to use as dedicated
> > SoftSqueeze boxen. These are being put into custom Mahogany cases that
> > are being built. I wanted something a bit different looking and more
> > graphical than the LCD/VFD of the squeezebox. (No insult to the great
> > product, I will likely buy a dedicated unit once the new code is more
> > stable.) They were a bit less powerful in terms of CPU than I
> > intended, so I am trying to work around it.
> >
> > At any rate I think I solved my own problem after posting in the form
> > of the snd-dummy kernel module.
> >
> > Thanks,
> >
> > -chris
> >
> > On Apr 11, 2005 9:26 AM, jmpage2
> > <jmpage2.1nc1jz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > Or, stop being such a cheapskate and invest in a couple of
> > secondhand
> > > SB1s.. they are going pretty cheap on eBay.
> > >
> > > --
> > > jmpage2
> > >
>
> You will notice that I edited and tempered my hasty response. One of
> the benefits of a forum over an email distro. Sadly it looks like the
> email went out before I could edit.
>
> The point that I am trying to make is that the Slim software is
> designed to drive squeezeboxes. When Squeezeboxes get purchased it
> helps keep Slim Devices in business.
>
> Even if someone spends thousands on high end PCs and cases to run
> Softsqueeze it does not do anything for the continued financial well
> being of Slim Devices.
>
> --
> jmpage2
>