PDA

View Full Version : web browser refresh annoyance



thnmnt
2005-03-17, 09:58
ok, i searched the bug database and couldn't find anything and i may be the
only one who is annoyed by this.

when i'm picking something to play - searching artist, browsing etc..and
then notice that i have the wrong squeezebox selected - changing the
squeezebox (say from upstairs to downstairs) refreshes the whole browser and
i have to start my search all over again. (slimserver 5.4.0)

i understand this is more of an HTML issue and less of a server side thing.

anyone else have this annoyance?

--t

Dan Sully
2005-03-17, 10:14
* thnmnt shaped the electrons to say...

>ok, i searched the bug database and couldn't find anything and i may be the
>only one who is annoyed by this.
>
>when i'm picking something to play - searching artist, browsing etc..and
>then notice that i have the wrong squeezebox selected - changing the
>squeezebox (say from upstairs to downstairs) refreshes the whole browser and
>i have to start my search all over again. (slimserver 5.4.0)
>
>i understand this is more of an HTML issue and less of a server side thing.
>
>anyone else have this annoyance?

This is needed in order to pass the player variable to the server.

-D
--
There is no emergency. Nothing to see here. Move along.

kdf
2005-03-17, 11:14
Quoting thnmnt <thnmnt (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:

> ok, i searched the bug database and couldn't find anything and i may be the
> only one who is annoyed by this.
>
> when i'm picking something to play - searching artist, browsing etc..and
> then notice that i have the wrong squeezebox selected - changing the
> squeezebox (say from upstairs to downstairs) refreshes the whole browser and
> i have to start my search all over again. (slimserver 5.4.0)
>
> i understand this is more of an HTML issue and less of a server side thing.
>
> anyone else have this annoyance?
>
I tend to use the nearest pc to a given player (I have an hp laptop and an
ibook). Using the fishbone skin, the cookies store the chosen player. That
makes it less of a nuisance, but I can certainly understand what you are going
through. Have you looked at ExBrowse2 or Default2? Both of these rely heavily
on javascript and XHTML and seem to be much more responsive to changes like
this, thanks to Jacob's great work on those.

-kdf