PDA

View Full Version : Ogg Vorbis Support on SB2?



Dan
2005-03-15, 19:13
What is all this talk about the SqueezeBox2 not supporting Ogg Vorbis.
The features page states that it does and that is why I bought one.
Please don't tell me I can't play my Ogg Vorbis music files on the
SqueezeBox2...

Dan

Michael Peters
2005-03-15, 19:17
On Tue, 15 Mar 2005 20:13:28 -0600, Dan <dslap (AT) wi (DOT) rr.com> wrote:
> What is all this talk about the SqueezeBox2 not supporting Ogg Vorbis.
> The features page states that it does and that is why I bought one.
> Please don't tell me I can't play my Ogg Vorbis music files on the
> SqueezeBox2...

Oh you can - the ogg files are decoded on the server, and then sent to
the squeezebox either re-encoded as an mp3, flac, or unencoded as a
PCM.

The discussion is to be able to stream to the Squeezebox2 as an ogg
stream, with the decoding of ogg done there rather than on the server.

--
http://mpeters.us/

Bill Moseley
2005-03-15, 20:07
On Tue, Mar 15, 2005 at 06:17:39PM -0800, Michael Peters wrote:
> Oh you can - the ogg files are decoded on the server, and then sent to
> the squeezebox either re-encoded as an mp3, flac, or unencoded as a
> PCM.

Sorry if I missed something in this thread, but what's the down side
of ogg->pcm on the server? Bandwidth to the SB? I suspect that
might be the issue for higher bitrates. (Yes, I'm not an audio
engineer.)

I have quite a bit to learn. I just got my SB1 and and for some
reason I thought my ogg were going to get encoded to mp3 by the
server -- I guess I saw the "ogg mp3 * *" entry in convert.conf. But
it seems they are sent pcm (correct?) as I don't see lame running.

And with all the talk of the better DAC on SB2, does that even come
into play if I (someday) use the S/PDIF or optical output?

I hope the answers are not too far over my head. ;)



--
Bill Moseley
moseley (AT) hank (DOT) org

Joshua Uziel
2005-03-15, 20:19
* Bill Moseley <moseley (AT) hank (DOT) org> [050315 19:07]:
> Sorry if I missed something in this thread, but what's the down side
> of ogg->pcm on the server? Bandwidth to the SB? I suspect that
> might be the issue for higher bitrates. (Yes, I'm not an audio
> engineer.)

When you use mp3 or ogg, you have a range of bitrates you can do... when
you send pcm, you're sending raw data that is usually an order of
magnitude larger. So bandwidth usage is much higher.

> I have quite a bit to learn. I just got my SB1 and and for some
> reason I thought my ogg were going to get encoded to mp3 by the
> server -- I guess I saw the "ogg mp3 * *" entry in convert.conf. But
> it seems they are sent pcm (correct?) as I don't see lame running.

It'll do either, depending on your settings... you can either send pcm
or mp3, and with mp3, you can do a range of bitrates.

> And with all the talk of the better DAC on SB2, does that even come
> into play if I (someday) use the S/PDIF or optical output?

I think the answer is a great big "it depends", but I'm a Linux geek,
not an audio geek, so I'll leave this part to someone else.

> I hope the answers are not too far over my head. ;)

Be brave. :)

Aaron Zinck
2005-03-15, 21:00
Things will (more or less) look and operate the same to the end user except once 6.0 becomes more mature you should see speedier performance, a smaller memory footprint, and more features. There'll still be a rescan button.

Bill Moseley
2005-03-16, 09:53
On Wed, Mar 16, 2005 at 11:23:47AM +0100, Christian Pernegger wrote:
> >Sorry if I missed something in this thread, but what's the down side
> >of ogg->pcm on the server? Bandwidth to the SB?
>
> Yes. Raw PCM is just below 1400kbit while the ogg stream itself would be
> much larger.

By larger you mean more bandwidth required? Why would ogg require
more bandwidth that raw PCM over the network?

> The sb1 wireless might be a close call but for everthing else there is no
> bandwidth problem, seeing as any sb1 would be connected to 10/100 switches
> anyway.

Mine sb1 and AP are sharing an old cheap hub I had around. I didn't
think it mattered when I only had one device on it (the AP), but now
with two devices I'm planning on replacing it with a switch. Still,
have not seen any problems streaming my flac.


--
Bill Moseley
moseley (AT) hank (DOT) org