PDA

View Full Version : Crazy squeezebox idea as a thermostat?



PAUL WILLIAMSON
2005-03-14, 17:22
>>> jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org 03/14/05 6:58 PM >>>
>Jay Sissom wrote:
>> I'm not saying that you couldn't make your squeezebox do it, I just
>> wouldn't suggest using X10 for it. X10 should be used for
non-mission
>> critical applications in my opinion.
>>
>> Jay
>
>It's a radio thing, uses the same channels as car alarms. My
>neighbor and I have definitely annoyed the hell out of each other,
>me turning off his alarm, him turning on my lights. I've changed
>channels a few times, so we don't totally interfere, but it's not
>perfect by a long shot.
>

Radio? I thought X-10 was a power line command set? I've been using
X-10 to control my Christmas lights and kids nightlights for
about 5 years or more. I've never had these problems. Then again,
I have a hardwired bridge in my house for the A-B leg jumping.

So, if not using X-10, how else could I do it?

I'd like to use this as an excuse to buy 2 or 3 more squeezeboxen,
but it sounds like I may have to go the regular joe six-pack
programmable remote route. Bummer...

Paul

Jack Coates
2005-03-14, 17:50
PAUL WILLIAMSON wrote:
>>>>jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org 03/14/05 6:58 PM >>>
>>
>>Jay Sissom wrote:
>>
>>>I'm not saying that you couldn't make your squeezebox do it, I just
>>>wouldn't suggest using X10 for it. X10 should be used for
>
> non-mission
>
>>>critical applications in my opinion.
>>>
>>>Jay
>>
>>It's a radio thing, uses the same channels as car alarms. My
>>neighbor and I have definitely annoyed the hell out of each other,
>>me turning off his alarm, him turning on my lights. I've changed
>>channels a few times, so we don't totally interfere, but it's not
>>perfect by a long shot.
>>
>
>
> Radio? I thought X-10 was a power line command set? I've been using
> X-10 to control my Christmas lights and kids nightlights for
> about 5 years or more. I've never had these problems. Then again,
> I have a hardwired bridge in my house for the A-B leg jumping.
>

My kit is a firecracker, so it uses radio to get from the server's
serial port to the top of the powerline chain.

> So, if not using X-10, how else could I do it?
>
> I'd like to use this as an excuse to buy 2 or 3 more squeezeboxen,
> but it sounds like I may have to go the regular joe six-pack
> programmable remote route. Bummer...
>
> Paul



--
Jack at Monkeynoodle dot Org: It's a Scientific Venture...
Riding the Emergency Third Rail Power Trip since 1996!