PDA

View Full Version : Controlling power amp



Bill Moseley
2005-03-14, 11:31
I have a sb1 connected directly to an Adcom GFA 535-II power amp. It
doesn't have an IR remote.

Anyone have a suggestion how to get squezzebox to turn on and off the
amp's power?

Any suggestions?


--
Bill Moseley
moseley (AT) hank (DOT) org

Jeffrey Gordon
2005-03-14, 11:37
Bill Moseley wrote:
> I have a sb1 connected directly to an Adcom GFA 535-II power amp. It
> doesn't have an IR remote.
>
> Anyone have a suggestion how to get squezzebox to turn on and off the
> amp's power?
>
> Any suggestions?
>
>
Does the amp have a 12V trigger? If so it may be possible to use the
Geek connector to power a relay trigger it. I do not know about
interfacing with the geek connector though.

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.2.1 (MingW32)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Thunderbird - http://enigmail.mozdev.org

iD8DBQFCNdoBH0fQtyBJLGwRAmYrAJ0WCVIv1zOtYVXHfiVod8 SnO2FA8wCfatEz
wS8TBFIxF1wry0/X75PdTNM=
=gxdd
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

Ben Klaas
2005-03-14, 11:40
I write a lot of automation code for my job that often invovles
automated power-cycling devices via network-accessible power switches
(in my case, via telnet). The power switches I use have 8 outlets and
cost about $600, so that's overkill for your needs, but at least in
theory it would work like this:

power amp plugged into networked power switch

squeezebox is configured to execute a remote script when hitting a
particular button on the remote (i've never done that, but search the
archives on it--there has been discussion recently about how to do this)

the remote script logs into the network power switch and powers it off/on

what would be really cool is if it could happen when you hit the
squeezebox remote's power button-- i.e., when you hit power to turn it
on, it turns on the squeezebox and turns on the power amp. when you hit
power to turn it off, it powers down the amp followed by the squeezebox...

if you get this rolling, post how you did it to this list. I'm curious.

#!/ben

Bill Moseley wrote:
> I have a sb1 connected directly to an Adcom GFA 535-II power amp. It
> doesn't have an IR remote.
>
> Anyone have a suggestion how to get squezzebox to turn on and off the
> amp's power?
>
> Any suggestions?
>
>

John Gorst
2005-03-14, 13:13
Bill Moseley wrote:
> I have a sb1 connected directly to an Adcom GFA 535-II power amp. It
> doesn't have an IR remote.
>
> Anyone have a suggestion how to get squezzebox to turn on and off the
> amp's power?
>
> Any suggestions?


About to embark on a project to do the exact smae thing.

Enable the setting in server settings to relay messages by xpl (see
xplproject.co.uk)

When enabled slimserver will relay all ir commands (of most remtoes not
just the squeezebox ones) and also send 'heartbeat' messages when a
squeezebox is switched on and ever x minutes after that.

Set up a 'xpl' home automation server to react to all these messages,
which connects to 'x10' home automation gear.

With this I aim to switch my amp on when my squeezebox is being used.
Also to set scenic light settings by using another remote.

The only problem is that my only 24.7 comptuer is slimserver running on
linux. The only linux xpl server is 'misterhouse' which is VERY
complicated. I am setting up a very old (think 486!) windows nt machine
to run xplhal until a perl version of xplhal is written.

HTH

Bill Moseley
2005-03-14, 15:48
On Mon, Mar 14, 2005 at 04:19:18PM -0400, Chris Mason wrote:
> Use a programmable remote and remote controlled power switch. Alternatively,
> the quiescent current draw of an amp is minimal, why bother?

That's been my current method -- just leave it running. The speakers
make a little noise, though, when not in use which is why I was
asking. Not sure where that noise is coming from. Plus, the power
amp is in a location where it's not easy to reach the switch.

When I first bought that amp the sales person told me that it was best
to leave the amp on to make the amp last longer and to make it more
stable.

I called Adcom and talked with one of the engineers who basically said
that was all hogwash. He said the damage to the amp was heat over a
long time (the capacitors wore out) and said it was better to power it
off. And that the amp was stable within seconds of powering on -- at
least for a range that anyone would be able to hear. But, we both
agreed that over the life of the amp it probably wouldn't make any
difference either way.

BTW -- this is probably a FAQ, and also for another topic, but why are
the remotes IR? A few years back I bought an X10 "Mouse Remote"
that I have hooked up one machine. It uses a simple perl script to
read the remote key presses (which I use to use to run xmms, for
example). But it sure was nice having an RF remote -- and impressive
range, too. Great for those backyard parties.

I suspect it's trivial to get that X10 remote to control a squeezebox.


--
Bill Moseley
moseley (AT) hank (DOT) org