PDA

View Full Version : RFI with SB. Will it happen with SB2?



Alan D. Falk
2005-03-14, 09:11
I experience AM RFI with my SBG/Wireless connected to one of those Cambridge
Soundworks high-end CD/clock radios (forgot model number; it's the same idea
as the Bose WaveRadio). If I want to listen to AM radio (eg, a ballgame), I
have to unplug the power on the SB. This is only a little inconvenient,
since the SB boots up pretty quickly when I plug it back in; still it seems
like a stupid thing to have to do.

Two questions:

1) Is there any way to eliminate this RFI with my current SBG?

There was a post here suggesting replacing the power supply on the unit.
I'm not confident enough in my electronics knowledge to identify a
replacement power supply on my own. Does anyone (SlimDevices staff or
otherwise) have any specific recommendations and instructions? Are there
any other suggestions for eliminating, or at least reducing, RFI from the
SB?

2) Will the SB2 have the same problem?

I'm considering at least one more SB for my home. It would be helpful to
know whether I'll have the same problem with the new model.

Thanks.

Jeffrey Gordon
2005-03-14, 09:37
Alan D. Falk wrote:
> I experience AM RFI with my SBG/Wireless connected to one of those Cambridge
> Soundworks high-end CD/clock radios (forgot model number; it's the same idea
> as the Bose WaveRadio). If I want to listen to AM radio (eg, a ballgame), I
> have to unplug the power on the SB. This is only a little inconvenient,
> since the SB boots up pretty quickly when I plug it back in; still it seems
> like a stupid thing to have to do.
>
> Two questions:
>
> 1) Is there any way to eliminate this RFI with my current SBG?
>
> There was a post here suggesting replacing the power supply on the unit.
> I'm not confident enough in my electronics knowledge to identify a
> replacement power supply on my own. Does anyone (SlimDevices staff or
> otherwise) have any specific recommendations and instructions? Are there
> any other suggestions for eliminating, or at least reducing, RFI from the
> SB?
>
> 2) Will the SB2 have the same problem?
>
> I'm considering at least one more SB for my home. It would be helpful to
> know whether I'll have the same problem with the new model.
>
> Thanks.
>
>
>
>

Alan D. Falk
2005-03-14, 10:41
[Jeffrey: I don't know why, but Outlook Express (in its infinite wisdom)
decided that your response was an "unsafe attachment" and removed it for me.
Thanks, MS. I read your post on gmane. Anyway, that's why it's not here.]


Thanks. That sounds simple enough. That brings up another question,
though:

How do I know that a replacement power supply will generate any less RFI
than the original SB one?

Also, anyone from SlimDevices care to comment on whether the power supply in
the SB2 is the same as the one in the SB? If different, is it better
shielded?

Thanks again.


"Jeffrey Gordon" <jeff (AT) thetank (DOT) org> wrote in
message news:4235BDD5.7070906 (AT) thetank (DOT) org...
>

Thomas B. Malsbury
2005-03-14, 11:24
Alan D. Falk wrote:

>Also, anyone from SlimDevices care to comment on whether the power supply in
>the SB2 is the same as the one in the SB? If different, is it better
>shielded?
>
>Thanks again.
>
>
>"Jeffrey Gordon" <jeff (AT) thetank (DOT) org> wrote in
>message news:4235BDD5.7070906 (AT) thetank (DOT) org...
>
>
Sean from Slim Devices addressed this in a previous thread:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/gforum.cgi?post=35362#35362

Mitch Harding
2005-03-14, 11:40
They have stated in another thread that they plan to use the same
power supply for SB2. They also noted that this power supply has been
tested by an independent lab and is far under the FCC requirements for
RFI noise. Of course (as they also noted), this is of little
consolation to people who experience this problem.


On Mon, 14 Mar 2005 12:41:45 -0500, Alan D. Falk <alan.falk (AT) autodesk (DOT) com> wrote:
> [Jeffrey: I don't know why, but Outlook Express (in its infinite wisdom)
> decided that your response was an "unsafe attachment" and removed it for me.
> Thanks, MS. I read your post on gmane. Anyway, that's why it's not here.]
>
> Thanks. That sounds simple enough. That brings up another question,
> though:
>
> How do I know that a replacement power supply will generate any less RFI
> than the original SB one?
>
> Also, anyone from SlimDevices care to comment on whether the power supply in
> the SB2 is the same as the one in the SB? If different, is it better
> shielded?
>
> Thanks again.
>
> "Jeffrey Gordon" <jeff (AT) thetank (DOT) org> wrote in
> message news:4235BDD5.7070906 (AT) thetank (DOT) org...
> >

Alan D. Falk
2005-03-15, 06:48
I did the search for existing threads on this topic. I must have done the
search wrong or missed the thread. Anyway, a big thanks for the info.

I guess, you pays yer money and takes yer chances, as a great American once
said.



"Thomas B. Malsbury" <slim (AT) malsbury (DOT) net> wrote in
message news:4235D6ED.3050901 (AT) malsbury (DOT) net...
> Alan D. Falk wrote:
>
> >Also, anyone from SlimDevices care to comment on whether the power supply
in
> >the SB2 is the same as the one in the SB? If different, is it better
> >shielded?
> >
> >Thanks again.
> >
> >
> >"Jeffrey Gordon" <jeff (AT) thetank (DOT) org> wrote in
> >message news:4235BDD5.7070906 (AT) thetank (DOT) org...
> >
> >
> Sean from Slim Devices addressed this in a previous thread:
>
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/gforum.cgi?post=35362#35362