PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox 2, could it be an access point also?



Andrew Lucas
2005-03-09, 04:53
Hi,

Just curious, seeing you can get to the Squeeze 2's wireless interface via
the ethernet connector, would it be also possible to use this this a basic
wireless access point.

Reason I ask is I have some dead spots in my house but it just so happens I
have wired squeeze 1's in the same general area, if I could upgrade those
1's to 2's and improve my wireless coverage at the same time, that would be
a bonus.

I only really use my wireless network to control the slimserver via a PDA
and a tablet.

Thanks
Andy

dean
2005-03-09, 08:51
Hi Andrew,

On Mar 9, 2005, at 3:53 AM, Andrew Lucas wrote:
> Just curious, seeing you can get to the Squeeze 2's wireless interface
> via
> the ethernet connector, would it be also possible to use this this a
> basic
> wireless access point.
Squeezebox2 will be a bridge, but we don't have plans to make it an
access point or router. It's a software issue, while possible,
competing with $30 (after rebate) access points is probably not worth
the effort.

Phil Karn
2005-03-09, 20:05
Andrew Lucas wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Just curious, seeing you can get to the Squeeze 2's wireless interface via
> the ethernet connector, would it be also possible to use this this a basic
> wireless access point.

The SB2 as described is a wireless bridge, not an access point. A
wireless bridge is a *client* of an access point, and that's a very
different (and much simpler) set of functions than being an access point.

Besides, with excellent access points like the Linksys WRT54G now down
to the $60-70 level, there's simply very little point in adding access
point capability to the SB2. I'd rather keep the box cheap, simple, and
focused on doing one thing (playing music) very well.

Phil