PDA

View Full Version : SB reboot when looking for network



MitchJS
2005-03-08, 12:14
Hello All,

Im a relativly new user to this device

its certinly not without its flaws...

my number 1 complaint is its AWEFUL EFI/RFI that it
kills my AM reception, i listen to my local sports talk all the time
and have to unplug the squeezebox every time i want to listen to my AM Radio
and i have switched off the supplied wall ac/dc adaptor to another one
and it improved it... but its still awefull...

this in turn created a new problem, or at least discovered it

when i power up the box it counts down looking for my wireless network
when it gets to 10, and ALWAYS at 10 it REBOOTS

BUT

if i go into setup and just keep pressing right... not changing a thing...
go though all the stuff, ie. ssid, encryption key, so fourth
it finds the network by count of 17... and from this point on is pretty
SOLID


so, it seems this "reboot" issue only happens when I put power to the box
initally

any thoughts?

mitch

Daniel Cohen
2005-03-08, 14:17
On 8/3/05 at 2:14 pm -0500, MitchJS wrote
>this in turn created a new problem, or at least discovered it
>
>when i power up the box it counts down looking for my wireless network
>when it gets to 10, and ALWAYS at 10 it REBOOTS
>
>BUT
>
>if i go into setup and just keep pressing right... not changing a thing...
>go though all the stuff, ie. ssid, encryption key, so fourth
>it finds the network by count of 17... and from this point on is pretty SOLID
>
>
>so, it seems this "reboot" issue only happens when I put power to
>the box initally
>
>any thoughts?

It's not really an issue, since it goes through the process on its
own and finally makes the connection. There is a technical reason for
this, I'm not sure of the exact details, but essentially the
Squeezebox is trying one method of finding the network, failing, then
trying a different method and succeeding.
--
Daniel Cohen

dean
2005-03-09, 23:42
That's exactly right. At 10, if the Squeezebox hasn't connected to an
infrastructure network, it tries to connect to an AdHoc network of the
same name. I've never heard of this kind of crash, it's possible it's
a bad wireless card or an incompatibility with your access point. What
make/model are the wireless devices on your network?


On Mar 8, 2005, at 1:17 PM, Daniel Cohen wrote:

> On 8/3/05 at 2:14 pm -0500, MitchJS wrote
>> this in turn created a new problem, or at least discovered it
>>
>> when i power up the box it counts down looking for my wireless network
>> when it gets to 10, and ALWAYS at 10 it REBOOTS
>>
>> BUT
>>
>> if i go into setup and just keep pressing right... not changing a
>> thing...
>> go though all the stuff, ie. ssid, encryption key, so fourth
>> it finds the network by count of 17... and from this point on is
>> pretty SOLID
>>
>>
>> so, it seems this "reboot" issue only happens when I put power to the
>> box initally
>>
>> any thoughts?
>
> It's not really an issue, since it goes through the process on its own
> and finally makes the connection. There is a technical reason for
> this, I'm not sure of the exact details, but essentially the
> Squeezebox is trying one method of finding the network, failing, then
> trying a different method and succeeding.
> --
> Daniel Cohen
>

robinbowes
2005-05-05, 13:39
That's exactly right. At 10, if the Squeezebox hasn't connected to an
infrastructure network, it tries to connect to an AdHoc network of the
same name. I've never heard of this kind of crash, it's possible it's
a bad wireless card or an incompatibility with your access point. What
make/model are the wireless devices on your network?


Dean,

I've just run into this problem.

My SB used to be rock solid; now, it works fine wired, but exhibits these symptoms, ie. reboots on 10 when looking for a wireless network.

I've had the case apart and checked the wireless card connections/seating and all seems well.

Any ideas?

R.

Triode
2005-05-05, 13:44
What access point are you using? I've just upgraded my linksys wrt54gs to a different version of Sveasoft [hacked firmware for it]
and have started to see something similar occasionally, but put this down to the firmware...

> My SB used to be rock solid; now, it works fine wired, but exhibits
> these symptoms, ie. reboots on 10 when looking for a wireless network.
>

robinbowes
2005-05-05, 14:10
What access point are you using? I've just upgraded my linksys wrt54gs to a different version of Sveasoft [hacked firmware for it]
and have started to see something similar occasionally, but put this down to the firmware...

> My SB used to be rock solid; now, it works fine wired, but exhibits
> these symptoms, ie. reboots on 10 when looking for a wireless network.
>

Hi,

I have a 3Com 3CRWE554G72 and have 92% signal strength. I'm using 128 bit WEP encryption. I also have a WRT54GS which I use for 11g WPA access for my laptop - the 3Com is dedicated to the SB (and my 11b work laptop, but that's switched off!). I'm currently using "Clear Channel Select" on the 3Com - it basically chooses a clear channel when it boots up - currently using channel 2.

I've also been experiencing general disconnections from the server, even when just browsing the menu.

It actually seems to be working OK now (touching wood, crossing fingers, etc.)

R.

Omen Wild
2005-05-05, 18:31
Quoting robinbowes on Thu, May 05 13:39:
>
> My SB used to be rock solid; now, it works fine wired, but exhibits
> these symptoms, ie. reboots on 10 when looking for a wireless network.

I also have this problem with my SB1. I have used two Cisco access
points, an Aironet 340 and currently an Aironet 1200. The trick for me
is to hit the left button when it gets near 10, wait a little while
(seems to vary from 10 seconds to more than a minute), and hit the
fast-forward button. Repeat until it connects. No idea what the
actual problem is though.

Never fails, I just tried to replicate the problem and now it does not
reboot at 10. It does however, pause for about 4 seconds before
reaching 9. It also took three tries before it would actually
associate.

I would be happy to supply a packet capture if it would help anyone.

Omen

--
Condense soup, not books!